We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Weekend at Villa Tropical”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Weekend at Villa Tropical”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just spend a weekend at Villa Tropical with our children and grandchildren and it was unforgettable for all. We were 12 people in our party and we got villas R1 and R2 which was a wonderful choice for us since they are locate side by side with a huge deck overlooking the ocean. We were very courteously attended by Trevor and Jenniffer and their friendly staff. The apartments were spectacular, spic and span and tastefully decorated, also fully equipped with every convenience. But I have to say for me the best was the beach, it was right in front of our villa. If you needed anything from the villa you didn't need to go far, someone would throw it to you from the deck. Sooo nice and easy! At night we dined out but later we made a bonfire on the beach, played guitar, sang and had smores, the kids were in heaven and the parents too! We are returning next year.

Room Tip: Don't miss the ocean front villas, the views are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martagonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
103
143
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago. IL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lie in the hammock on your balcony listening to the waves crash onto the beach. Watch the surfers in the morning. Snorkel right out front. Early morning walks on the beach. We stayed in Q3. Spectacular apartment. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrazeeChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Villa Tropical is a top-notch destination with no downsides unless you want hotel-style accommodations with hot and cold running servants. The units are totally modern, squeaky-clean, well-furnished and maintained, and several are within spitting distance (if you spit well) of the high-tide line. Even those units not quite that close are but a seconds' walk from the beach.

My wife and I just spent six nights in unit M1, a waterfront, one-bedroom unit. We fell asleep after a margarita at sunset on the porch and awoke to the sound of the surf on the beach and fixed our own breakfast of local fresh fruit as the sun rose out of the Atlantic.

Shacks Beach (where Villa Montana is located) is a prime destination for snorkel and SCUBA diving, wind surfing, kite surfing. There's board surfing available just down the beach - which is very nearly empty most of the time. The view across the reef is lovely at nearly all hours. There is a cable TV in the unit but we never turned it on. If you find yourself bored there it's your own fault.

We ran the air conditioner the first night, but not again, at all, night or day, after that. The sea breeze and ceiling fans provided ample cooling this time of year, with daytime temps in the 80s and nights in the 70s.

No, we do not own a piece of the action but wish we did. The place is better than advertised.

For a birds-eye look, go to Google Earth and search for Villa Tropical, Isabela, Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Pay the money and get an oceanfront unit; you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were in Puerto Rico for a wedding and chose to stay in the oceanfront apartments over the Villa Montana resort. Although the resort first caught my eye we decided that we wanted to wake up with a view of the ocean and make our own coffee in the morning. We stayed in Unit M4 which is the top level and recently renovated. The pictures on the website are EXACTLY like the apartment. We had friends who were staying in units in the same building and directly behind which made it nice to travel with people but not have to be on top of them in the same space!

We felt like we had the entire beach to ourselves. It was a bit rocky but there were two points just to the left or right of where we were staying where you could enter the water with no issues. You could also take 25 minute walks in either direction and feel like you were on a deserted island.

We will definitely go back to this location!

Room Tip: The top room, unit M4 did not share any walls or outside space with other people. This probably kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great accomodations, great view, great time! We spent 3 short nights in a 3-bedroom villa (R2) and it was everything we could hope for. With the exception of an intensely windy first day where we really could not snorkel, this stay was better than any other in recent memory. This is a fantastic choice for anyone looking for a place to relax and enjoy a quiet vacation in PR. Cooking for our family of 5 was easy, with a grocery store a short drive away. There are a couple of restaurants walking distance, along with horseback riding even closer (we went to all 3). The staff was friendly and helpful - even for us short-notice vacationers. There was wi-fi for my ipad addicted sons - but even they could not resist the snorkeling in Blue Hole and reading on the deck, overlooking the beach. Our unit was very clean and everything was new. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: R2 was a beautiful 3-bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tygargabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington VA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Spent 7 nights with my husband and 10 year old son in April. Stayed in Villa Bajandas B2, and we've already booked for 8 nights in March 2013. Clean and simply accommodations with a view to die for: aqua/turquoise/sea green waters in the reef with navy in the blue hole. The hotel rents out snorkeling equipment and my boys fell in love with exploring the reef. I loved investigating the tidal pools along the reef that touched the beach. We saw wild iguanas in the trees and on the beach. Friendly and helpful hosts. Go (but stay off the reef)!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDUNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paxton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our first trip to PR, first 2 nights @ VT in M1. Magnificent views of the beach and great to listen to the surf hit the beach just feet away, but M1 is in need of some improvements: large couch needs to be replaced, extremely uncomfortable to sit on as a large piece of plywood is supposed to remove the sag under the cushions - it makes it worse; one of the bathroom lights is rusted, the window shades for the front doors need replacing (several panels have fallen out), and the mattress is as hard as a rock; worse yet is the hammock on the porch - it was so loaded with mold that I wouldn't even touch it. I would definitely come back to Shacks beach but would look for another apartment to stay in. The restaurant just a short walk down the beach to the west Eclipse) was worth going.

Room Tip: read all the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paho312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 3 in Aguadilla
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
786 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
151 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Property: Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing