We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place for breakfast before hitting the beach!”

El Carey Cafe & Beach Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, Caribbean, International, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a very relax surf atmosphere... So don't worry about your sandy feet, salty hair and wet dollar bills... We don't mind! We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Smoothies... Our schedule does change without notice if the waves are good, hope you don't mind
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place for breakfast before hitting the beach!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place was really cool and casual with a great menu and great prices. We had a group of 4 about to hit the beach and we stopped for brunch first. I had the egg and cheese arepa which I definitely recommend! Great prices. Also had a fresh coconut water straight from the coconut. You order at the counter, they bring the food to you and you pay after. Noticed a good deal of locals and surfers at the cafe. Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThinkPink416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    25
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The reviews are right on. This place is great. Delicious Acai smoothies. The breakfast bowls are all made from scratch with fresh ingredients and they're amazing! The hot sauce is some of the best I've ever had. So addictive! It's got a casual, funky surfer vibe. Sometimes you have to wait a while for the food to come out, but it's all handmade and delicious. The staff is very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElisaMillerOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's just a funky little restaurant along road 4466 to Isabela at km 5.9. We had great beans and rice. Very casual and local.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very cute!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stopped at the café for smoothies. Staff was friendly. Smoothies were fresh and delicious. My kids loved them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute place!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The owners are wonderful people.... food is made fresh to order, and so delicious! We had the breakfast special, which was a breakfast burrito with plantaines.... amazing! Great coffee too:) we will eat here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank bgaillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Carey Cafe & Beach Shop also viewed

Isabela, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Carey Cafe & Beach Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing