We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful - Top Choice in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island View B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Wiarton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful - Top Choice in the Area”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I can say that the hosts made everything possible for us to have a wonderful long weekend. Thank you very much for your your hospitality. We will definitely come back again and recommend this to everyone else.

Everything is extremely clean and cozy!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RandomSpaceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at Island View over the July 1, 2011 long weekend and were blown away by the hospitality of Mark and Cathy. The grounds and accommodations are first rate and we'd love to return. Absolutely the best. We left feeling like we were saying good-bye to good friends.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Cathy and Mark were very open and warm. It made for a wonderful weekend, and the breakfasts were delicious! And Mocha is a wonderful dog. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone, and will definitely consider returning for another visit. And the proximity to the Bruce Trail and Bruce Caves is an added bonus.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WisGal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed for the 2nd time during the Canada day long weekend. Cathy and Mark were again like family and very good hosts. Everything was fantastic and whenever I am going to be in this area, this will be my first choice of accomodation. Breakfast was very yummy, location was very central to everywhere (sauble/tobermory/lions head...etc)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyawayOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Although, I am a faithful user of TripAdvisor, I hadn't checked the site prior to staying at Island View. When I did...well the previous reviews are Bang On!!! This is a wonderful place to stay.

As we were heading to Wiarton to hike the Bruce Trail, we weren't looking for much more than a place to sleep after a day of hiking...but Cathy and Mark had so much more to offer....

Island View was spotlessly clean with spacious rooms and ensuite bath. Simple but useful amenities such as a small frig in the room were greatly appreciated.

Easy access to the Bruce Trail and just a few minutes from Wiartion.

Try a meal at the Green Door Restaurant...amazing food and great prices!!!

Cathy and Mark went out of there way to make our trip special!!! The best hostess and host ever!!! :-)

We are already planning a return visit....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We have stayed at many bed & breakfasts in this area in the past and this was the best by far! Our hosts, Cathy & Mark, were very welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable, as was the king sized bed. Our ensuite was roomy and spotless as was the entire house.

In the evening Mark prepared the hot tub for us in a spectacular room with high celings and a gorgeous fireplace. He put on the mood music, lit the candles and dimmed the lights. It was very romantic. Enough said!

Breakfast was excellent and healthy too. We then chatted for quite some time and enjoyed every minute of their company.

Almost forgot, the view over the bay and islands was breathtaking. We will definitely visit again the next time we are in the area.

Lothar & Marybelle

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiserdood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoungCathy, Owner at Island View B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
The pleasure was ours. Thank you for taking the time to write the review on Trip Advisor. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Cathy & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed here for just one night whilst doing genealogical research in the area and our stay was just too short. It really is a gem - our hosts were friendly, open and welcoming without being intrusive; we felt just as welcome as we would have done by friends or family but were more pampered and did not need to feel guilty about it! The property is in a very scenic spot, with lovely views. The rooms (both communal and private) are spotless clean, faultlessly maintained and very well equipped, with a great level of attention to the small details that matter so much when you are travelling. Breakfast was gourmet standard and plentiful. I loved it ... if I ever return to the area, I will stay here again - without a shadow of a doubt

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
2.4 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
329 reviews
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
458 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#4 of 9 in Wiarton
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Fitz Hostel
The Fitz Hostel
#1 of 2 in Lion's Head
13 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge
10.6 mi away
Inn at Cobble Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View B&B

Property: Island View B&B
Address: 502119 Grey Road 1 | Georgian Bluffs. Ontario, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View B&B is located 6kms east of the Town of Wiarton on Grey County Road 1. It overlooks Colpoys Bay and is across the road from Bruce's Caves Conservation Area. The Conservation Area has great hiking trails and is open year round, there is no admittance charge. We offer a drop off service to hikers subject to availability. There is a rough trail from the B&B down the escarpment to the bay and a walk / bike around the block is 4km. Island View B&B was originally a single family home built to R2000 standards and is heated / cooled by geothermal. We added a "granny flat" for Cathy's parents in 2006 and an additional two car garage. Mark gained a "play" area! The Bed and Breakfast is in the original house and has King and Queen bed rooms each with en suite bathrooms and one room with two double beds with a private bathroom across the hall. Each room has a large window, bar fridge, coffee table and two chairs. Most guests relax in either the sunroom or the living room. Our oldest son Steve is an accomplished artist (even if we say so ourselves!) Specializing in wildlife. His medium is acrylic on canvas and we display his original work here. We are partially solar powered. We now offer Electric Vehicle charging- NEMA 14-50 receptacle. We really enjoy the people that come to stay with us.... "Enter as guests.....Leave as friends" Cathy & Mark ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island View B&B Wiarton, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing