We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just returned after 5 nights at this wonderful villa. Cookie, the Mgr greeted us, and made this stay worth recommending to anyone who wants to relax on the beach. We stayed in the Quinones Villa M4 top floor overlooking the entire beach. The large terrace was great for reading/relaxing any time of the day. The apt itself had everything you needed., I recommend you stop by the new Econo Supermarket on the way from the airport to buy a few things. We've stayed on the East coast (San Juan area) before, but nothing beats this. The people are so nice & helpful, that I'm looking forward to another trip soon. Definitely worth staying at ... I also recommend renting a car and see the other sites, such as the Caverners (30 mins. away) Mayaquez Zoo 30 Mins. away and about 10 minutes away the ruins in Aguadilla! Nani (Myna Lee) thanks for all your suggestions, We loved our stay!!!

Room Tip: Recommend Villa Quinones M4 ( Top floor, nicely decorated spectacular view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilsa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
143
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We found Villa Tropical on Trip Advisor and stayed 5 nights in June. The direction that are printed from the website were perfect and you will need them to find it. I suggest printing the direction to and from the San Juan airport. There is an airport only minutes away however flights are limited. We wanted to relax and spend time snorkeling in the water and this was a PERFECT location for that. Right in front of VT is a coral reef and is perfect to snorkel around. There are also more just down the beach. You will also find the "blue hole" which you can snorkel to when the tide is right. The hole I am guessing is about 45 feet deep and you will find much more to look at, Apparently there are manatee in the hole but we did not see them. You can dive right from the beach as well. Just ask Jennifer at the desk and she will get the name of a local gentleman that will bring you out. We did not dive but it is a regret for both my husband and daughter. On our last day we saw a dive video and pictures from the family that stayed in the unit next to us and we were amazed at the sea life they saw!!! Next time we will for sure! VT is a simple structure, traditional concrete building typical of the island. Our unit (UR) was somewhat dated inside but clean and perfect for a beach vacation. You can rent snorkel and fins for a very reasonable price and they have a closet full of water toys as well. The balcony has a gas grill, large table and benches and reclining lawn chairs to lay on. This is the best part of the unit as you can watch beautiful sunsets, watch your family play in the water and enjoyed looking and the tropical blue colors of the water! There is a an outdoor shower to rinse off on the way back up the stair from the beach that can be used by all VT renters. We stocked up at the Econo (grocery store) no more than 10 minutes away and also ate a few times at some local restaurants. One bar/ very small restaurant, Ola Lola's Garden Bar, is located just walking distance away and was a cute hangout! We had fabulous tacos there! We took a trip to the Camuy Cave Park one day. If you leave early you still have plenty of time to come back to more snorkeling and swimming for the day. Leave early, otherwise you will have LONG lines. We got there at 9 and the crowds poured in after us. We also went horseback riding one morning. it is within walking distance from VT and Jennifer made the reservations for us. Buy or bring your own soap, shampoo, beach towels etc as this is not a fancy resort where you pick up the phone and ask someone to bring it to you. It is rather a simple, relaxing and perfect location for a family vacation away from all the distractions of the busy world. If you want to relax and get away from it all... choose Villa Tropical! The reviews we saw on Trip Advisor were spot on. Yes, we did hear airplanes.... not all the time...it was not a problem for us. They were all very helpful in the VT office and you can speak to them and they can recommend things to do, We loved VT and would recommend it anyone who likes the water, the beach and just plain hanging out and relaxing!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Upper Right (UR ) This unit sleeps four. We shared a huge balcony with (UL- Upper Left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wibols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Villa Tropical is one of those 'mom & pop' hideaways that you don't want to tell anyone about so you can always have a place to stay in paradise. From the moment we got there we felt like relatives welcomed in after a long trip. Jennifer, the co-owner, greeted us cheerfully upon our arrival. She checked us in while telling us about local attractions. She then lead us to our wonderful Villa. Oh my! it was breathe taking. We spent a little extra (it was still a very reasonable price) to get the newly built 3rd floor villa. With all the balcony doors open it felt like the villa was one big porch with ocean at your fingertips! Once at the top of the terracotta stairs you're stunned by the brilliant sun sparkling off the ocean that wraps you in a warm hug. Inside is elegant but simple and livable. A full kitchen [inside] and grill area [outside] allowed us to stay in and enjoy the amazing beach, sun and views. Shacks Beach is the beach behind Villa Tropical. Its the only area for miles that does not have coral right up to the shoreline; aka, the only swimming area. The beach is white sand and the water is crystal clear.
Our goal was to relax so we didn't search out the many activities Jennifer told us about. We did go snorkeling a couple of times; it was great to just walk into the water and put our faces in and see fish. the coral was all around. I loved hearing the fish chomping away. We also enjoyed long strolls up and down the beach in the morning and especially late at night when we could see all the stars and listen to the crashing waves. For two meals we ate at Ola Lola's, the bar and grill down the street. What a fantastic little bar and grill! They had guests chefs every night just for the month. We're from Wisconsin... my husband was very impressed with their beer selection ;)
Jennifer had recommended we wine and dine ourselves at the near by fancy hotel/restaurant, Eclipse for at least one night, so we did. It was a short walk down the coral shore. It was fancy and delicious. we were so impressed that Jennifer would recommend a neighboring hotel for its services.
We can't wait to go back to Villa Tropical. It felt like a home away from home. Next time we will stay for longer in one of the first floor studio apartments to pinch the pennies or we'll take a few friends and rent one of the houses with mulitple bedrooms (also penny-pincher friendly). We are so impressed that Villa Tropical has so many [budget] options to choose from.

Overall trip: We were blown away with the exceptionally genuine friendship we felt with everyone we met there and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: the swimming 'hole' is right behind the office building so if you want to be close to it pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just spend a weekend at Villa Tropical with our children and grandchildren and it was unforgettable for all. We were 12 people in our party and we got villas R1 and R2 which was a wonderful choice for us since they are locate side by side with a huge deck overlooking the ocean. We were very courteously attended by Trevor and Jenniffer and their friendly staff. The apartments were spectacular, spic and span and tastefully decorated, also fully equipped with every convenience. But I have to say for me the best was the beach, it was right in front of our villa. If you needed anything from the villa you didn't need to go far, someone would throw it to you from the deck. Sooo nice and easy! At night we dined out but later we made a bonfire on the beach, played guitar, sang and had smores, the kids were in heaven and the parents too! We are returning next year.

Room Tip: Don't miss the ocean front villas, the views are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martagonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago. IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lie in the hammock on your balcony listening to the waves crash onto the beach. Watch the surfers in the morning. Snorkel right out front. Early morning walks on the beach. We stayed in Q3. Spectacular apartment. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrazeeChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Villa Tropical is a top-notch destination with no downsides unless you want hotel-style accommodations with hot and cold running servants. The units are totally modern, squeaky-clean, well-furnished and maintained, and several are within spitting distance (if you spit well) of the high-tide line. Even those units not quite that close are but a seconds' walk from the beach.

My wife and I just spent six nights in unit M1, a waterfront, one-bedroom unit. We fell asleep after a margarita at sunset on the porch and awoke to the sound of the surf on the beach and fixed our own breakfast of local fresh fruit as the sun rose out of the Atlantic.

Shacks Beach (where Villa Montana is located) is a prime destination for snorkel and SCUBA diving, wind surfing, kite surfing. There's board surfing available just down the beach - which is very nearly empty most of the time. The view across the reef is lovely at nearly all hours. There is a cable TV in the unit but we never turned it on. If you find yourself bored there it's your own fault.

We ran the air conditioner the first night, but not again, at all, night or day, after that. The sea breeze and ceiling fans provided ample cooling this time of year, with daytime temps in the 80s and nights in the 70s.

No, we do not own a piece of the action but wish we did. The place is better than advertised.

For a birds-eye look, go to Google Earth and search for Villa Tropical, Isabela, Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Pay the money and get an oceanfront unit; you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were in Puerto Rico for a wedding and chose to stay in the oceanfront apartments over the Villa Montana resort. Although the resort first caught my eye we decided that we wanted to wake up with a view of the ocean and make our own coffee in the morning. We stayed in Unit M4 which is the top level and recently renovated. The pictures on the website are EXACTLY like the apartment. We had friends who were staying in units in the same building and directly behind which made it nice to travel with people but not have to be on top of them in the same space!

We felt like we had the entire beach to ourselves. It was a bit rocky but there were two points just to the left or right of where we were staying where you could enter the water with no issues. You could also take 25 minute walks in either direction and feel like you were on a deserted island.

We will definitely go back to this location!

Room Tip: The top room, unit M4 did not share any walls or outside space with other people. This probably kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 4 in Aguadilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
66.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Property: Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing