We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samuels Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samuels Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent one night Samuels. We really enjoyed the upgrade to the 2 bedroom condo. Beautiful room and everything exceptionally clean. Nice breakfast as well. Highly recommended and could easily stay longer than a single night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DutchcanuckVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
So glad you had a great time at Samuel Hotel. It was our pleasure to move you to the suite with your wee family. We hope to see you one day again. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
128
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The experience is pleasant right from entry to exit. Friendly service and wonderful ambience and decor makes your visit a pleasure. There are also a lot of attention to detail; perks like a snack at the door, a better than average continental breakfast and a Bistro menu that is both tasty and reasonably priced supplement the excellent accomodations. Rooms were pleasant, clean, comfortable and quiet. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomeGirlGoderich, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay,..and the housemade cupcakes, tarts, or cookies at the front desk. We look forward to seeing you again one day in the future. Thank you for taking time to review Samuels Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are looking for beautiful decor, service and atmosphere look no further. We had a king suite looking onto the river which made our stay there terrific. The owner made us feel welcome and was went out of her way to make our visit special.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view. So peaceful, quiet and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It was great to have you visit us, and Goderich once again. It's a pleasure to serve you at Samuels and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and anniversary. It's also a lovely surprise to have received the beautiful calla lily from you. It sits proudly on our reception desk. Thank you for taking the time to review our little boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Firstly, and I think many feel most importantly, when considering a place to cozy into and stay for a while with your belongings it is important mostly for the place that you stay to be clean.
This room met and exceeded all of my expectations in regards to cleanliness, everything was really clean and fresh looking, and I really have high expectations where cleanliness is concerned. I did not feel concerned at all about my belongings being on the floor, touching any part of the bedding or anything else in the room.
Secondly, the beds were AMAZING!!! One of the MOST comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Not only was the mattress super comfortable, but the pillows and duvet including it's cover and the pillow cases were AMAZINGLY comfortable as well. Also, you can tell all pieces of the bedding have been cleaned prior to your use as well, which is really nice when you feel like snuggling into a little cocoon when you get into bed.
As for everything else that you'd want in a hotel, it was all amazing as well. The staff were super nice and friendly and very, very accommodating, they have a beautiful intimate posh dining room for a menu that looked absolutely to die for, unfortunately I did not have the chance to indulge, but I certainly will the next time, and the room was beautiful and spacious and very enjoyable to spend time in.
We will certainly return once again!!!
Thanks for the great stay!!!

Room Tip: I think they're all nice, but I heard the river side is the side to go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It was great to have you as our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our boutique hotel. Thanks you for taking the time to write a review, it's much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future and then maybe you'll be on the riverside where the view really is beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is soooo close to being perfect, it's a shame. It seemed to me that it is more like the owner's hobby, rather than a commitment (i.e., for desk service after 9 P.M. call her at home. Hint to owner, use call forwarding on a designated cell phone and just answer "front desk"). As a part of the "Ontario's Finest" group it does meet similar criteria in it's class, however, some of the more simpler details have been overlooked. For example, with just over a dozen rooms, don't boast about a dinning room, you can't support a kitchen staff, so don't pretend (yes, my wife and I did try it). The interior is decorated to perfection and better than spotless!! Fireplace in room, as with another reviewer, ours didn't work, front desk staff attempted to, but couldn't get it going . No clothes hangers in room, front desk response "yes, there are eight plastic ones in every room", they gave us seven (no big deal). Tea drinkers, "use the coffee machine" and paper cups (tea drinkers know what I mean by this, not acceptable). Need to blow you nose, use toilet paper! Will I give Samuels another chance? Yes, but not with a token discount. I am willing to return for a complimentary visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your thoughts. We always care about what our guests have to say. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotels decor and super cleanliness. As our normal check in is 3:00pm and we gave you an early check in of 1:00pm, and were happy to do so, you did arrive early. The fact that the previous guest left with our wooden hangers (by accident I'm sure, it happens) and the kleenex box was missed by housekeeping was unfortunate. The kleenex box and plastic hangers were supplied to you as soon as the error was discovered, just minutes upon your arrival. New wooden ones were purchased and replaced the next day. As owner, I am available 24 hours a day every day and I address things in a matter of minutes. I see you ordered 2 beer and 1 Caesar salad in our dining room. If there was anything at all unsatisfactory about your salad, please email or call and I will refund. I love my job here and the guests that grace our doors. My actual hobby is fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visiting Goderich on business, was recommended Samuels Hotel. Very friendly staff, clean and modern rooms, chocolate covered almonds AND a butter tart on arrival, nice and simple breakfast with healthy options. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Beautiful sunset in my river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claireheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomeGirlGoderich, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We know that traveling on business often means there is no time to enjoy and explore our beautiful trails, beaches, and town, but we always strive to make your stay comfortable and memorable while inside the hotel. It was great to have you as our guest and look forward to perhaps seeing you again in the future. Thank you for taking time to review Samuels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent Hotel. Staff were kind, friendly, knowledgeable and clean. Restaurant was clean, food was great and staff were excellent and beautifully arranged. Rooms were clean and all the thing you need to have great night were there.
I came to have surgery at hospital in Goderich. They were very helpful.
Thanks to the Owner and their Staff for job well done.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
It was great to have you and your parents here during your recent surgery. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the next time you come will be for a pleasurable stay rather than a needful stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us, it's appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
0.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#6 of 9 in Goderich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuels Hotel

Property: Samuels Hotel
Address: 34031 Saltford Rd, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samuels Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Maitland River, 1 km north of Goderich, you will find Goderich's most contemporary Boutique Hotel. Samuels is a member of Ontario's Finest Inns. Every room has all expected amenities plus a private terrace and fireplace, with king or queen beds. Relax in our jacuzzi rooms, enjoy hiking trails or fishing directly from our property. Golf, beach, shopping, airport, marina, snowmobile trail, all within 2 kms of hotel. Complimentary continental breakfast included, free wi-fi. Licensed dining room. Room service and Bistro on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Samuels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samuels Hotel Goderich, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing