We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Average Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Golf and Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Average Accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in town for a Motorcycle rally. We were in the back end of the hotel and found our room to be clean and acceptable. Check in was handled quickly and every interaction with staff over the 4 days was friendly and helpful. Having a main floor room with a patio was helpful when a bad thunderstorm rolled into town with the potential for hail and I was able to park my bike right on the patio under the overhang.

The wifi was pretty much completely useless in the back of the hotel and I had to get a ethernet cable to have usable internet. Laundry room was on the dirty side and the dryer didn't work very well.

Overall with limited facilities in the area I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    10
    13
    9
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had called this hotel for some rooms for people to stay after and event I was holding that night. They need me to have 15 rooms filled to get a cheap $10 off of $120 per night at this hotel where not that many people travel at this time of year. Needless to say i recommended unless they wanted the closest hotel in the area go to Grand Bend for a room, I also recommend this to you as well. Next I find out that the roof leaked onto my friends in one room, the pool was dirty, the sheets were dirty, the fan in the bathroom did not work, ash trays on the balcony were overfull and on the ground. Then i also find out the next day the my parents who also stayed there got charged and extra $25 per person for others staying in the room, so instead of being high at $120 per night it was $179 per night. By the way there is already 2 double beds per room so this is just insane cash. I stayed at a best western downtown Toronto, a beautiful hotel for $120 per night with like 6 guys per room and no questions asked.

So overall please check out other hotels in the area before you stay here, even if you are going for the golf, which I can say I have played and there are some better courses for sure as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Forest hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Hair on bed sheets
Sliding glass doors did not lock in most of the rooms!
Ashtrays on the decks outside sliding glass doors were full and disgusting looking!
Fans in bathroom didn't work
No house keeping available through the evenings
Doggy poop bags on the sidewalk where we entered hotel
Food being delivered through pool area for a wedding, unsanitary!
Prices for what we got are outrageous!! Especially for hockey teams coming in to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jewls1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Not ready to leave Canada, we found this peaceful hotel in forest. A good nights sleep, accepts pets, not a bad place. Quiet. Didnt golf, but the corse looked nicely groomed. Didnt eat there, but their dining room was very busy. Decent value. Golfers drive their carts to their rooms.

Room Tip: Our room had an inside patio, but an outside patio room overlooking golf would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The staff on site were all very friendly! The estabslihment is clean and seeing that we've now returned for 3 consecutive years its being improved on. Our room met the basics and we go for the unlimited golf not the rooms. The TV was about 19" and probably 20 years old but we never turned it on. As for the golf, the course was pretty good condition for a hot summer. If there is anything they can do to improve the course and at a small cost would be to have 200, 150 and 100 yard markers on ALL fairways as well as yardage markers on the tee blocks. The cloubhouse bar was not open on the Saturday at lunch, we had to go to dinning room to get a hot dog which seemed to be an inconvenience to them. There was a live band Saturday night which was good. Sunday there was no beverage cart on the course despite being very busy and again there was no quick lunch available as the clubhouse bar was closed! As noted, I can see some improvements with the new ownership but our group may consider elsewhere next year that has better food and beverage service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed at the Forest Golf and Country Hotel many times over the past 5 years on business. There really is no other hotel in Forest or the surrounding vicinity. The hotel was really down in the dumps until it changed hands last year. The new owners have freshened up the facade and started to redecorate the guest rooms. New bedding, furniture and carpets are a good start. The place is much cleaner and fresher. They have started to overhaul the dining room too. I haven't played the golf course but I guess that will take some work to update. Overall it's an ok place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Namellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest
21.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
22.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
21.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
19.3 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Golf and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Golf and Country Hotel

Property: Forest Golf and Country Hotel
Address: 102 Main Street South, Forest, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0N 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Golf and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Golf & Country Hotel is a 27 hole golf course with a 75 room Hotel. There are Bars, Restaurant, Banquet Hall, Meeting Room, indoor Pool, Hot tub, Sauna, Putting Green, Horse shoe pits, Tennis Courts. This is a great Golf Getaway spot. We offer Unlimited Golf & Cart with room packages. There are Room & Golf packages and there are All inclusive packages (includes room, golf, cart, breakfast, dinner). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Golf and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing