We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful facility & generous staff”
Review of Hostal Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Tropical
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Unbelievably peaceful faculty. The staff (Jonathan, etc) were amazing, compassionate, intelligent, and beautiful people. They let me use the reception computer when I was in panic mode and needed to look at some last minute flights. The shower was hot and the rooms are big enough. They are the only hostel I've seen in PR that offer breakfast. Make sure you don't drive into the motel first by mistake or you will be a little confused as to what kind of reservation you actually made. Totally recommended for a peaceful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinLee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babiloniapr, Manager at Hostal Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We are glad we were able to calm your panicking, and make your trip accommodate to your needs. We are working in the motel and hostel confusion in the entrance, but it is a good experience to know the definition of a motel in Puerto Rico. We offer breakfast so those who stay can go out and discover Borikén with something in their stomach, thanks for appreciating it. Thanks for being our guest, we are happy you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Driving from SJuan to Mayaguez needed a place, just for sleep with our three kids, called and stayed there. Very clean rooms, great great service and location, close to Num 2 avenue in Isabela. This hostal (shared bathroom) is not usual in PR, but they also have rooms with private baths.
Again, good A/C, clean, cozy, good experience...need to work on the matresses (very firm).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRagonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babiloniapr, Manager at Hostal Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for stopping by! We are conveniently located very close to Highway PR 2 in Isabela, that is good for a quick stop. Getting comfortable mattresses is one of our goals, our mindset is to always to improve. We also have mixed dorms for the solo travelers on a budget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hostal Tropical gets it right when it comes to Hostels. You get that good vibe that everyone there loves to meet new people and want to experience the real Puerto Rico! The hosts, Jonathan and Coralis, are very helpful and will go out of their way to give you good advice on places to visit, where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babiloniapr, Manager at Hostal Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for being our guests, we hope to have you and friends back soon. There are always new places to discover in Borikén.
Godspeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Where to start? Hmmmm......
*Location: perfect. The hostel is located right next to the express way and very close to a Walmart, where you can refill what you need for a day trip outside of Isabela.
*Room: We stayed in a 2 full beds with very good prices. Originally we planned to stay for 2 nights but we extended 4 more nights. Plus, they have delicious breakfast every morning :D
*Atmosphere: Excellent. The owners are just NICE! They are like your family, giving you all the information and food :o They are whom you need in a hostel, who can give you the deep insights of the local place. I enjoyed the stay very much. Only wish I speak better Spanish to learn more from them ;)

Room Tip: If you don't like loud music in the early morning, avoid those next to the road. Crazy Puertoriq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KuanSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babiloniapr, Manager at Hostal Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

It was also great having you guys over, as well as you learned from us, we also did expand our knowledge from you guys, and that is what makes us travelers. Thank you for being our guests, we were really happy to make you enjoy your stay at Hostal Tropical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I was very pleased with my experience at Hostal Tropical. The staff were very friendly and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Their knowledge of the area was priceless. We were advised to go to places that were real hidden gems of the world. The only problem is location and I would advise that you need a car if you are staying at Hostal Tropical. Apart from that I was very pleased with the Hostel and I would love to go back one day.

I would recommend this Hostel to anyone looking to explore Puerto Rico on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babiloniapr, Manager at Hostal Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

It was great having you guys by. We are glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one, and you where able to experience places that influence us, that is the experience we want our travelers to have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isabela hotels
2.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Montana Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tropical

Address: 50 Ruta 5, PR-475 km 0.1 | Near route #2, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Isabela
Price Range: £14 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hey traveler, welcome to Hostal Tropical located in Isabela, Puerto Rico known for its beautiful Caribbean sea side beaches and the top surfing Atlantic Ocean waters. Our hostel has rooms and facilities to suit your needs and budgets. Our hostel offers mixed dorms and private rooms with private or shared bathrooms. All our rooms are air-conditioned to maximize your comfort. We have a fully equipped kitchen and common areas including outdoor terrace where you can unwind after a long day. Our young friendly staff is happy to assist you in your stay and help you find what you need in your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Tropical Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing