We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We loved staying here.We stayed in R1 and loved it. the view was amazing. The accommodations were very nice.Not fancy,but clean and serviceable. Great place to stay and see the area. The manager Trevor was great and recommended some great activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
102
143
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My wife and I really don't like big resorts, which is a lot of the reason we love Villa Tropical. Big resorts feel like tourist factories too much of the time. Villa Tropical strikes the perfect balance between a rental property (where you're on your own and are never sure of what you're getting) and a small resort. The managers/owners were lovely, and everyone was very helpful...but only when we needed them. The rest of the time we felt we had escaped to our own private getaway.
I originally dismissed Villa Tropical due to some negative reviews (that were either older, or about the less desirable units). We ended up staying in M3 and found it to be in great condition, with everything we needed. The biggest appeal is the area, which was perfect for walking the beach and snorkeling right in front of the property. Diving and good dining options were right nearby. A lot of people were surfing right out front as well.
If you're looking for a quite, relaxing, laid-back getaway that's on a great beach, this is one fantastic option.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank back2interstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Just a quick note for those who want to travel alone & have always been afraid. This is the place to go. I was made to feel like a family member by the owners...Trevor & Jennifer....They even made sure I was given a ride to the local grocery, as I didn't rent a car & it would have been a long walk. I felt very safe alone at night, walking the beach & going to the local bar for a beer. Villa Tropical would be my choice with or without other travelers. Every morning I awoke to a breath taking view of the ocean from my front door. It was less than a 2 minute walk to a clean beach over looking the "Blue Hole" where I spent 6 days enjoying the sun & sand & the peace of mind I was looking forward to. Special thanks to Vincent......maintance/gardner.....he became a close friend that made my stay even more special.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kittyskatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We came down to Villa Tropical for an extended weekend in Mid-October. This place was incredible. It was exactly what we were looking for. Its covers the following:

A. Its right on the beach. With an amazing deck that over looks the ocean, you can see the waves and reef right outside of your window.

B. Its 10min from the Airport in Aguadilla. So close! We landed at 11:30, and by 12:00, we were already on the beach. Its also close to places to eat, as well as numerous surf spots like Wilderness, Shacks, Jobos, and Middles.

C. Theres wi-fi. We were able to check the waves without having to go anywhere.

D. Villa Tropical has just about anything that you would need to rent for a very small price. This includes, but does not limit it to Snorkle Gear, Kayaks, Longboards, and Boogie Boards.

E. Trevor (Owner) is highly knowledgeable about everything in the area. If he suggests someplace, you should go there. He knows what he's talking about. Every place we ate at was recommended by Trevor.

F. Finally, the place was really nice. We had a full kitchen, and were able to grill out, and enjoy the view. There is an Econo (Grocery Store) right down the road from Villa Tropical, and we stocked up on Steaks, and Medalla's.

We're definitely thinking about our next trip back to PR and Villa Tropical. Though this was a "Guys Trip", all of our wives saw the pictures, and were immediately jealous, and want to come down. Thanks Trevor for everything. Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCSwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Isabela, Puerto Rico is BEAUTIFUL! My fiancé` and I stayed in a room by ourselves at Villa Tropical with a large group for a wedding. Some people shared rooms in large or small groups like 4 or 6. Villa Tropical was great for a big wedding party b/c it is close t everything so its easy to meet up with people if you split up to do your own thing. The rooms were clean, the furniture was like beach furniture, great lighting, tall ceilings, hammock on our patio, and outside seating. Comfy couches, tile floors, fast working AC units, stove, oven, fridge, cups, plates, utensils, blenders, etc. We were 10 feet or so from the beach. The view was amazing- long walks with beautiful scenes. We went to a total of 5 beaches; all beaches had beautiful and unique scenery- all different. Hobo beach had the best view. All beaches were within 10 minutes from Villa Tropical. If you are interested in surfing, water sports, water gear, scuba, etc, there are 3-4 places close by to rent equipment or purchase supplies or lessons. There is also a grocery store nearby where we purchased enough to make b-fast, eat snacks, and have light lunches, but we ate out for all of our dinners and some lunches because the food in Isabela, PR is AMAZING. The owner of Villa Tropical was very helpful; he gave us tips as far as where to go- definitely utilize the owners – there are a few – mike and trevor- each of them own different villas that are all together in the same “neighborhood”. Although the AC in the bedroom was awesome and the queen bed was big, my only complaint is that the bed was not very comfortable. That's why sleep quality gets 4 stars. After a day at the beach, i just passed out anyway, so it was not that big of a deal. The people are very friendly in Isabela, PR. It’s the only city on the island that has no court room and that’s b/c there is very little crime, something like 1 crime last year! Our car rental place told us that.  It definitely felt safe. It’s a surf town, so very chill. The internet was good; only went down once in 5 days, and that was for like 10 minutes. Sometimes we had to walk outside on our patio to get service with our phone or laptop, but it was not a nuisance or anything. Isabela, PR was one of the best vacations I have ever been on. Villa Tropical was comfortable, lots to do nearby, various beaches to choose from that are close, great food nearby, close to everything you need, relaxing rooms, great views, friendly staff, helpful. If I go to Isabela, PR again I would definitely stay at Villa Tropical. Please feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whippetlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We were going to Puerto Rico for some R& R over the holiday. Some friends (who live in P.R.) recommended Villa Tropical, saying that the apartments were oceanside- "right on the beach", wonderful owners and a great location! We found this all to be true and then some!! Loved sitting on our deck overlooking the ocean in the a.m. with our coffee, and then sitting there again late at night listening to the waves! Very relaxing. Had fun watching the surfers & "kite/board" surfers and going snorkling right outside our door. The apartment was in excellent shape (building "Q"), and had everything we needed to cook our own meals. The grounds were in great shape too.
An added note: it is just a short walk to a fantastic "little" bar - Ola Lola's - great food, drink & owners. We will return to Villa Tropical!
Would recommend this place for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArubaLover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We had struggled through 7 days of rain and heat and humidity with no air conditioning staying at a friends place outside Rincon and we needed relief when we ran into the owner of the Villa Tropical on a boat trip- and it was the answer to our prayers. The location outside of Isabela was perfect for us - it has one pf the best snorkeling beaches in Puerto Rico and very close to the airport. We arrived at the apratment and saw the view from the spacious deck and just loved it. The accomodations were clean and neat, with all the essentials, air conditioning, full kitchen, great TV and wi-fi - and they even have back-up generators for when the electric goes out ( which it did!)- and the price was reasonable for an oceanfront apartment. The snorkeling from the beach is amazing and so convenient - just walk off the deck and you are on a picturesque sandy beach. I wished we had stayed here for our entire vacaction and not just the last 3 days. There is also a great little eatery called Ola Lola's that is within walking distance and had the best pina coladas and burgers and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The Villa Tropical has an ideal location - the airport is less than 10 minutes away and it is easy access to the highway to get to other places on the island. I would definitely return and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winendiningduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 4 in Aguadilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
66.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Property: Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Puerto Rico/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing