We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Through Windows Past
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Through Windows Past
Ranked #1 of 2 Forest B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Joy and Glenn (our Hosts) provide the perfect combination of warmth and helpful hospitality with scrumptious breakfasts in a superbly beautiful setting. Their magnificent Victorian home is both grand and comfortable. Over the past 4 years on our quarterly visits to our older cousin ( who lives in a retirement home nearby), we have stayed here over a dozen times, usually for 3 or 4 nights. Each visit was made more enjoyable with our stay at Windows Past. Thank You!!

Room Tip: The Turret suite has a lovely "soaker" tub. All the rooms are lovely, Over the years we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Windows Past. Glenn and Joy were so accommodating and the breakfasts were out of this world. We were visiting our son and family who lived a block away just before Christmas and it worked out beautifully. We were reminded of a Trish Romance picture when we stayed in this lovely home. It was so nice at the end of the day to come home to a plate of Joy's freshly baked cookies and choice of one of many coffees or teas. We stayed in the lovely room with the amazing shower and claw foot tub and my mother stayed in a cozy room with a comfy four poster bed. The house is filled with antiques and Glenn was more than happy to answer our many questions regarding them. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alphatravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed two nights here as we were in town for the Homemade Jam Music Festival in July which was being held at a beautiful park just a short walk from this B&B. My husband and I had never stayed in a B&B before our visit and both agree that we have been missing out! I cannot begin to say enough wonderful things about our stay - the property itself and rooms are gorgeous and exceptionally clean. You really do feel as though you are looking through windows past with the classic and tasteful decor.

Glen and Joy are the perfect hosts and will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. I am still talking about the breakfasts we were served on both days and wishing I could eat like I did every day!

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful B&B in a charming town in Ontario then this is where you need to visit! You will not be disappointed. We can't wait to book our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Belfry Room which was lovely but will try to stay in the Turret Suite for our next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleighsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is one of the very best you will find in it's class from the colonial era. It has all the amenities you could ask for and then some. Glen and Joy are wonderful hosts who provide the best in service and will go the extra mile to help you. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and beds are of the highest quality. The room temperature is always perfect. The food is exquisite and the host is very attentive and always accommodating.
We have stayed here numerous times including three to four days at any given time, and are always guaranteed a peaceful nights rest. Don't let this place pass you by, take in one night and you will undoubtedly come back for more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed one night and wished it had been longer!
Beautiful decorated large room with a victorian style high canopy bed, equiped with a step to climb into. very comfy. an unusual huge bathroom. Exceptionally clean, spotless. high quality bedding and towels. Peacefully located in a quiet street in Forest - a short drive to Pinery National Park and Grand Bend and their lovely sandy beaches.
Very good breakfast with your special requests served by Glen - the friendly and helpful innkeeper.
the house is surrounded by beautiful landscaping - well kept as perfect as the inside.
we loved our stay there and hoping to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I have family in Forest, and was in town for a wedding nearby. What a treat to be hosted by Glen and Joy in their beautiful, spotless, spacious (yet charming) B&B. The rooms were very large, bathrooms and rooms were incredibly clean. Inviting books on the shelves, very comfortable beds, and complementary bottled water, coffee, and tea made everything that much more comfortable. My partner and I stayed in the Belfrey room, my brother and his wife in the Turret Room. Both were excellent. Special touches made us feel like honoured guests, yet also very much at home: Joy baked cookies and served them upon our arrival, Glen was attentive and considerate in serving a delicious three-course breakfast at the (pre-arranged) time our our choosing in the mornnig. Lovely people, lovely B&B. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarryOnOnlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Through Windows Past? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Through Windows Past

Address: 64 King St W, Forest, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0N 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forest
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into a comfortable night’s stay and delicious breakfast in historic downtown Forest, Ontario. This victorian style home is just a few steps away from Forest's charming downtown and a short-drive to museums, conservation areas, campgrounds, over 20 golf courses, and lake Huron—known for it's beaches and beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing