We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Wanted to stay longer.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Fostoria OH
1 review
“Great place. Wanted to stay longer.”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights in R2, while my daugher and her boyfriend stayed in R1. The rooms are adjacent. This place isn't elegant, but the units are clean, and the beach is right out the door. We spent our time on the decks or on the beach, so who needs a fancy room? The beach is terrific. It's uncrowded, and it goes for miles. Great snorkeling right in front of the place. There are restaurants and stores nearby, and the neighborhood is quiet. Both units are equipped with gas grills, satellite TV, and adequate kitchens. The knives in the kitchens are very dull, however. My wife didn't like the place as well as I did, as she likes her vacations to be a little more posh, but we all had fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyFatToe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
103
143
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed 4 nights mid week early March and loved it. Value for money was excellent. Rooms are right on the ocean so can go for long walks on the beach out of your back door. Snorkelling is excellent with several blue holes in front of the villa (ask Trevor how to find them underwater). Surfing is close-by on Hobos beach. We bought food and alcohol in San Juan, incl fresh fish, and grilled fish and veg on the gas grill every night to the sound of waves crashing on the beach. We walked along the beach to the west & had drinks at the outdoor bar at the Villa next door (great pina coladas & mojitos). This is ideal for people who want a low-key beach vacation with local color and away from major tourist resports

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queens newyork
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

if you are looking for a quiet place to stay a place to relaxe then schacks is the place.at villa tropcial you have a very friendly staff.cookie the manager,know's the vaule of a custmor she goes out of her way.and goes the extra mile.i will return to villa tropcial.i hope the owner of villas tropcial read's this review and know that cookie is an assest to his company my husandand i work for starwood hotels, i would say that your staff gives their custmors a 5 star service. keep up the good work.virginia and manny moreira
03/15/2010,

Helpful?
Thank corchado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We were able to get a room/apartment here for one night- we stayed in Q5 which is called ocean view but really ocean peek (you can see the ocean but it's really an obscured view as this building is behind another). Doesn't matter much- great value for the price. If the future I would stay longer and get a full ocean front space- they looked very nice! And the added benefit of having a kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, etc is a great benefit for longer stays. Wish we had been there longer and had been able to take advantage of it.

The place we had was very clean, had free wifi, a large patio, and the bathroom was very nice- towels (plenty of them and soft) and bedding all smelled clean and fabric softener fresh- even the comforter. They had beach towels available to use and other equipment was free to use. Beach was nice- lots of snorkeling and shallow areas as well as surfing areas- also not at all crowded on the beach- lots of space to walk and enjoy the area.

Very detailed guide of things to do in the area, dining, and pretty much anything you might want to know written by the owner- but it's dated 2006 and seems like it could use some updating- we tried to find on restaurant that I think may no longer exist- but found plenty of other options within a short drive.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebops87018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

If you are looking for a great location in PR for a surf trip, this is it. It is only 10 minutes from Aguadilla airport. The ocean front units were booked, but we were only about 50 steps from the beach with a nice view (who sits inside anyway!). Shacks is right in front of Villa Tropical for a convenient an end of day surf session, there is snorkeling, diving and beach. Forget your mask and snorkel, or want a softboard for a grom traveling with you, you can get them right at VT.

Only about 5 minutes from Hang Loose Surf shop (great folks, with lessons if you need them!) While we were there they put in a new ocean front gas grill in case you don't want to eat out at any of local spots. 8 minutes from Playa Jobos (definitely hit Juniors Pizza) 15 minutes from Middles, 45 minutes (depending on traffic) from Rincon, about 10 minutes from surfers beach. Scuba shop about 8 miles

Grocery store in Isabela is about 20 minutes away.

If you are going to shoot pics of surfing, 400 mm lens is the minimum and you certainly would not be sorry if you bring a 500 or 600mm lens. But bring your wide angle and 18-105 zoom for the many other things you will want to remember.

If you want to find anything, VT left about 20 pages of things to do and places to go in the room, so if you want to go visit San Sebastien Waterfall... (by the way go!) don't worry the directions are right in the room! Anything you don't know, ask Trevor he does!

One final note, these are condo's if you are looking to be waited on in a 5-star hotel this is not your spot, I saw one review that panned VT as being OK for surfers... I think they missed the mark, I plan on going back with the whole family and not just the surf crowd next time...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCNJ_surf_photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Easy to get too from airport. Very relaxing place. The view is worth every dollar it is just great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gepipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise Id
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Nice facilities right at the beach. Apaarently they have a full range of accomidations. We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the waves at breakfast. The beach right in front of our room is unspoiled and the water clear and warm. Not sure where it gets better than this. Friendly folks family run

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 3 in Aguadilla
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
789 reviews
37.9 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
671 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Property: Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing