We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend or return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda El Jibarito
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not recommend or return”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The photos look great and the promises sound good, but the follow-through is awful. Hot tub was freezing, indoor pool so cold you couldn't stand in the water let alone swim. Steps were rickety in dire need of repair, everyone in our wedding group (about 20 people) wound up covered in "no-see-um" bites, no screens for windows or patio doors, shower was barely "not cold" never got warm, let alone hot, horses were poorly attended to and started bucking while being ridden, not enough towels and we were told they couldn't give any extras because they were "in the dryer". Need I continue? It's really too bad, you can tell this was once a beautiful place. If the owners put any effort into maintenance and building their business, it could be a wonderful place to stay and would invite return visits. As is, find a place to stay where your carribean vacation will be all that you hope for.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any of the rooms. I stayed in a suite, really just a poorly lit room with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertieC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    18
    18
    28
See reviews for
47
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Once I arrived I was amazed on how beautiful and well kept it was. They have an amazing indoor pool. The outside pool was clean and well kept. The grounds are beautiful and the good, the food is just exquisite. The rooms are very clean. The don't have a mini fridge. I will really recommend this Hacienda!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank isheral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is something different, not the city life. The place its great but recommended for people who are trying to rest or just hace a little of peace. You can smeel the home made coffee and enjoy the waterfalls that you can go walking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeamP_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was in the hotel and I was surprised with the beauty of the place.after I made the check-in with Waldemar who is a great person and I think the only good and proper one. I was amazed with the peace of the mountains. I saw many things that I didn't like I saw a tall man near the inside pool speaking so loud that bothers!! The restaurant was always closed!!! They have two birds in the area of casa cafe so antigenic!! I don't recommend the place at all!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leilarosa_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We reserved the villa for 2 nights, which making reservation were quite difficult because they lady could barely speak english. Upon arrival the place look beautiful from lobby area. When we check in my husband notice that they had all my info incorrect. Once received location villa, upon entering the villa which was in the evening, it was HOT inside, light bulbs burnt out. The couch in front living room had rips in middle of it and was all sunken in on sitting flat on floor. Not legs on couch. There was only one ac in one room. Was never told or stated in website that only one room has ac. Due to our son who has bad allergies and condition of room we returned back to lobby to ask for another villa, room etc but they claim they had no more rooms available. We then asked for a refund and they refunded only the second night but refused to refund the first nigh of $248. My husband asked for manager and they stated come back tomorrow to speak to manager. When we returned next day the lady said manager does not work weekends and to come back Monday. We had other days reserves at Ramey Base. Monday morning husband called and spoke to manager and she stated that they will not refund us because it was not 3 days before reservation. Over priced and bad customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SgtAlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A group of friends stayed here for four days. The place is great with a clean main building and pool area. The breakfast and the cafe employees are great. I stayed at a villa duplex that was okay not great. We killed two roaches one night. If you go try to stay at the rooms of the main building. The guy(male) at the front desk needs more training and skills with unforseen situations.
The restaurant at the hotel is expensive, we drive at route 111 towards the San Sebastian town to Manhattan cafe for dinner one night and to Conuco de Cuca for lunch twice, they are great , inexpensive and with a superb food offering.

Room Tip: stay at the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlos m. r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My family stayed in one of the hotel suites with a porch. The room and hotel were charming. The location is beautiful. The breakfast was plentiful. There is a restaurant on site that prepares great food. There are outdoor activities, great for families. We really enjoyed ourselves and would stay again.

Room Tip: We really liked our porch, so we recommend booking a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reader71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sebastian
7.9 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
299 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
9.1 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
152 reviews
30.1 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Jibarito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Jibarito

Property: Hacienda El Jibarito
Address: Sta, San Sebastian 00685-7004, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Sebastian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda El Jibarito 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda El Jibarito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Jibarito Hotel San Sebastian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing