We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular golf resort”
Review of Royal Isabela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Isabela
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A group of 12 of us stayed at RI in early November. It was fabulous. The casitas were perfect. Spacious and beautiful. The golf course was gorgeous. The people couldn't have been nicer.

This is a truly special destination. You won't be disappointed.

Greg Williams

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRoyalIsabela, General Manager at Royal Isabela, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Mr. Williams

It was an absolute pleasure having you and your friends stay with us here at Royal Isabela and also a joy to watch you all having such a good time. You are all now a part of Royal Isabela family memories and stories. Please come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a very nice time, the place is beautiful and the course lovely to look at. A little hard for this average (25 handicap USGA) woman golfer, but I had fun regardless of my score. The guys loved it. No matter, the views were worth the trouble. Very good for couples and the food, when it finally came (we are USA and used to a bit quicker service but realize that a 3 or 4 hr. dinner is pretty normal there) the food was out of this world. If I had any complaint it would be the very slow (average 45 min. wait for scrambled eggs and bacon) service for breakfast. We wanted to eat a hearty breakfast and get out on the course! It's easy to get to, we flew into San Juan and drove out to Isabella. An easy drive and fun to see the countryside. The Casitas were beautiful and we all had a lovely private view and plunge pool. Really, we couldn't have asked for anything better! The staff is just as accommodating as the room and we loved looking forward to the little snack they sent up every afternoon. Yum! We definitely will try to return for another visit. I highly recommend the place for luxury, care, views and total relaxation. Be sure to ask for a trip through the old tunnel! Beautiful! My friends all enjoyed that and seeing the Gatehouse Garden. Now we know why the food is so good.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms had a plus - I think the upper Casita's might have a bigger view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRoyalIsabela, General Manager at Royal Isabela, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Barbara
We are so happy that you, your husband and the five other couples you came to Royal Isabela with had such a fantastic time. Enjoying the golf course, casitas, restaurant, amenities and the property the way all of you did, is exactly what we wish for all of our guests to do. It gives us great satisfaction to see our guests enjoying themselves so much at Royal Isabela. I have spoken with my team and we will take all the necessary steps to ensure that our service continues to improve and get faster, and that we carry on making all our guests feel completely welcome and a part of our family. Your review gives us cause as a team to excel even more, and pursue our standards of excellence.
We look forward to welcoming all of you back for some more fun and relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place is heaven on earth, it is a very peaceful place, a world class golf course with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean.
The employees treat you as a king with all their services.
excellent place to escape, to be relax, play golf, eat, rest and have a great time with your love one.

Room Tip: we stay at casita 7 and it was perfect. there are only 20 rooms to choose, my room was quiet, peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRoyalIsabela, General Manager at Royal Isabela, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Alejandro

We are so honored that you chose Royal Isabela to take some special time out to spend with your loved one......and got some time in on our wonderful links course. Everyone here at Royal Isabela is treated like family, so I am happy you got to experience our "Royal" treatment.

Please come and visit with us again some time soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

In August of 2013 we had the distinct pleasure of holding our daughter’s wedding at Royal Isabela. From the moment you enter through the privacy gates to the time you exit the property you are treated with world class service by a world class staff, and will forever remember the world class accommodations. The service offered at Royal Isabela rises to the highest level by each staff member and truly exceeds all expectations. Entering through the massive double doors, seeing the breath taking views of the golf course with the stunning ocean backdrop, you will marvel at the architectural details. Our guests were treated with five star services and a menu that exceeded the expectations of any discriminating palate. We had the pleasure of staying in the casitas that were nestled in the hillside offering panoramic views of the ocean while providing privacy one truly desires. From the plunge pool to the shower, to the luxurious bedroom, no detail was overlooked when designing each casita.
Having a casita as the bridal suite on her wedding day was like something from a fairy tale. The lush landscaping and the spectacular Puerto Rican sunset ocean view from La Casa and the outdoor bar area provided the perfect place for gorgeous wedding day portraits. The honeymoon suite, the private beach; all were part of a dream come true.
From a simple get away to a stunning wedding venue, we highly recommend you visit the world class destination, Royal Isabela.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Let me begin by saying that I am not a golf player. This beautiful place is suited for anyone who wants to be relaxed and enjoy nature, good service, and luxurious accommodations with loved ones. We visited this extraordinary piece of heaven on earth with our two daughters ages 15 and 11, and stayed for two nights. Everything was perfect. The casitas are pure luxury with a beautiful and huge bathroom, very relaxing living room, comfortable bedroom, and magnificent patio with private pool. The room was as clean as it gets and all in top condition.
The restaurant was fabulous. We ate all our meals for two days in the restaurant and there was not a single miss. The kitchen is run by a team of very young talented chefs, but the product speaks like been prepared by master chefs. The resort staff is incredibly kind, gentle, and friendly and give the extra mile to make you feel like a king.
The resort itself is beautifully designed around nature. We had the chance to tour the back nine holes of the golf course and what an amazing place. Walking around the resort is a pleasure, and the walk to the beach is an adventure by itself.
It was a real pleasure meeting Mr. Charlie Pasarell, one of the owners and founder of this incredible resort. He was extremely friendly with our daughters. We noted he was always talking to employees and looking for every detail in the operation.
We have traveled to many places around the world and are very happy to know that we have this incredible resort in Puerto Rico. We can’t wait to be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JosePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came across this location based on a golf review titled, "the Pebble Beach of the Caribbean". It is the best designed, most beautiful resort that we have ever stayed at. The golf course is challenging and beautiful; the casitas are first class all the way with wonderful amenities and beautiful views of the ocean and night skies. The staff displayed a professional demeanor in every aspect of our visit. Looking forward to visiting here again.

Room Tip: Far as I can tell, you're going to love any room you get. They're all individual rooms, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmcooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Royal Isabela for 3 day and 2 nights, it was the perfect getaway from our hectic day to day lives in San Juan. The service/staff is top notch and the golf course is in very good shape.
Food is very good lots of fresh produce from their own garden. Las Casitas (villas) are very spacious, comfortable with lots of details and high end finishes.
I will highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to relax and recharge.

Room Tip: We stayed in La Casita #20 and it was simply perfect. Very private and quiet, just what we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coqui88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
45.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
77.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
60.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
5.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
57.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Isabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Isabela

Address: 396 Ave Noel Estrada, Isabela 00662-3279, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: £368 - £1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Isabela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Isabela greets guests with much more than suite accommodations. Located just steps from The Restaurant at La Casa, 20 freestanding Casitas are true "little houses" designed for the ultimate in Puerto Rican resort stays. Each Casita encompasses 1,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor space and is sited to best catch Royal Isabela's stunning ocean vistas with minimal impact to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Isabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Isabela Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing