We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Natchez Days Inn is a DUMP”
Review of Days Inn Natchez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Natchez
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Starkville MS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Natchez Days Inn is a DUMP”
Reviewed 10 October 2007

My daughter and I checked in and the first room (non-smoking) had been smoked in. Management promptly gave us another room, on the back side of the hotel, next to the Laundry room. The door was "bent", so it was hard to open and close it. Left a lot to be desired in the safety department, definitely a fire hazard! The beds weren’t made and by this time it was after 3:00 p.m. which was check in time. The next morning we were awakened at 6:30 a.m. to the maids laughing, and hollering in the Laundry room. When we tried to take a shower, after multiple attempts, we had to have a maid come to turn the water on in the shower. She literally had to beat on the wall to get the water into the pipes!! The pipes looked like they were going to fall out of the wall, and the toilet was loose as well. After our showers, while trying (and I use that term loosely) to use the blow drier – it caught on fire! We most definitely will not be staying in the Days Inn in Natchez again. We do plan future trips to the Natchez area, but I’ll be telling my friends NOT to use the Days Inn. It should be bulldozed and started over. We were in Natchez at a very busy time, and had we had a choice to change hotels I would have in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The management staff was excellent
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    197
    160
    111
    121
See reviews for
186
251
52
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

My husband and I recently attended a wedding in Natchez, MS and stayed at this motel for 4 nights. Our daughter stayed in another room, 2 aunts and uncles stayed in 2 other rooms and our brother-in-law stayed in one room and his daughters in another room. So, we got to sample 6 rooms in all.

We felt (as did our relatives) that the rooms were clean, neat and a very good deal for the amount of money we spent. My husband and I had a king size bed. Our daughter had a room with 2 double beds. As you look at the photo of the main building (where the lobby is located and the breakfast area), the rooms are behind this building- two floors, outdoor access, stairs, no elevator. Looking again at the photo, there are more expensive rooms off to the left. These rooms have a cement veranda with white rocking chairs and each room includes a vanity table. Many are named, such as the John Wayne Room.

The maid service was excellent. Perhaps my habit of tipping each day per tipping etiquette helps. I leave an amount on the pillow, and leave a note thanking the maid for her service.

The breakfast was fine. Each day we had 3 choices of dry cereal, two juices (apple and orange when we went), donuts, biscuits with southern gravy, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, waffles and coffee. The breakfast attendant actually made my husband's waffle one day and brought it to him. I tipped her too! (This was during the week. I noticed that on weekends, the service was not quite as sharp, but still OK.) The breakfast attendant of the week also plants the outdoor flowers that you see, and weeds, and takes pride in her work.

The front desk was efficient and most helpful. We recommend going to the Natchez Visitor's Center, which is not far away at all and taking one or more of the antebellum plantation tours. The Visitor's Center of itself is well worth a visit. We were originally going to stay at one of the plantations (which has bed and breakfast), but we changed our minds, as we wanted to save money. We do not regret this decision at all!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Tour groups coming in, although they were quiet- senior citizens
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dergenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2007

The staff was wonderful, made check in and out easy and quick. The rooms were recently redone. They were not deluxe accomidations but were nice for the price. My 13 year old son loved the game room and thought the free breakfast was "the bomb". The maids snuck in to clean and left fresh towels while we went about the town. The ONLY thing I though could have been ALOT better was the nasty coffee they leave in the room to brew.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank hopefeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The laundry room (1.75 per load & the activity room (small & simple) beats having nothing at all for my children to do while on site. It rained most of the time & was cold, not having to rush out to grab a quick bit in the moring was great. If you are a snacker as we are the biscuts with sausage gravy, cereal, donuts, fruits (orange/apple), coffe & juice is more than enough. The staff was great and friendly.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — Not enough games in activity room, laundry center much
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early. The rooms in this town goes fast
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2006

Can not believe anyone in their right mind would stay in this awful place. Called it a dump but feel I am being harsh to dumps by comparison.
Checked in at 10pm and immediately rang our tour operator to move but could not find an alternative hotel. Had to stay the night. We were given three different rooms. All the same...filthy dirty, stinking and cockroaches. Towels and linen filthy, taps and shower head coming away from walls, carpets had never seen a brush or hoover. I could go on but would soon run out of space. Wanted to stay in the car overnight but felt very unsafe in the area.
Even the breakfast was manky and seemed dirty. Staff were rude but I probably would be if I worked here.
Did not feel safe and would not recommend it to foreign tourists.
Don't think I've ever stayted at an acceptable Days Inn and this one did not disappoint on that score.
STAY AWAY.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Absolutely everything
  • Tips/Secrets — STAY AWAY
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Natchez hotels

Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2005

I appreciate everyone's posts and based on what folks had written we decided to stay there for Spring Pilgrimage in April 2005. We arrived around 7:30 p.m. and was given a room not facing Hwy 61 but behind the building. Lighting was limited and we did not feel safe driving back there. Since it was Spring Pigrimage there were no other rooms available, even at other hotels. The security lock on the door was broken, the carpet was torn, curtains did not remain closed, and the bathtub faucet was torn away from the wall. It was very undesirable and we begin to think anyone who posted a positive review about this hotel had a screw loose somewhere...

The next day we checked out of that room and got another room at the same hotel, since everyone else was booked with no vacancies, but this time facing Hwy 61. This room had obviously been renovated.

Don't expect much for breakfast, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, coffee, bread, muffins, oatmeal. It is a continental breakfast. The computer was removed last week from the lobby, so if you want to check on your emails forget it. The complimentary newspaper is in a bin by the front desk, not at your door. Depending when you get to the lobby for breakfast be assured there won't be any newspapers left. If they had internet acess that is news to me.

The towels were thread bare, obviously used by many folks over the years. There is still some sort of activity going on across the street. The staff though is very helpful. As much as I have said in this review that sounds negative, if you get a room facing the highway, it should be fine. I don't recommend going behind the building to the back rooms. For the price it was adequate. AAA gave it two stars and that is what we got once we changed rooms. (That first room couldn't even be considered one star...)

It is close to downtown Natchez. We could have stayed in a B&B, but since we felt we would be gone most of the day on house tours, which we were, we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room just to sleep. Again, this is adequate, just try not to stay in a room on the back of the building. It is in a commercial district. Would I stay there again, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Peachsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2004

This accomodation is advertised as recently being refurbished. If it had been refurbished they didnt do a good job of it. The room we had was tired and smelt fusty. The pool was really disgusting and definately had not been refurbished. The internet access in the lobby didnt work and the screen was all burnt.

There appeared to be the start of some building work across the road which was very noisy when we were there.

As other people have mentioned, this is about a 5 minute drive to the historic part of Natchez, there is no way you would walk into Natchez.

The staff were really friendly and did what ever they could to help you. The breakfast was adequate as well.

Helpful?
7 Thank GBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#9 of 17 in Natchez
310 reviews
2.8 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 17 in Natchez
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
629 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Natchez

Property: Days Inn Natchez
Address: 109 Hwy 61 South, Natchez, MS 39120-5216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Natchez 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located Off Highway 61, Close To Isle Of Capri Casino Revitalize at Days Inn Natchez hotel, near Isle of Capri Casino. Located on world-famous Highway 61, our Natchez, MS, hotel is close by great Southwest Mississippi attractions. Our celebrity suites have been visited by stars like John Wayne, William Holden and John Ford. Each morning, wake up to a free enhanced Daybreak buffet breakfast, including biscuits and gravy. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access to stay connected from your hotel room and save time with on-site guest laundry. When the weather gets hot, cool off with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We also offer free parking, free USA Today newspaper and free, southern-style supper served in our lobby Monday – Thursday and all rooms are equipped with Flat screen TV’s. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel and non-smoking rooms are available. A room at our Natchez, MS, hotel on the Mississippi Blues Highway is sure to cure your case of the blues. We are minutes from the Delta Blues Museum, featuring exhibits on Mississippi blues greats and the history of blues music. If you are feeling lucky, head to Isle of Capri Casino, just three miles from our hotel, where you can toss the dice or catch great live performances. For a look back into history, you can visit the Grand Village of the Natchez Indians, an authentically recreated Native American village, and learn about their customs, beliefs and society. Frogmore Cotton Plantations and Gins, a real, working 1850s plantation, is just a short drive from our Natchez, MS, hotel. A room at our Natchez, MS, hotel on the Mississippi Blues Highway is sure to cure your case of the blues. We are minutes from the Delta Blues Museum, featuring exhibits on Mississippi blues greats and the history of blues music. If you are feeling lucky, head to Isle of Capri Casino, just three miles from our hotel, where you can toss the dice or catch great live performances. For a look back into history, you can visit the Grand Village of the Natchez Indians, an authentically recreated Native American village, and learn about their customs, beliefs and society. Frogmore Cotton Plantations and Gins, a real, working 1850s plantation, is just a short drive from our Natchez, MS, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Natchez Hotel Natchez
Natchez Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing