We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Carmen y Daniel

Casa Carmen y Daniel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Carmen y Daniel
Ranked #79 of 135 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights with my girlfriend and we absolutely love it.
Everyone from family is very nice and helpful.Have to say we had proper food from all stay on Cuba(month)just in Casa Carmen y Daniel.We are vegetarians and there wasn't any problem whatever like in others casas.The breakfast and dinners was just delicious!!!Daniel and his daughter Eleina are master chefs.Will recomend this casa on 100%.thanks very much P&L.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levap1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed with Daniel and Carmen in Vinales for 4 days between 27th and 31st December 2011.
The casa was easy enough to find from where we got dropped off by the bus. Vinales town isn't a big place so the casa was about 5 minutes’ walk from the main square.
We arrived and were greeted with a very warm welcome and Daniel made us a Mojito as a welcoming drink. He makes by far the best Mojito that I had in my 3 weeks travelling around Cuba. There are two rooms off of a dining courtyard area with rocking chairs and a dinner table. Our room was smallish but was comfortable and clean. It contained a double bed, a single bed and an en-suite shower room as well as a fan and air conditioning. There can be a bit of noise in the morning with horses and cockerels but this is to be expected as you are in the countryside. This was the same where ever we stayed. Cuba isn't a quiet country.
During our stay we ended up eating in the casa every night as the food was far superior to any restaurant we had eaten in so far on our stay. Every morning we had breakfast that consisted of a fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed fruit juice, fantastic coffee, bread and a choice of omelette, plain or with ham or tomato or cold meat and cheese. Every day we had a choice of meats that we wanted for dinner such as pork, chicken or fish. One night we were made lobster in a spicy tomato sauce which was great and most meals were served with rice, salad, beans in a sauce and then something sweet to finish it off.
While we were there Daniel and Carmen celebrated their 38th wedding anniversary and asked us along with the other guests to join them for a family celebration dinner. This was an amazing experience and a fantastic night. A full pig was slaughtered, marinated and then cooked over charcoals to produce the most amazing tasting pork. This teamed with beer, mojitos and lots of laughter was the highlight of our holiday.
Daniel and Carmen's daughter and her husband also stay with the family and they have a teenage daughter and the most adorable little boy called Daniel Little who is such a character and brings a lot of life to the casa. They also have a gorgeous dog who is very timid called Johnny.
Daniel and Carmen don't speak much English and we don't really speak much Spanish but this wasn't a problem during our stay with them. We always managed to get the jist of what the other one was saying and they also have some lovely neighbours who speak English if we were really stuck.
During our stay Daniel arranged for his neighbour Myra to take us on a trek one day. Myra is one of their neighbours and speaks fantastic English. We went with her for a trek up the hills in the Vinales valley. Her dad has a farm there and we met some of her family and stopped at a family members house near the top of the hill and were offered juice and coffee and given some fresh fruit. The views when we reached the top were amazing and Myra is very knowledgeable about the area. I would definitely recommend Myra to take you on a tour while you are there.
Daniel and Carmen's casa also has a roof terrace with some amazing views and although it was the cheapest of all the casas we stayed in throughout our time in Cuba it was by far the best. It is definitely the people who make it as well as the fantastic cooking.
Even though we were only here for 4 days it was a sad experience saying goodbye to Daniel and Carmen. We grew very close to them during our stay and if I am ever in Cuba again they will be my first port of call.
If you are looking for a place that’s clean, affordable, offers good food and that’s run by a loving and welcoming family then you have to stay here, I wouldn't have a second thought about recommending this casa to anyone.

Please getin touch if you have any questions that you would like me to answer about this casa.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanneod84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed with Daniel and Carmen for four nights and they were the most gracious and hospitable hosts. Their family was welcoming, always going the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The view from the rooftop was fantastic, and the outdoor dining area (rocking chairs included) was perfect for enjoying the evening breeze whilst stuffing our faces with the abundant spread that Daniel served us every evening. And his Mojitos! The best we had in Cuba. Amazing people, and a wonderful stay. Definitely added to our love of Cuba :)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed at Casa Carmen y Daniel for 4 nights from 13th to 17th of December and can recommend this place to everyone! Nice and clean room, really friendly hosts and excellent food (and there was plenty of it, so there is a risk of overeating if staying at this casa. Been there, done that ;) Many greetings to Carmen y Daniel from Finland!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cienfuegos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Islazul Yaguanabo
Villa Islazul Yaguanabo
#120 of 135 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen y Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen y Daniel

Property: Casa Carmen y Daniel
Address: Vinales, Pasaje Camilo Cienfuegos No. 54, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen y Daniel Cuba/Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing