We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect destination wedding in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Montana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect destination wedding in paradise”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife & I considered a lot of destinations for our wedding. We had guests coming from a few different parts of the US, and although it was a small wedding of 20 people, we span 4 generations and have a pretty wide array of tastes/backgrounds. We wanted a tropical location, relatively easy/cheap to get to, that could house us all - with plenty of space, and on top of it all - it needed a great restaurant. We came across Villa Montana online & immediately heard back from their wedding coordinator, Yhasmina, with an incredibly detailed wedding package proposal. We were quickly convinced that Villa Montana would meet our requirements & set to work customizing every detail of the package to our liking. Every detail was itemized & we could add/remove features as we pleased. Yhasmina was amazing at taking care of the details that we never would have even thought of, and on wedding day she was on top of everything & pulled it off without a hitch. We didn't have an opportunity to scout potential locations & picked one sight unseen, so having a wedding coordinator we could trust was important. Yhasmina did not disappoint, she was amazing.
The food & staff at Eclipse are wonderful. We decided to have both rehearsal & reception dinner at Eclipse & let all of our guests order off the regular menu. They pulled it off perfectly, and all 20 of our guests had nothing but compliments. We always felt extremely comfortable & well cared for. The bonfire on the beach with S'mores after rehearsal was a fun addition to the package & the staff even provided great service throughout that!

Like everything else, the rooms at Villa Montana exceeded my expectations as well. We had 10 separate rooms for our guests & based on some of the other comments, I was a little concerned we would all be too spread out. That really wasn't a problem. None of the rooms are terribly far apart, and the walk across the grounds is beautiful. It's never further than a few min walk to anything. Plus we received a complimentary room upgrade, champagne, fruit tray, and other goodies! My wife really liked the driftwood & burlap décor in the room too, and wants to recreate something similar at home now :)

The beach is beautiful as well, and breakers offshore make the perfect backdrop for the wedding gazebo. The water is wavy there, but certainly swimmable & there's some good snorkeling right offshore. We enjoyed watching the paddle boarders riding the waves offshore in the morning over a cup of coffee, and the kite surfers moving in in the afternoon. Overall it's a very picturesque location, everywhere you turn. We even saw a flock of rare Puerto Rican parrots sitting on the grounds before the wedding!
All in all, if we had to do it over again, we wouldn't change a single detail (except to have stayed longer).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Scott,

Thank you for taking the time out to post about your wedding at Villa Montana Beach Resort. I am very happy to hear how satisfied you where with the service which Yhasmina provided.

Congratulations on your wedding and I along with the rest of the staff look forward to being able to host you in the very near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    154
    64
    59
    58
See reviews for
156
263
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at the Villa Montana and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the area. This was our fourth year visiting the northwest of Puerto Rico and it was definitely the most relaxing time that we've had, largely due to the ease of staying at this beautiful resort. In our visits to this region we've stayed at more than 5 different hotels, and after staying at Villa Montana… well, we were just sorry we didn't find it four years ago! My boyfriend is a surfer and this is right on a break that he likes, so he could walk right to the water. It was ideal.

We enjoyed all three nights of our stay and dined at the Eclipse Restaurant every night. We planned to revisit some of our favorite restaurants in the region, but after our first meal at eclipse we were hooked! Delicious fresh fish, fun pizzas made in an authentic pizza oven, and nightly specials with local fresh ingredients? Perfection. We also took advantage of the beautiful amenities - from the fitness room to the beach loungers, all were superb. As a couple who lives an active lifestyle this was very important to us, and everything was updated and spotless. Such a rare find for hotels in this region.

We'll be back, and I strongly encourage you to pay them a visit as well. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at VMBR. I am very happy to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look foward to hosting you again on your return trip next year.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a romantic paradise getaway, this is it! It feels like your staying in the rainforest with all of the beautiful vegetation and the birds chirping, then your breath is taken by the beautiful view of the ocean. All of the windows are screened in so I was able to open all of the windows allowing the ocean breeze to cascade into our suite. It was a pleasure to hear the birds singing and hear the waves crashing onto the beach. The Eclipse restaurant was delicious as well as the drinks. I plan on taking this trip annually with my husband.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank prwedding09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. The many native green parrots which call the palm trees of Villa Montana home create a wonderful backdrop while walking the grounds.

Our staff takes great pride in their work and we all strive to make memorable moments for our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity to hosting you once again in the very near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked a five night stay via LuxuryLink, and were very happy we did. The location is ideal, and w felt there is a high level of of care put into the maintenance of the property. We randomly happened to met the owners Alan and Jessica while grabbing a post dinner drink one night and they were great people and obviously care very much about guests' experiences. The beach is the key feature, keep that in mind. Miles in each direction of completely undeveloped, unspoiled terrain. Villa Montana is a gated community of which 75% is residential (mostly second homes) and 25% resort. You will not feel like you're being crowded together like a mega resort. That in mind, the rooms they use for resort guests are a bit tired, as are the tennis courts. As for the rooms, there's not much in way of decor, while the furnishings and outdoor furniture are in need of refreshing. But the mattress was very comfortable. I wouldn't say the rooms were in bad shape more so there's really nothing to them; but they were perfectly serviceable for our trip, where we were focused on spending time outdoors. The two pools seemed nice, but we preferred the beach, where there are a dozen or so lounging cabanas, each with its own umbrella and nice little "cubbies" to hold your belongings while you hang out. I would say half of them actually can connect to the Eclipse restaurant's WiFi, which is nice for iPads. The food at Eclipse is excellent, consistently surpassing our expectations. We weren't able to try "O" restaurant as it was undergoing renovations (however, we didn't see any work being done, but that was a positive; no ugly workspaces, etc.) Restaurant service is on island time... you get used to it and, when enjoying a beautiful sunset and early evening, even appreciate not being rushed. However, resort service (e.g. housekeeping) was extremely prompt and efficient and everyone from front desk to landscapers consistently said hello and had a smile. Overally, I would recommend without hesitation, especially for anyone in the NYC area looking for a quick getaway - direct flights on JetBlue from JFK into Aguadilla and a 15 minute drive from the airport! Must do activities include Stand Up Paddleboarding with Verde Azul and a private beach ride with Tropical Trail Rides (right next door!) If you are into surfing and kite surfing, January is a great time to go, as the surf was pretty strong during our stay.

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms are about a five minute walk to beach but through some of the wonderful landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for haven taken the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The goal of the entire staff is to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and ejoyabe time with us.

We look forward to being able to host you again in the very near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my brothers' wedding. I'm sure he has his own review. After calling in advance for reservation, giving credit cards and all needed info, we arrived to no hotel room. We had no reservation. We had to stay in random rooms from 3 bedroom suites. Where someone else rented the main quarter. These were accessible from the outside. Not the best. The next nite we had a much better setup for myself, husband and three kids. The food was great. The view was great. Would I stay here again? Maybe. But would choose other if better choice available. They made some adjustments to our bill that made us happier with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadgirlPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us about your recent experience.

My apologies for the error which your reservation, and I am glad that we where able to obtain the correct configuration for you the following day.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the wedding party, and that you left satisfied with our services.

Looking forward to being able to host you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very overpriced for what you receive. At 300.00 + a night for a Villa I was expecting immaculate. Garage door in our front entrance broken and door right next as well. Paint was chipped in tub. Light switch was bromen in bedroom. Bathroom door had a homemade cheap door with no lock. Instead it had a cabinet handle inside and had to be propted open with toilet paper stand. Had i paid 100.00 I would have over looked but at the price that was unacceptable.

I reserved a Suite with KING SIZE bed. I got a queen size bed and they would not accomadate with anything. They said they didnt have any king size beds as they were all being replaced with Queen. That is called false advertising.

Evening service at Eclipse restaurant was wonderful and the food was excellent. Breakfast was another story. Only one frustrated waiter and cold bad coffee.

Overall, i love the location right on the beach although beach is not goid for bathing as Atlantic Ocean has ruff seas. I think there are much better places to stay with more things to do in the area. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR-Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. You had requested a King size bed and upon check-in you where advised that all of our units with king size beds where occupied and none where available. King size beds are on a request basis. this is not false advertising as you claim.

The one bedroom villa which you received is one of our recently renovated units. The bathroom door is a barn door with an elongated stainless steel handle. yes it does not have a lock on it, it was designed as such.

We verified our records, and the rate which you claim you paid is not what is on your account.

I am glad you enjoyed your dinner at The Eclipse. I will forward your comments to the restaurant staff. As you pointed out, the hotel is somewhat secluded. This is actually sought out by the majority of our customers.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here during the Christmas holidays. It was not what we expected. It is mostly a condo development, and some of the rooms are rented out. The rooms are hit or miss, some are quite nice, many others are small, dark, and dank. Bathrooms and closets are not up to hotel standards. The hotel lacks some of the amenities it advertises -- for example, there is currently no spa. Service is iffy. The beach is scenic, but the water is rough and there are many rocky patches so it's not really swimmable. For the prices they charge, this place is not a good deal. The bright spot is the restaurant, which is very lovely and has quite good food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATiphaine, Owner at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your recent stay.

Our villas are presently being renovated and the issues which you pointed out are currently being addressed.

During the winter months, our beach is a fantastic surfing beach, but can be rough at times.

Although we don't offer a Spa, we do offer massages in our garden gazebo or in the comfort of your room.

Again thank you for your comments,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.6 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
67.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.4 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
67.6 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
88.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana Beach Resort

Property: Villa Montana Beach Resort
Address: Carr. 4466 KM 1.9 Interior | Barrio Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Montana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Montana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Beach Hotel Isabela
Hotel Montana Beach
Resort Montana Beach
Villa Montana Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing