We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable place to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda El Jibarito
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We reserved the villa for 2 nights, which making reservation were quite difficult because they lady could barely speak english. Upon arrival the place look beautiful from lobby area. When we check in my husband notice that they had all my info incorrect. Once received location villa, upon entering the villa which was in the evening, it was HOT inside, light bulbs burnt out. The couch in front living room had rips in middle of it and was all sunken in on sitting flat on floor. Not legs on couch. There was only one ac in one room. Was never told or stated in website that only one room has ac. Due to our son who has bad allergies and condition of room we returned back to lobby to ask for another villa, room etc but they claim they had no more rooms available. We then asked for a refund and they refunded only the second night but refused to refund the first nigh of $248. My husband asked for manager and they stated come back tomorrow to speak to manager. When we returned next day the lady said manager does not work weekends and to come back Monday. We had other days reserves at Ramey Base. Monday morning husband called and spoke to manager and she stated that they will not refund us because it was not 3 days before reservation. Over priced and bad customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SgtAlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

A group of friends stayed here for four days. The place is great with a clean main building and pool area. The breakfast and the cafe employees are great. I stayed at a villa duplex that was okay not great. We killed two roaches one night. If you go try to stay at the rooms of the main building. The guy(male) at the front desk needs more training and skills with unforseen situations.
The restaurant at the hotel is expensive, we drive at route 111 towards the San Sebastian town to Manhattan cafe for dinner one night and to Conuco de Cuca for lunch twice, they are great , inexpensive and with a superb food offering.

Room Tip: stay at the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carlos m. r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My family stayed in one of the hotel suites with a porch. The room and hotel were charming. The location is beautiful. The breakfast was plentiful. There is a restaurant on site that prepares great food. There are outdoor activities, great for families. We really enjoyed ourselves and would stay again.

Room Tip: We really liked our porch, so we recommend booking a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reader71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

In january my co-workers and our families decided to get together and have lunch at the Hacienda El Jibarito Hotel. There restaurant, Cultura Toro Al'diente seemed like a nice place to get together and share some time with our families.
The hotel is beautifully kept and the pool area was verry becoming. As we arrived at the restaurant area, no one came to greet us or help us find seats. Our group was made up of 15 people. Finally after sking for some help they showed us to a group of tables wich were placed together akwardly hardly giving us space to seat down. After an hour finally someone took our order and brought us a small pitcher of water which wasnet enough for our group. After another hour they told us that part of the food we ordered was not available. Making us verry uneasy, but we were already there together we didnt think it was a good idea to leave and start looking for another place to eat. We had 7 chidren with us that were tired from waiting and hungry. After one hour later the food started arriving. Half the complements were missing, the meats were uncooked, the mofongo stuffed with seafood had only one shrimp and two clams(this cost $45!), some of the children never received there orders. The mangement didnt care about our complaints and the waiters cared less. Our children were verry disapointed because they liked to stay in the future at the hotel, but after such a bad experience we dont plan on going back.

Room Tip: If the restaurant was bad, you cant expect much from the service at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Reserved at Hacienda El Jibarito from 7 February thru 9 February for my birthday. Arrived there and everything was fine. The room was not the best, but acceptable. The facilities are great the area even better. The problem was on the 8th when we got up, there were dead roaches on the shower floor and the main room area. I went to get assistance at the main desk and all i got was a response that they had spray the rooms for bugs recently "and they are comming out". No other options were given to us at the desk. I had bought a coupon special and the clerk told me I had to complain to the coupon place to get my money backI wrote to them also with no responce from neither one of them. Of course I checked out of the place and left immediately.
They also had a cat walking around the Cafe food preparation area!

Room Tip: If you do not like roaches do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndia1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I spent the weekend here and it was the worst. Rooms smelled, leaking airconditioners. Service was horrible. Will never go back . Dogs drinking water out of the pool and sleeping on the grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The grounds and building are gorgeous, the local scenery is fantastic, and the food and drink we had were top notch. In the upstairs restaurant we had a cevichi that was crazy good, best I ever had, and the Sangria was out of this world. The waiter sat down and talked to us for half an hour, answering our many questions about Puerto Rico and asking about our home town in the states which he was going to visit in a week or so. We also had breakfast food in the coffee shop downstairs, it was very nice. We left with a great feeling and will stay here for at least a couple nights if we return to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chuckinaroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sebastian
14.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
14.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
10.2 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
7.9 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Jibarito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Jibarito

Address: Sta, San Sebastian 00685-7004, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Sebastian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda El Jibarito 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda El Jibarito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Jibarito Hotel San Sebastian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing