We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit & Will Return”

Lane's Privateer Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lane's Privateer Inn serves the freshest locally-sourced foods to visitors and Liverpudlians alike. The extensive menu has something to please every palate. We serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, and brunch on weekends. Experience the newly renovated Restaurant & Pub or step outside onto the two-level Stone Patio. Both offer spectacular views of the Mersey River and beautiful sunsets as you sip local beer or Nova Scotian wines. Enjoy the freshest, local haddock & chips, or a succulent striploin steak. It's a beautiful place for your romantic evenings, or get-togethers with family or friends. Wine Tastings, Atlantic Canada Concerts.
HALIFAX
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Second Visit & Will Return”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Being from Halifax, I went to Lane's restaurant in the cooler months where we ate dinner inside.

That occassion did not disappoint. So recently with opportunity to take my tour clients out for lunch, I thought of Lane's.

A beautiful day, we sat outside where the beautiful grounds heightened the culinary experience & friendly service ! All noted by the people with me.

A short drive from Halifax, I will be returning with clients or a personal quiet Sunday drive and stopping for delicious food. And from that experience I can imagine staying at the Inn would also be very nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    91
    27
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

There was nothing to dislike about this wonderful restaurant. The surrounding environs offered such a magical setting and the food was excellent. For this Kiwi, this was my first taste of a Nova Scotian seafood chowder and introduction to the spinach and strawberry salad (with the most divine blueberry dressing). This was pure heaven and marked our first night in Nova Scotia as a wonderful and very special memory. The staff serving us were delightful, helpful and very, very welcoming. Thank you, Leigh & Scott, Nelson, NZ.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cankiwi237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch here was the best we have ever had anywhere bar none.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped here for lunch. Seafood chowder rich and loaded with a variety of fresh fish. Also had the haddock. Have never tasted better. Service was impeccable. Definitely coming back next year and will stay at the Inn as well. Ontario could learn a thing or two about service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“None Better!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Don't even leave the hotel. This place is first class all the way. We ate two meals here. Dinner and breakfast. Blackened halibut was the best meal of a 15 day trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyJetDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiverpoolNS, Owner at Lane's Privateer Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure to serve such a nice group of travellers. It is kind people like yourselves who make our jobs so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, NS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Patio Dining”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was a wonderful summer evening so we decided to eat out somewhere on or near the water. Have been to Lane's many times, but have always enjoyed their patio in the summer. We were not disappointed. They have just renovated their pub into a much larger room facing the river. The renovations have been well done, keeping some of the flavour of their old pub room but creating a whole new space for dining and entertainment. But we were for the patio this night. Great service, friendly staff and really good food. The Barss Burger is an excellent burger. Their fish and chips is also a winner. Don't fail to try their spinach salad with warm bacon dressing-a unique flavour experience. They have a local microbrewery called Hell Bay supplying excellent beer and ale. Don't miss if you are exploring Nova Scotia's South Shore and you are near Liverpool.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickat4main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lane's Privateer Inn also viewed

Liverpool, Southwest Nova Scotia
Liverpool, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Liverpool, Southwest Nova Scotia
Liverpool, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Liverpool, Southwest Nova Scotia
Liverpool, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Lane's Privateer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing