We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, Very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterview on The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, Very comfortable room”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I should begin by saying I think we had the nicest room in the place, very large with a King size bed. I had a fabulous sleep over the three days we were there. The room had everything we would want given the fact that it is a ways out of town and Wiarton definitely closes down early. I would agree that the room was very humid but given that I am from Alberta, everything in Ontario seems very humid to me. The owners were very kind and considerate, the property quiet and well-maintained. We liked it a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms A and B are definitely the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    84
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
112
142
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The owners were great, and when I told them I was there for business they upgraded my room for free - which was fantastic! The room had everything I needed, with a great view looking out over the lake. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Are you sitting comfortably ?- then I shall begin. From reading the reviews of this motel I had high hopes. Alas the reality was somewhat far-removed from the positive reviews posted. First the good; nice position on the lake and amiable owners. Now the the bad; our room needed several hours of dehumidifying to be near to habitable, there was not enough space to swing a (small size) beaver and the standard of finish was up there with the motel from "Psycho"- correction- even the shower wasn't that good .add to the above paper thin/ creaking floors and voila you have the perfect storm of a lousy night's sleep.Simply dreadful. Nil points for ambiance.

This was sadly the worst of all the accommodation we stayed in during our vacation in Canada (out of 8 hotels ) I was really shocked that the owners could actually consider this acceptable to anyone. I am ashamed to have taken my family there and really regret paying an overinflated price for an incredibly uncomfortable stay. If we had arrived earlier we would have rejected it, but time was against us.

Never,never again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here with my father on a business trip and we were both pleased. The staff was very friendly and attentive, though we didn't need to call on them because everything with our room ran smoothly. Unfortunately, we were only there a couple days, out early and in later, so we weren't able to use the many facilities that the hotel grounds has. We had a great view from our personal balcony of the lake. The room itself had a homey feel, maintaining it's older motel charm while still being clean, comfortable, quiet, and renovated where need be. All for a good price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake will have a slightly nicer view. All the rooms are pictured on the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was a beautiful location. Great views. Grounds were immaculate. Rooms are dated. Staff was extremely friendly. I would stay again. The one thing I would suggest is to bring food with you. The closest restaurant is quite far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra to get the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was born in Wiarton, Ontario and know this property very well. We stayed there on a few occasions in two different styles of rooms. This was on older motel which was renovated and a new addition added to it. The rooms are beautiful and very rich, liken to those of N-O-T-L (for those of you from around the Niagara Peninsula). We have stayed there in summer and in winter. There are lots of activities for both seasons. The outdoors are gorgeous, overlooking Georgian Bay and the white cliffs of Wiarton. My nephew built his house on top of the cliff across the way from the Resort.
The large swimming pool is heated until Thanksgiving every year and is outdoors. It is pet friendly too, which makes a big difference, if you are an animal over and refuse to travel without your pet. I love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gBster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkhill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Warm and friendly welcoming you will receive from Evan n Dave. This was our second being staying there. This year we stay in their new cottages # 28 absolutely beautiful .Lots of room for my self and six children . The staff is very friendly there is lots for the kids to do but also you wouldn't know anyone else was there . Kids had a blast in the pool ,down at the beach and camp fires . I would highly recommend it to everyone. We have book next year already for a week .

Room Tip: cottages are beautiful and more private!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
458 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
133 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#4 of 9 in Wiarton
17 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge
17.9 mi away
The Fitz Hostel
The Fitz Hostel
#1 of 2 in Lion's Head
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview on The Bay

Property: Waterview on The Bay
Address: 501205 Grey Road 1 | RR 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterview on The Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterview is a 4-acre waterfront resort/motel located on the shores of Georgian Bay minutes from the town of Wiarton on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. There is a variety of rooms to choose from, some even have fireplaces and in-room Jacuzzis with private decks - all overlooking the bay, add a heated in ground outdoor pool, fully equipped banquet hall for special events such as weddings, evening bonfires, and hosts that go out of their way to please! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waterview on The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview On The Bay Wiarton, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing