We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming under the waterfall.”

Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Cienfuegos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swimming under the waterfall.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The perfect half day trip if you stay somewhere around Cienfuegos and Trinidad. Up in the hills, I think one of the higher mountainous regions in Cuba, you'll find a little park with a 2km foot trail, amenities, and absolutely gorgeous views and natural pools under the waterfalls. Water temperature is quite cool, I guess around 20 degrees Celsius), so it's perfect for a refreshing splash in the water (most Cuban waters are more like outside temperature).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver_Meyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    277
    75
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Think of beautiful green turkoise blue pools in the middle of tropical vegetation and you got El Nicho! Nice to take a swim, however the water is cooler than you might expect. Also the paths are modernised and they made it easy paths now. Still a nice place to visit for about 2 hours. If you thought you could hike around in the area, nowadays that is impossible, because the water on the mountain is used to provide the people for drinkwater, so it's forbidden to come there. So don't expect this as a daytour, unless you want to swimm for all day long here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joost N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we recently went to see the waterfalls, and it had been raining the day before so the water was running down rather fast but still beautiful, even though you got soaked from the spray!! adds to the fun! I don't like heights so I stayed by the waterfall rather than go up to the top which was a steep climb but my family say the views are lovely,it looks nice on the photo's ! we didn't take our swimsuits etc so we didn't go in the water but a few people were in the water and it looked a lot of fun, it's well worth the 9 cuc entrance for the views, there is also a restaurant for food and drinks too ,near to the car park, this was our 2nd visit and would recommend, its lovley

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice waterfall, natural swimmingpool”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you look for a nice waterfall without the need to walk a lot this is perfect. From the parking it's about 750 meters walk through the forest. Don't be afraid of cold water and bring mosquito spray.
Near the parking is a restaurant for drinks and food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JW-RDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Beautiful.

Well worth the drive and the 9 CUC entrance per person.

Take a swimming suit and swim under the waterfalls.

The drive up to el Nicho is very beautiful and picturesque.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Nicho Waterfalls also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 

Been to El Nicho Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing