We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite bed and breakfast - ever!”
Review of Island View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island View B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Wiarton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite bed and breakfast - ever!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Absolutely love staying at Island View! We have been several times. Island View was my first B&B experience and has "spoiled" me for any other experiences. The location is a wonderful destination spot if you are planning to vacation in the area. It's close to the Bruce Caves, Bruce Trail and a short drive to Sauble Beach or up the Bruce Peninsula to Tobermory. If you don't want to travel, but just want to "hang out" and read a book the property (gardens/ponds etc) is beautiful and the view from the deck is wonderful....it's so relaxing. The rooms are immaculate- we've stayed in the room with the queen size bed and it provides you with your own private space with a spacious bathroom all to yourself. The beds are extremely high quality, the house is immaculate. Mark and Cathy's son Steven is an artist and his original works are on display. Mark and Cathy's breakfast is top notch and Cathy is extremely knowledgeable if you have any allergies or dietary restrictions. In fact you could NOT ask for better hosts - we've enjoyed getting to know Mark and Cathy over our visits. Any questions about the area - they will know the answer!

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate and have wonderful quality beds. Cathy and Mark will help you choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is our third trip to Island View and we cannot say enough about this Bed and Breakfast. Cathy and Mark are outstanding hosts and make your stay memorable. My husband loves Cathy's breakfast!! I love Mark's great taste in wine and great sense of humour. The location is only 20 minutes from Sauble Beach and if you are looking for a stunning view this is the place to go. It is 2 minutes from the Bruce Trail and there is also a trail right through the backyard to the water. You must check this place out! I travel the world for business and this place will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audimcbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London On
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our very first experience staying at a B&B. Mark and Cathy opened the door and we were treated as if we were friends for years! They set a very high standard of which I am sure we will NEVER see anywhere else!! The home is beautiful and extremely clean and the view was amazing!!
The breakfast was absolutely delicious. There was so much I couldn't finish it all!
Our room was very clean and spacious with a nice ensuite bathroom!
It took us a while to say our goodbyes as the time spent with the Youngs was very comfortable and enjoyable!!
We will definitely be going back...if not to travel...to go back as friends to visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hosts are wonderful people, the food is great, the beds are top notch, the water is hot, the rooms were immaculate - and what a great welcoming committee we had! They have some wonderful pets - a dog and several cats. The pets are kept out of the guest areas for those with allergies.

They have a great location - just outside Wiarton - easy to use as a jumping spot to all over the Bruce Peninsula. They have a wealth of local information, tell them where you're going for great advice. They are right next to the Bruce Caves, and the cycling is great along the shore right from their driveway.

I've never seen so many hummingbirds at one time! AND check out the artwork on display!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was my first experience in a bed and breakfast and Mark and Cathy set a very high standard. They are wonderful hosts and treat you as close friends and the breakfasts were amazing! The house is beautiful and spotless with a wonderful view of the water. It was so peaceful and relaxing I didn't really want to leave. I hope I will get back for another, longer visit. This area has so many attractions it would not be hard to spend a week.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the one at the back of the house would have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed three nights with the Youngs and were treated like old friends. The breakfast was second to none, and the house is lovely with great outdoor spaces. The location is very quiet, but right on the Bruce Trail and within half an hour of the many bays, beaches and great communities.

We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed with our 17 year old son and had a very nice time. Very friendly people, awsome breakfast, funny story's, nice view, great hiking trails and so much more.
This B&B may be on the list of 'must do' in Wiarton. Happy to have met you.. Maybe see you again in Belgium one day or in Londen, or maybe we'll come back...
Bevernaegie family from Brugge, Belgium

Ps. People from Europe, don't hesitate, just book you a room there!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
2.4 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
15.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Sauble Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#4 of 9 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge
10.6 mi away
Inn at Cobble Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View B&B

Property: Island View B&B
Address: 502119 Grey Road 1 | Georgian Bluffs. Ontario, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View B&B is located 6kms east of the Town of Wiarton on Grey County Road 1. It overlooks Colpoys Bay and is across the road from Bruce's Caves Conservation Area. The Conservation Area has great hiking trails and is open year round, there is no admittance charge. We offer a drop off service to hikers subject to availability. There is a rough trail from the B&B down the escarpment to the bay and a walk / bike around the block is 4km. Island View B&B was originally a single family home built to R2000 standards and is heated / cooled by geothermal. We added a "granny flat" for Cathy's parents in 2006 and an additional two car garage. Mark gained a "play" area! The Bed and Breakfast is in the original house and has King and Queen bed rooms each with en suite bathrooms and one room with two double beds with a private bathroom across the hall. Each room has a large window, bar fridge, coffee table and two chairs. Most guests relax in either the sunroom or the living room. Our oldest son Steve is an accomplished artist (even if we say so ourselves!) Specializing in wildlife. His medium is acrylic on canvas and we display his original work here. We are partially solar powered. We now offer Electric Vehicle charging- NEMA 14-50 receptacle. We really enjoy the people that come to stay with us.... "Enter as guests.....Leave as friends" Cathy & Mark ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island View B&B Wiarton, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing