We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I Imagined” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
“More than I Imagined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We had no Idea that we'd fall in love with one of Mississippi's most treasured spots. Monmouth Plantation meets with you with a sense of world class luxury and a heart of "family", as if you're right at home. The staff - and we met a lot, were simply amazing, always going the extra mile and we can't wait to go back!

The whole place has been lovingly restored with attention to detail and the grounds have been planned, kept and created for those who enjoy a quiet read, a peaceful walk or a family game or two on the lawns.

Our kids 10 & 6, loved the Monmouth ponds, the trails and more than anything the golf carts they got to ride. Fishing poles were available, free wifi all over the grounds and flat screen TV's in the rooms made it pretty impossible to run out of things to do.

Breakfast each day reminded us of being somewhere in England and dinner at the well known 1818 on site restaurant was unforgettable. I can still taste their bread pudding even now!!

Natchez is full of American history and modern amenities from coffee shops to Longwood House, to old streets and views of the Mississippi river. We took a few exploration trips and found Indian Mounds, Longwood House, William Johnson House and of course downtown Natchez that is full of great restaurants and boutique style shops.

If you're looking for a "southern belle" luxury experience at a very reasonable price - this is it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamielish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    114
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
76
400
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

My family and I are still feeling the glow of wonderful Monmouth! We visited in June and it was extraordinary!

Lani and Ron Riches have created not only a five star hotel (which is no easy feat on its own), but they have worked tirelessly to ensure that this house that belonged to General John A. Quitman, former governor of Mississippi, is also included on the prestigious National Register of Historic Places. If you are a history buff, you’re going to love this hotel with its attention to detail – portraits, letters, and antique artifacts. Had Quitman survived past 1858, there is evidence that his popularity and political acumen could have edged out Jefferson Davis as the first president of the Confederacy. You just breathe in the fragrance of the history here. And you can do so while sipping a freezing mint julep in a silver cup either in the secluded Quitman Study or in the company of the other friendly guests, eating from an inspired Southern menu that has caught the notice of the James Beard House in New York, strolling around the lovely gardens and lake, and then sinking back into a plush pompom canopied bed at night with the softest of linens. (For those who need to stay plugged in, the WiFi worked flawlessly from the rocker on our porch.)

The staff, some of whom have been working at Monmouth for over 20 years, are so very welcoming and accommodating. During the day, our boys, 11 year old twins, went fishing with the poles provided by the guide and caught a number of fine fish. In the evening, they dined on their own in the main-house parlor while we took our time with the full five course tasting meal in the dining room. Dinner was delicious with a choice of wines with each course: crisp hot rolls (as though they had been fried ever so delicately), a crayfish bisque, a baby spinach salad with blue cheese, a little mango sorbet interlude, exquisitely cooked filet for my husband and cinnamon glazed duck breast for me, and to top it off - a chocolate mousse parfait.

Breakfast kept us fueled with hearty eggs, perfect buttery biscuits, sausage, bacon, and grits that could make even a Yankee ask for seconds.

Monmouth is a very special place and the Riches’s hospitality sees to it that every guest feels pampered, right down to the lovely talcum powder in a vintage pewter bottle in the bathroom. June is warm, but with Spanish moss dripping from the large trees and frogs croaking and crickets chirping, it was mesmerizing. Ladies, you could become “soft teacakes with frostings of sweat and sweet talcum,” but it is sixty years later and your hosts at Monmouth have the air-conditioning and iced tea just right.

-Lexy Lovell and Michael Uys
Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Overall, the place really just seemed average and way too average for the price. We stayed in the "Abigail" room which was attached to the back of the bookshop. It was described as right off the main house patio with it's own private patio. This was accurate, but I envisioned something nicer. The private patio is an entire glass and trellace enclosed space with no natural light. The bed is the room is trying to be to "period authentic" as in it is very small (smaller than queen) and not very comfortable.

The good:
Nice main house
Polite staff
I was very please with the quality of the breakfast, top notch here

The bad:
Too expensive for what you get
Clean, but shows it's age
Uncomfortable bed
Parking is tight
Never could get the wireless internet to work and the employee they sent to help just suggested "Restart your computer" When that didn't work he stated he didn't know.

Finally, I know this is an old plantation and all, but somethings struck me as a little "too plantationy" such as every employee (other than the manager) was African American and it was all a little too much "Yes sir, yes mam". Honestly I really felt like I was back in the 1840s or so when slavery still existed. This may appeal to some people. but it certainly struck me as out of place in te 21st century.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We organised the whole of our Deep South tour (flights, car hire and five other hotels) to fit around availability at this hotel, since it came so highly recommended and was to be one of the highlights of our visit. We even changed our holiday start and finish times so that we could get there on a Friday, since it was fully booked up for a wedding over the following weekend.

Although our booking was made in January, it was cancelled about two weeks before we were due to start our holiday owing to 'water damage'. We were very suspicious of this reason given that it was fully booked for the wedding and can't help feeling that we were bumped off to accomodate early guests.

We were faced with a last minute scramble by our tour organiser to find alternative accomodation in Natchez. Not ideal just before you are due to leave.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We got upgraded to a deluxe suite upon arrival, which was fantastic! We also asked to be given a tour of the mansion b/c we had to leave prior to 10 a.m. the next day. Hal obliged us the best he could and gave us a copy of the book sold in the hotel shop to fill in the blanks.
The deluxe suite was nice, but had obviously seen its better day. The bathroom showed the wear the worst.The shower handle had to be pulled with quite a bit of force to be turned on and the wallpaper was peeling and water stained in quite a few places. It also looked like a pipe had burst right above the tub and no one bothered to re-paper or paint.
Breakfast was sorely disappointing. We had our Australian friends with us and had told them to expect a great Southern breakfast and we got some eggs, a biscuit, grits and ONE measly piece of bacon. No coffee refills either? The bartender in the lounge was not really trained to do what he was doing. Nice free hot hors d'oeuvres at 5:30, though.
The grounds had seen their better day as well-- lots of ashtrays strewn about with debris in them, the pond was really scummy, bits of yard games in various spots...
Someone needs to come in and do some re-hauling to make this what it should be.
It wasn't terrible, but definitely not worth the amount of money we paid for it, even with the free upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We spent one night on our way to New Orleans, taking time to visit Natchez plantations. A special discount popped up for online bookings at just $135 -- a terrific value as our king bedded room was very, very nice. (In addition to the mansion there are two reconstructed, two room "cabins" with front porch and rockers, and two or three, two-story brick buildings with suites. The extensive grounds have been landscaped to rank among the finest in Natchez -- ponds, gazebos, small graveyard, grape arbor and statues, walks. Breakfast is taken by all in a separate outbuilding. We ate at "1818" which was good, not great. Breakfast was also good, but not memorable. A free mansion tour is given at 10 am, of the ground floor and landing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Monmouth is a beautiful place, the buildings and grounds should not be missed if one is in town. However I cannot recommend paying $200-$300 a night for the following reasons.
My reservation was not confirmed by e-mail as promised and an e-mail inquiry was not responded to.
Wifi was not working for our visit, making use of our computer impossible for travel info.
Dinner and breakfast food was at best lukewarm.
There was no comfortable reading chair in our room. Lights were inadequate.
The tour guide said that the china in dining room was antique; it was a reproduction, as lifting a bowl showed.

Go for dinner and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyranoredux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.5 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Address: 1358 John A Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing