We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful View!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Positives: wonderful view of the Mississippi River, responsive staff, friendly bartender
Negatives: had to be moved twice due to super noisy ice machine & very strong smell. The rooms are average, the upholstery is faded, desk scratched, window sill broken, etc. There is no a/c in the halls. All the carpets could be replaced or deep-cleaned. Outside our room on the 3rd floor the carpet no longer lays flat and caused me to trip.
Overall, it could use some very basic updating and cleaning and it would be great. Really enjoyed the proximity to neat restaurants and beautiful antebellum homes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. Avoid the -04 rooms due to noisy ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvt2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    219
    108
    29
    21
See reviews for
98
274
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manvel, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great location and the room was more than adequate for a family of four. Booked this online on the way into town after we decided to stop on our trip back home to Texas. Room was very nice and location to the restaurants was helpful. Also within walking distance of several historic homes. One tip - try to not book when a convention is in town - restaurants filled up quickly.

Room Tip: A little noisy - try to not book when a convention is in town. A river view is best although city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish4manvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I just returned from a long weekend vacation along the Natchez Trace. We decided to stay at the Grand hotel after being (incorrectly) told by a 1-800 company (which I inadvertently called) that the hotels were all booked. While we probably should have walked into some other hotels to check rates and availability, we decided to just stay at the Grand. And, honestly, in Natchez, your options are somewhat limited! With our AAA card, we received a mere $6 discount for a river view room with king bed.

The hotel's lobby was nicely appointed, nothing fancy, but comfortable and very clean. The room was not fancy or newly decorated, but standard, clean and simple. Most king bed rooms have a sofa; this room had a rather uncomfortable chair and ottoman. However, we were in Natchez to explore, not sit in the room and veg! The view from our 4th floor room was very nice and the sunset was beautiful. The windows lacked a bit in terms of noise abatement; we woke one morning to the lawn mowers and weed eaters being put to work on the riverfront one morning and to 3 passes of the street sweeper the next morning... But overall the night's sleep was a comfortable one.

As for the $8 per room "resort" charge, it was no secret. It is posted in clear view on the counter where we checked in. Given it provided, among other things, free wifi, a free breakfast for two and as well as a free beverage for each during happy hour at the bar, the cost was minimal. At McDonald's two breakfasts and two afternoon fountain beverages would have cost more than $8. The breakfast was a bit simple and minimal with coffee, tea, juice, eggs, grits, gravy, a selection of cereal, breads and some Eggo waffles for toasting; but it was certainly well worth $3.50 a person.

Next time, I won't call a toll free hotel company for hotel information and will go in and check rates myself. However, give this pleasant stay in a nice enough hotel, I would have not have a problem staying at the Grand again.

Room Tip: Ask for a discounted room. If there aren't many guests ask for the riverview room at the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

It is not dated or dirty as some reviews suggest! Great MS River view. Walking distance to many restaurants. Bed very comfortable. Flat screen TVs. Breakfast was good. Evening bar was good. Convention center inside hotel was a nice meeting facility. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Checked in at 4:00pm and the clerk said the room was ready.... Not quite ...Still NO 'towels' for another hour when I had to go find a room service attendant to get my own. Some of the carpeting in the common areas of the hotel need to be changed. The was an abundance of "crickets" present all around the exterior of the building with some entering the inside areas, including the room. The management should have their exterminator on-call for these seasonal critter infestations and the dead ones should be cleaned up multiple times per day. Cigarette butts and ash trays were overflowing near the outside entrance area. All of the staff was friendly and cordial but the front desk clerk seemed very indifferent and cold. The hotel & room was generally very clean, but the comforter on the bed should probably be cleaned more often or replaced. The TV reception quit working one evening and remained off until the next morning sometime. Our final morning, twice diid the room attendants knock on the door before 9am to see if they could clean the room. Please be aware that the hotel charges an additional fee of $8 for their free breakfast (or whatever) in addition of the quoted room rate... that was already paid for on-line and requires a credit card to cover it upon check-in. The breakfast included a very wide selection and was about average for a hotel of this class. This hotel would truly be Grand and could garner 5
stars if not for the above items ... Management should be attentive to the issues. Would probably stay here
again. The room price is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casetested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I had read all the previous 65 reviews before leaving for our family trip. I was eager to find out if the Balcony Suite that I had reserved was going to be harsh based on these readings. I can truly Say that out of all the readings, I only agreed with one and that was the Carpet in the front lobby....That rug needs to be removed....It's too dirty to be cleaned. ......Now for the other readings----The breakfast buffet was okay, not grand.....However, I would love to extend and re-emphasize that it must be to each's own that the staff was rude.....I would like to extend extra cudos to Mrs. Willie Mae who checked our family in on Friday afternoon and out on Sunday morning.....She added much value to our stay because of her willingness to TALK and keep us Posted....She was great and because of friendliness and eager to assist, my family will be coming back soon to stay once again in the King Deluxe Balacony Suite or perhaps the next time the HOSPITALITY Suite......Enjoyed our STAY!!!!!....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrickFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed at the Grand Hotel on business. No internet service the evening I arrived nor on the next morning as promised by the hotel clerk. Stains on the carpet and a cigarette burn in the bed comforter (supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). Since I could not work on my computer, I watched the fuzzy TV screen trying to find something throughout their limited channel selection. Then I see two large roaches crawling up the wall in different directions. Upon checkout the next morning, I informed the desk clerk that they needed to send up maintenance to check out the roach situation, to which she replied..."Oh...Sorry about that!" I made a reservation there because it was a relatively new hotel and loked impressive on the exterior. Visitors beware!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natchezgrandhotel, General Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Just a few comments concerning this posting, it is rare that our Internet is not working, it is supplied through our cable company and is a fiber optic connection. There have been 4 or 5 occasions over the last three years when we have had some area wide problems and in a few of those cases it is due to equipment upgrades and a few are related to major accidents where a light pole was completely destroyed holding the cable company transmission lines in another area of the city. This would effect both the Internet and the TV reception as it is the same source. Their overall reliability is in the 95% plus range.

We do not have a roach problem, our pest control is monitored daily and under contract if any problems are reported.We have had recent issues with crickets at the main entrance and have been treating for them.

Our hotel is non smoking and if a burn spot on bedding was reported it would have been replaced. I note that there was no other indications of of smoking in the room and we access a $250 fee for any evidence of smoking in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Property: Natchez Grand Hotel
Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing