We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Tropical is the best!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa Tropical is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Trevor and Jennifer are the best, will go out of there way to help in any way!!!
And, best view at the point of "Shack's"... Thanks for taking care of us!
Jay Crawford - www.outerbankskiting.com

Room Tip: "Top Right" or "Top Left" are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
143
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Trevor, Jennifer and staff saved our vacation! Villa Tropical owners Trevor and Jennifer really do care about their guest experience, comfort and guest service is a top priority at Villa Tropical. We thought we were saving a bit and rented from another place at Shacks-site unseen. Big mistake-Big letdown....lets just say it was not for us.......Villa Tropical owners Trevor and Jennifer along with Cookie and their staff bent over backwards to accomodate us last minute. We moved a few times to different apartments and houses all excellent with each having its own charm. The top right apartment has been remodeled and updated recently and can not be beat for the Shacks experience! Renting from Villa Tropical you have many options to chose from for your vacation rental and you will love it. All rentals are clean, neat and with amenities travellers need and want.
Shacks Beach and Villa Tropical, a small piece of heaven here in Puerto Rico!

Room Tip: All of Villa Tropicals rentals have a good description and photos on their website to help you chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in one of the 1 bedroom apt's with the kitchen and during veterans day weekend in 2011 and really enjoyed it. Having the beach just steps away from you and hearing the waves at night was great. We live on the other side of the island and enjoy getaways like this. Although you have to share the back terrace area it was no biggie. we shared the grill neigbors were quiet just like us. The apartment a/c unit in the bedroom was kinda loud but we hit the bed so tired that we wouldn't notice the noise till the morning. Aside from that my wife, daughter and I plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here in November, 2010 so I'm a little late with my review.

I traveled to Isabela during the low season so with Weather not being all that great we spent a good deal of time in the apartment we rented for the week at Villa Tropical. As there weren't many tourists around the owner bumped us up from the studio to a 1 bedroom, 1st floor apartment. Wow, was it nice! It had all of the amenities of my current apartment and felt like a home away from home.

Being steps away from the beach isn't too bad either! Also across the way was the horse stable which always has a a few trips daily. It's a short 5 min drive to town and all of the other beaches. So this place has everything you need as far as convenience.

Only negative thing is that it's set back away from the main road and somewhat difficult to find if you've never been there before. During the rainy season the road gets flooded and a few time I was a bit nervous about whether of not our little Yaris would make it through!

All in all- definitely worth a stay. Isabela is beautiful and the beaches are amazing!

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront apartments with a deck and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizardbreath122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This place is amazing. The blue hole is one of the best place to enjoy scuba or any other suacuatic sport. The place is a perfect setting for stay with you couple for a romantic night or simple enjoy the beach life and the local culture. The owner is a positive pleasant plus!
Oscar & Magdalena

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oscarjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent four night in one of Villa Tropical's apartments. Our stay was excellent- incredible service, gorgeous beach, nice clean apt with small pool- a great stay. Again, we must stress the quality of yje service- every request was dealt with immediately. We will most definitely return!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at Villa Tropical based on individual reviews and the number 1 rating through TripAdvisor for Isabela. We would definitely stay here again and agree with the reviews we found on TripAdvisor. Our baby was only 6 months younger than Jennifer and Trevor's youngest and we related to their retirement plan to Puerto Rico. We were also looking for possible retirement for ourselves to a tropical environment and found ourselves here to start our search. We loved this place and it was true to the reviews we read.

If you are looking for more detail, read on. Villa Tropical is what it says, an apartment without everyday cleaning unless you request it. This is what we wanted, to be left alone and have our full kitchen etc. and to take care of ourselves. We absolutely loved our stay and look forward to staying there again.

There are plenty of things to see that are only a day trip away including Rincon beach (known as a surfing mecca) with great picturesque views. Also, the wind caves and many other places we didn't have time to see.

Staying at Villa Tropical and not going anywhere else is a vacation in itself. The grocery store is not far and you can sit on the deck and watch the ocean all day long and not be bored. Searching for shells and sea glass is a fun bonus experience. You can even rent snorkeling or surfing gear by the day or the stay.

We had a big grill on the huge deck that we used almost every day. Our little 22 month old enjoyed the space. We left the doors accessing the deck open most of the time. She absolutely loved being so close to the beach and enjoyed playing with the beach toys provided by Trevor and Jennifer.

The beach was so close and so wonderful. There was plenty of snorkeling and beautiful views to see. The reef was plentiful with lots of ocean life that you can get lost in as you follow it through the area. You could walk down the beach to the east and be secluded or walk to the west and visit Villa Montana for some good eats.

The sunsets were beautiful and night beach walking was great. I love to take pictures and there was so many shots, I couldn't keep up.

We were there during Halloween and Jennifer planned out a trick or treat adventure for all the kids including mine and even let us borrow a little outfit so my girl wouldn't be left out.

These people were so family oriented and loved to meet new people and made us feel like a part of their family. We loved this place and the community surrounding this area. Ola Lola is also a place to visit near by with great food and they will welcome you with open arms.

The day we left was hard enough leaving the ocean and about one hour after leaving Villa Tropical, I realized I had left my wedding ring in the top drawer of the nightstand, ugh! Trevor and Jennifer mailed it back to us even adding insurance without hesitation and didn't bother to add it to our bill.

I would totally recommend Villa Tropical and I love the secluded, homey feeling of this place. It isn't fancy but, it is absolutely wonderful for someone who doesn't need pampering and is looking for the real deal!

Room Tip: Upper deck have best view but lower deck still has nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelDevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 4 in Aguadilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
66.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Property: Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing