We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

If you are a traveler that needs constant pampering and a staff to wait on you hand and foot, then Villa Tropical IS NOT FOR YOU. For the rest of us who want a secluded (but not remote) relaxing vacation experience, then this place is perfect...absolutely perfect.
My wife and I just returned from 5 nights here and had our best vacation in 16 years of marriage. Trevor, the manager/host is a great guy with a great product. We rented a studio apartment with a large private deck(Q5), full kitchen, lots of windows...everything you need.
The staff can point you in the right direction to get any supplies, food, wine...whatever. The villa has direct access to miles of great beaches in either direction, a grill for cooking, picnic tables, laundry, beach chairs, parking, outdoor showers at every unit - they've thought of everything. My wife and I are already planning a return and we plan to become regulars at this beautiful, relaxing place.

Room Tip: Don't get too caught up in direct beach views - it's so close that you can hear/see it from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CourtneyfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

There is no other place in PR like this one. We live in the city and only went for the weekend to unwind a bit from everything and it was the best decision. The beach was spectacular; the room was impeccable and cozy. We are already planning to go back for a whole week. There is no way you don’t fall in love with this place. Plus, the service, awesome. They really go the extra mile to satisfy their customers.

Room Tip: We stayed at the M2,better known as Couples Retreat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gugui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I were very happy staying at the Villa Tropical. We are fairly picky about our accommodations and left pleased. We happen to stay in two units while on our week stay in PR due to availability issues. I will share the pros and cons from our perspective.

1) Ocean Blue Bldg. Rear unit with private pool. There was a sense of tranquility in this unit. It is modern and is relatively new construction. There was plenty of room and the unit was clean. It was very quite with adequate off street parking. These are rental units and there was some minor wear and tear. The living room furniture was fresh and there was a nice sized TV. We were there in January and the pool was too cold to use but nice to sit by. There is an outdoor shower for rinsing off after being at the beach. This unit is across the very narrow lane from the beach. The building is surrounded by other buildings but due to the foliage, you don't get that feeling. One thing that I did not like were the door locks. If you keep your doors to the main exit and patio locked, you had to use your key to unlock the door to exit the unit. This is solved by just keeping the key in the door at all times but not convenient when using both doors. I would return to this unit again.


2) Villa Quionnes unit Q3. This unit was completely different from Ocean Blue. It is right on the beach with spectacular views. It is older and needs a good paint job on the interior walls. The kitchen had bearly enough plates and bowls for two people. The mattress is in serious need of replacement. I had to sleep in the twin because the sag of the mattress made it uncomfortable for two people to sleep in the one double bed. Nevertheless, the place was amazing. It has a large shared deck with a hammock and picnic table for each unit. You immediately become in awe of the views and both my husband and I would find ourselves standing out on the deck just staring at the water. The noise of the waves is constant and loud. We really enjoyed watching the kite boarders. There is a hedge and gate between the buildings and the beach so there is a nice sense of separation from public on the beach. The views and proximity to the water outweighed the negatives stated above. I recommend renting a smaller car when staying at this unit. The parking spots won't accommodate SUVs.or large cars easily. This unit is part of a two building mini complex (M & Q buildings). There was a friendly sense of community where there was always a friendly face and plenty of people happy to answer questions. There are picnic tables between the two building and two outdoor showers to rinse off after being at the beach. I would return to this unit.


3) Villa Tropical as a whole. I liked it. I felt a sense of community among strangers with Trevor and Jennifer as the centerpieces. We had all of the privacy we wanted but there was always someone around if you needed anything. Even the cleaning ladies are really nice. The airplane noise is an issue. The first time a plane flew overhead it was in the middle of the night. It woke me from a deep sleep and scared the heck out of me. I got used to it by the end of the trip. It never bothered my husband. The beaches are nice but not good for swimming. The currents in January were very strong. Swimmers must also take care around the reefs which are numerous. The beach sand is clean. The kite boarders are fun to watch and are all over the beach in one section. They are very friendly and polite. The water temp was just fine for swimming. We are New Englanders.

While we were there, we lost power for about a half day. The weather was not too hot so other than not having lights this was not too much of a problem. This is typical for this part of PR. I learned that some units have backup generators and some don't. I suggest taking that into account in the peak of summer when choosing a unit. There are plenty of restaurants near by and two that are within walking distance that I know of.

I hope this helps.

MK

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mkayhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Villa Tropical is directly on a beautiful stretch of the Atlantic coastline close to the northwest corner of PR. The combination of shade (the sun faces the opposite side of the island)and steady trade winds makes for a comfortable, refreshing climate. The Villa Tropicale consists of a number of apartments dispersed in several beachfront houses. We stayed in R1 which has a large wrap around deck facing the ocean. We loved it but would note that some travelers might prefer a more luxurious, more expensive unit, of which there are several.our hosts Jennifer and Trevor were delightful and attentive as was the staff. The locale, near Isabela, has much to offer and the people are extremely friendly. There were many kite boarders surfing the waves--a source of constant entertainment. Highly recommended for lovers of the land and sea.

Room Tip: R1 less expensive less luxurious great deck and view. R2 more expensive, newly renovated, more luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rickdhmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Incredible view and what a show. Kite boarders and surfers were riding fabulous waves. When it became calmer, paddle boarders and wind surfers joined the fun. Great decks. Fantastic walking beach with few people. Staff was terrific.

Only down side were the commercial and military planes. Take off and landings are over the properties and even the sound of the waves (loud and wonderful) do not cover the noise of the early morning and late evening flights.

Wireless Internet was not available in some of the units but was usually available at the office.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torobuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our stay at Villa Tropical was during Thanksgiving.
There weather was nice, Waves were spectacular (to watch - I don't surf)!!! A lot of reef, but it did not stop us from swimming and so on.. The couple who manage the apartments are Good Folks :)
The apartments are fully equiped and worth every penny!

Highly recommended!

BR
Tina & Bjorn

Room Tip: If you're low on cash, choose a Studio Apartment for 2 persons. If not, all of the Rooms are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Trevor and Jennifer are the best, will go out of there way to help in any way!!!
And, best view at the point of "Shack's"... Thanks for taking care of us!
Jay Crawford - www.outerbankskiting.com

Room Tip: "Top Right" or "Top Left" are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
15.5 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
37.9 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing