We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Experience”
Review of Cedar Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I found this motel to be very good for the price. The room had a fridge, microwave, telephone, wi fi, and even complimentary coffee. The pool, hot tub and exercise area were excellent. The owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating. All in all, it was a very positive experience.

I can't wait to return.

L. Madia

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We are happy that you found your time with us so enjoyable! It is great to hear that you were able to make use of all of our indoor pool facilities! It is a wonderful way to enjoy some free time! We can't wait for you to return either! We enjoy it when our guests have such a fantastic time while visiting with us! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Thank you so much to the staff at Cedar Lodge Motel. We were driving by and decided to spend the night. Being from Ohio and visiting Canada we were a little unsure of what to do but the staff at Cedar Lodge were wonderful. The room was clean, spacious and Mr. Patel was gracious enough to make sure I had a cot in order to spend the night in the room with my elderly parents. I would definitely recommend it to others and we will be sure to stay here again should we have the opportunity to visit the area.

Thanks again to Mr. Patel and the other wonderful staff.

Sincerely,

Sherry Price
Ohio

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. At the Cedar Lodge Motel we always enjoy hearing about the experiences our guests have when they stay with us! We are happy to hear that you were made to feel comfortable! We truly appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience! We look forward to seeing you again whenever you get a chance to visit Goderich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We found the motel to be very out dated and therefore over priced for what we had. We stayed 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the area. We didn't find it very clean either. The bath tub had hair all in it and when you turned the tap on the shower head leaked making the water go all over. The beds were old and not comfortable at all, furniture looked like it was falling apart and the carpets were dirty. The walls had patch marks all over. The next morning we got an unexpected wake up call at 9am by the housekeeper as she knocked and walked in. We were still sleeping! Check out is 11am not 9am. They shouldn't be walking in unless you have turned your keys into the office. I work in the hotel industry and this is unacceptable. I complained to the front desk as we didn't find our stay worth the price at all. Dirty, over priced & out dated..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Callie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We love hearing what our guests have to say, good or bad. Each and every comment helps us become a better place for our guests to be. We plan to take your remarks and use them to make some changes. We have already changed our weekend start time for our housekeeping staff and we plan to begin some re-training as well. It is possible some rooms are ready for updates and now that the busy summer season is behind us, we can begin taking care of some of the bigger maintenance issues. I would like to add, most guests do not turn keys into the office. They simply leave at the end of their stay, leaving the key in the room. This may be the reason for the confusion with the housekeeper. She believed the room had been checked out. We do apologize for this misunderstanding as it certainly should never have happened. Again, we thank you for your comments. We will use them to make this a great place for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Lodge while attending a near by wedding. We were given a room on the second floor, which involves climbing a rather precarious out door wooden staircase, the walk up was okay in running shoes, but was was down right scary coming down for a lady in high heeled shoes! Our room was located right next to the stair way which meant the curtains had to be kept shut tight at all times as the only window was right in the stairs so other guest would be looking right in and the stair light is centered in the window.
The room was extremely small with no counters or storage whatsoever in the bathroom except the back of the toilet which meant make up was out of the question. there is no closet to hang your clothes and only a small rack that you have to sort of duck under to get to the bed.
So very small BUT "exceptionally clean".
Could have used a warmer blanket or comforter/ quilt would have been nice.
We could hear people on the stairs and traffic during night.
Nice place and very, very nice receptionist at front desk.
We would not stay here again, but it was passable for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Do not accept the room at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil347v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are sorry to hear that your night with us did not meet your expectations. We prefer it when our guests are comfortable and pleased with their accommodations. To address your comments; our second floor is indeed accessed by an exterior stairway. It is in good repair; however you would certainly want to be careful if you are wearing high heels as it is wooden. Many prefer the upstairs rooms but guests can certainly request the lower level rooms should they not want to go up or down the stairs. As for available space in the room, we are sorry you found there was not enough room. We are also sorry that you were able to hear outside noise and that you were inconvenienced by the location being close to the staircase. Perhaps next time you are in town, you could view one of our other rooms to see if they might better suit your needs. We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again. We love second chances!
We are pleased to hear that your found your room to be very clean. That is really quite important to us! As mentioned, we would love the opportunity to improve your opinion of our little motel so please, should you find yourself in Goderich another day, come and see us and check out a couple rooms. We are confident that next time, we can meet your expectations. Thanks for your comments! They will help us improve our property and become a better place for all our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Recently stayed one night at Cedar Lodge Hotel with my mom and daughter. Room basic but clean with a small frig and microwave. Lovely indoor heated pool,jacuzzi and sauna area. Very clean and well equipped. Great location to downtown and the beach. Loads of near by choices for meals. Front desk staff very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay again for a night in the future. Goderich has amazing sunsets down by the water. And loads to do

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are so happy to hear that you had a fun trip to Goderich! We are also pleased that your time with us was enjoyable too! We take pride in our clean, comfortable rooms and it is always great to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts. The indoor pool is also a favorite with our guests and we are glad to hear that you had time to enjoy these facilities!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We love to hear how our guests felt about our property and it also helps others to make their travel choices! So again, thank you for your review and we certainly look forward to having you visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Lodge for close to a week and we were truly pleased with our choice!!!
there is no restaurant at Cedar Lodge BUT there are lots of options close by.
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cedar Lodge and found ALL of the team members to be very kind and friendly. The owner was amazing!
We loved the INDOOR pool area and found it to be very clean (and warm!!) and therefore spent a lot of time in the pool!!!
Also, due to surgery when we checked in I had asked if possible if we could have a ground floor room and our room was switched making it so much easier for me with the luggage and loads of hockey gear!!! (thank you so much!!!).
A lot of people mentioned the noise of the fan but it didn't bother us too much....probably a good idea to have an "all in one" that way people use the fan when the shower is going (to prevent mold, etc).
the rooms were "older" BUT were clean and whenever you needed anything all you had to do was ask and it was brought to you!!
we look forward to our next visit.......this time - vacation only NO hockey that way we can all enjoy Cedar Lodge and Goderich Ontario!!!
Thank you Cedar Lodge for a terrific stay and for all of your kindness!!! Sincerely, Debbie L and family.

Room Tip: just a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased that the Cedar Lodge Motel met your expectations!

Providing great customer service and clean comfortable rooms are our top priorities! And we are so pleased that we were able to make your stay with us such an enjoyable one! Of course, the pool helps too! So glad you were able to spend some time using the facilities!

We look forward to welcome you back again soon! And yes, this time without so much Hockey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Hello I got something to tell you about a great motel in Goderich,Ontario.I was on vaction in a beatiful town with an amazing beach!! And I was looking for place to stay the week,when right in the heart of Goderich went to this motel not just any motel a very ellegant motel with full sive swimming pool, jiccuze and a sauna and all this at a very affortable price.I would recomend this motel to anybody wanting to visit goderich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Well thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy you chose to stayed with us. It sounds like you were also able to make the most of your stay by using the indoor pool, sauna and hot tub. That's great! Goderich is quite a beautiful little town and we are so proud to be part of such a great community! And the beach really is quite lovely! Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to say such wonderful things about our property! We hope you will come visit us again the next time you are in Goderich... "The Prettiest Town in Canada!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
4.0 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
276 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel

Address: 157 Huron Rd | Ontario, Goderich, Ontario N7A 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just minutes from the beach and historic downtown. A two story modern facility equipped with air conditioning colour FLAT SCREEN TV, wireless internet as well as microwaves and fridges in each room. We also have an indoor pool and whirlpool spa as well as a sauna and fitness centre. Direct dial phones with voice mail. Located close to many tourist attractions. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Goderich
Cedar Lodge Motel Goderich, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing