We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho Luna”
Review of Hotel Rancho Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rancho Luna
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a wonderful week here. The food is ok with lots of choices, including many Cuban foods. There is a local bus, taken by Cubans, just in front of the hotel. We took this bus into Cienfuegos four times during our one week stay. The cost of the bus ride is two pesos( not convertible peso, but moneda nacional, so it work out to be less than ten cents US).
Horse back riding costs three convertible pesos if you want to ride outside of the resort. Within the resort, it is free. The horse ride is worth it. The trip lasts about one hour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank raf c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I've been to this hotel 6-7 times; enough to be able to evaluate it properly. This is a bad hotel. The fact that it is categorized as a 2.5 star hotel does not justify the poor service, the dirty conditions around the pool, the very loud music at all hours of the day, the disinterested staff. There are some good people working there but the "mood" of the hotel comes from management. If you want a cheap "vacation" (and I use that term loosely) go there; but only during the off-season. Stay away during peak season. They may get the message; but I doubt it. There are better places in Cuba.

Room Tip: First floor room. These rooms have a small terrace and face the ocean. Second floor rooms are smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank k_wfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Think of all the roadside motels you've stayed at. A flop that serves a purpose, but nothing you would consider a destination.

Rancho Luna is a good base camp for exploring the region. The excursions are reasonably priced... El Nicho is a "must see", and Cienfuegos as a French-designed city is a good day.

The buffet will give you a chance to sample food not normally encountered at AI's... rabbit, stewed goat, beef tongue. Service is geared towards an increasingly Cuban clientèle and their lowered expectations. Bureaucratic, not "unfriendly", but not customer oriented. It starts at the front desk... The word "Passport" must be Cuban for "Welcome". Just joking,.. sort of. That was the extent of my conversation when I arrived, and I can speak passable Spanish.

Alerted to increased risk of theft (see earlier reviews), I checked my windows in both rooms I was given ( I refused the first one due to isolated location)... as was mentioned in earlier reviews all windows were unlatched. Curious. I encountered no theft issues (I have a nanny cam for travel), and the maid would not even take the tips I was leaving. In a conversation with her she stated she would not touch anything that she was unsure of. So perhaps they're trying to respond to the theft reports.

Passing through for a few days, I had no particular issues with this "motel" as I'm quite experienced with "life on the road". But if you're looking for a standard tourist AI, make sure you do a careful cost-benefit analysis to ensure this place matches your own expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nestuapuguei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The rooms have roaches and a lot of humidity I had to get it change, twice. Service is terrible and the food is just horrible.
Ok, I went during low season in Cuba, but this doesn't justify the poor elaboration of the scarce options at the buffet and the low quality of the service, just looking for tips.
The beach is ok, let's say, but no beach bar was working although I saw the security staff drinking beer behind the bar that said "closed" what???1?!!?
I really do not recommend this hotel, maybe during high season is a bit better but is just horrible.
Alongside the coast there some particular houses, I went there next day first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Just go to a Particular house instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Liza j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

No running water, uncomfortable beds, air conditioning was poor, I wouldn't touch the food as there were flies everywhere. We had an agency book our accommodation, and if I had on done it myself I would have not stayed here, but didn't think an agency would put us in a horrible place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank TorCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have been to "The Ranch" over a dozen times and have found it in June/2013 to have deteriorated to unacceptable levels. Every day no water at the hotel. Sometimes 10 minutes, sometimes 4 hours and on the last day for 12hours (read no shower for the flight) Not a 3 star hotel by any stretch. Unplanned water outages happen in Cuba but it was the fact that they did not tell us that the water was going off on a planned outage. Other pet pives included them switching beer availability from the poolbar to the lobby bar and vise versa . Not that they ran out, just stopped serving on a whim.
No food at the pool bar until 3pm and no food at the beach bar.
I counted 32 flies (and stopped counting) at the lunch table on a rather bad and hot day.
The only consolation is with this 'service',,,, that even the Cubans are staying away

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BMW620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I have travelled to this area of uba many times.
Went in the end of May. Yes it is very quiet at this time of the year. It the off season.
Still had a great time. This the best all in hotle in the area. Night life is only a 10 min.
$10.00 cab ride. No girls of the night staying at this hotel. Still many older men looking
for younger women but where in the world does is not happen. If you see cuban at the hotle
they pay just like the rest of us and indeed it is there country. No drugs, no guns and only great cubans. I have been robbed at gun point in the DR in the mid afternoon.
You should always take the locked up safe in your room at $10.00 a week. Lock up your
passport and money and cell phones and cams. I take a bike lock and chain up the
closet also.
I high season there are many trips to go on but in June you are on your own. But locals cuban
drivers will take you any place you want to go.
The pool bar has always closed at 700pm since the last year.
The main food buffet was closed druing the lunch time but the beach bar was open.
Also if you are worried about been robbed in your room just take an 2nd smaller room upstarirs.
If you want to go out there is a different dico eachnight in town just ask your cuban tacie driver what place is best that night.
The right desk is very helpful but they are always short of cuban cash and the best if to change your money first at the airport and then just go to main bank in the centre of town to change more money about 1 cent better.
There is a Russian Hotel nearby and across the bay is a Spanish Fort.
And also Vladimiro at the main cafeteria is a long term friend and you can ask him and
the pool guy Luis for anything or any questions of Cuban.
Went to a ball game with Luis. There is samll store next to games room and you can buy imported Beer for $2.00éeach and if you do like the same plastic cups for the hotel beer then you must not know that it is like that at all the other places and resorts in Cuba.
Most guys bring a large trael mug with them for the beer and large rum and coke drinks.
There are hotel cameras set up and watched for your safety. So if you do not lock up your cell phones and cameras in our safe in your room you are on your own.
The Hola Sun is the best rep. that I have ever met and most times your are lucky to see the rep. at the hotel durng the trip. The only time I saw some men get mad at him when he told them at they has to pay for 3 day min. to bring someone back t the hotel and then they wanted him to find
him some women and he explainded to thme that they were on there own and he got give them directions to the local bars in town. here is local Cuban Pizze place across from the Union Hotle but no sing out side but mid-point in the sreet ofr just ask a cuban where the Pizza Nova is great food and great prices.
Heading back on the long week-end in September

Going back on the long weekend in September.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great but take an upper 2nd room if you are concerned about your personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank max010145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
6.5 mi away
Jagua Hotel By Melia
Jagua Hotel By Melia
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
932 reviews
3.4 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#3 of 6 in Cienfuegos
170 reviews
32.2 mi away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 1 in Playa Ancon
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
22.4 mi away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
114 reviews
33.8 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Luna

Address: Carretera Rancho Luna, km 18, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range: £36 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rancho Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rancho Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Luna Cienfuegos
Rancho Luna Hotel
Rancho Luna Cuba
Hotel Rancho Luna Cuba/Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing