We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely terrace!”
Review of Hostal Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Colonial
Ranked #13 of 138 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napoli
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The house is well located near the center, with a wonderful terrace where to stay and drink good cocktails. It's a pity they do not organise dinner on the terrace! Breakfast and dinner are great with a lot of food and the hosts always at our disposal for suggestions and needs. The room have a window on a small corridor and ours was near the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy in the morning whilest they prepared breackfast. Better to ask for another one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    47
    23
    10
    16
See reviews for
34
126
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Perfect location, great food, lovely people! Especially the terrasse is beautiful and gives you a very private room to relax and chill after a lovely day in Cienfuegos. The best place to stay! Look no further.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safra100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We slept here for two nights and we enjoyed our stay! The building is very big and you can relax yourself in three or four different patios with a nice view of the city.
The food is very very good and Pepe and the family are very very friendly, always ready to helps us with suggestions.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Upon arriving we were shown another room than booked. On the rooftop is some sort of suite-room. It is more expensive than the "regular" rooms. After refusing to pay for this room we were shown to another room. Smaller. Much smaller. Since there is just 2 of us that was not a problem. What was a problem was the fact that Pepe seems to think we are money machines. He got rather upset when we refused to large room, and even quite angry when we did not have dinner in the casa. Next morning Isabel (?) tried to push some other casa on to us in the next town, when we declined she also was getting annoyed and had a hard time finding change.

English is not available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank novw_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at this hostel/casa as it was on one of our traveling guides. I seriously don't understand why it was included in the guide and surely don't understand the award of excellence on TripAdvisor! We had a very bad experience at Pepe's and I understand it was similar to the experience another reviewer had a couple of reviews further down.

First of all, the room was not clean. When we entered, we noticed that the toilet had not been cleaned at all (and I mean the actual toilet) as it was stained. Then, I saw that the bathroom sink was blocked as someone (probably the cleaner who had just 'cleaned' the room) had thrown the contents of the ashtray in the sink! We saw the cigarette butts because they could not go down the pipe and they were stuck on the plug hole. I immediately walked out of the room to inform Pepe and ask that someone takes care of it. He basically tried to accuse us of throwing the cigarette butts in the sink! At the end, he realized it was his cleaner's fault and apologized. However, he didn't do any further gesture to rectify the bad impression.

The room's furniture was colonial but old, worn out and dated and the huge Cuban cockroaches wandered around the room. Our room was on the main corridor as you go in and it was very dark.

The food was very mediocre. My boyfriend had pork once which was too hard to chew and I seriously suspect that it was a jutia (a type of countryside rat which Cubans used to eat and whose meat taste like pork but it is very hard).

I asked Pepe for some additional services and he directed me to his wife as I needed some ironing. His wife was very unwilling to iron my trousers (we would of course pay for this additional service). When she gave me back my trousers I couldn't really see any difference from the previous condition.

Pepe was very pushy throughout our stay. He was trying to convince us to eat at his casa instead of a restaurant as according to him none of the restaurants were good and they were also expensive. He insisted that he arranged our accommodation in Trinidad at his friend's casa. At the end, we agreed on checking out the casa once we would get there. However, I have to say that his friend's house was very good and very clean unlike Pepe's casa.

When we checked out and paid for our stay, we needed 2-3 CUC change. Apparently, Pepe thought that he deserved a tip and was not very happy that we expected the change. He disappeared for 20 min and when he returned he brought us the change in the smallest coins he could find....like a bag of them. Really lame.

The only good thing about Colonial was a Mirador (viewpoint) that it had from which you could get nice views over the city. However, this did not outweigh the negative points by any means.

We stayed in so many casas around Cuba and I know how good they can be in terms of cleanliness, service etc. This was the only bad experience we had regarding accommodation, so I would advise people to avoid casa Colonial!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M, Propietario at Hostal Colonial, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
El cliente escribio su critica de forma muy agresiva contra los propietarios de la casa, las cosas no sucedieron como se exponee y por tanto pido a la pagina que la eliminen de nuestros comentarios ya que no estamos de acuerdo con lo que escribio, es decir, que no es verdad lo que puso. Fue un poco para no decir bastante duro en algunas cosas que escribio como del mobiliario, que a pesar de ser antiguo se encuentra en perfectas condiciones, la comida de la casa es reconocida por muchos clientes pues las cocineras tienen una experiencia muy buena, se habla con los clientes por la opción que hay en la casa de cena pero si estos no la quieren es una opción más, Escribio palabras obsenas que no tienen nada que ver con esta pagina ni con nuestra casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

we spent only one night at this house I have to say that it is a nice place. Pepe and his wife are very delight. they have a great network of connection among a lot of houses in Cuba.
the casa is more like an hotel because they have several rooms. we stayed on the ground floor that it was good, but we stayed there in December, probably during summer time you will prefer the rooms on the top floor.
the cusine is very nice, breakfast is the most abbundant I ve tried on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We really did not like this place at all. Our room ( off the main corridor) was very noisy, and beds very uncomfortable. We found Pepe to be VERY pushy and basically forced us to eat at his kitchen as all the other restaurants were 'not good and very expensive'. He initially told us dinner was $6 but charged us $10 pp at check-out which is outrageous considering the quality of the food was average. Had no way of rectifying this as he cannot speak any English at all so negotiations were not possible. He told us to stay at his friends house in Trinidad and was not happy when we said we had our own accommodation. He went ahead and booked his friends accommodation anyway and when we got to Trinidad there was someone holding our names up at the bus stop!!! we felt this was completely inappropriate for Pepe to do and we felt that all he cared about the whole time we were there was to get money out of us and take a commission by referring us to drivers,accommodation etc. He was VERY pushy.
Finally the other incident that occurred whilst we were there was Pepe had a significant altercation with a female one day and he was yelling and berating her whilst she screamed and cried. This went on for some time. We don't know who the female was but the incident made everyone feel uncomfortable given it occurred in public and was so loud. We felt this was very disturbing and unprofessional. Overall not a good experience and would not stay here again nor would we recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank KatFromAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M, Propietario at Hostal Colonial, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
Tal vez por el mismo idioma no me puede comunicar con los clientes como debía, pues teniamos una situación familiar grave en esos momentos, pero la cena de la casa es en 10.00 CUC y en 6.00 CUC es la vegetariana. El altercado al que se refiere con una femina es mi madre que tiene la enfermedad de Alzheimer, perdida de memoria ese es el problema familiar que tenia en casa, y por eso tal vez me vieron actuar de esa forma, pero lo unico que queria era ayudarlos y que se sientieran a gusto en casa. Le pedimos diusculpas a los clientes por lo ocurrido y que por favor eliminen esa parte de su opinion pues son problemas familiares que nadie tienen porque enterarse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
31.7 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
86.8 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
37.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colonial

Property: Hostal Colonial
Address: Ave. 52 No. 4318 | Between 43 & 45, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed in Lonely Planet Cuba 2009 ed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Colonial Cuba/Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing