We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amigo de Barcelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amigo de Barcelo
Ranked #39 of 136 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The casa Amigo de Barcelo is located just 2 blocks from the Viazul station and about a 10-15 minute walk to the Prado and José-Marti square. We liked that Cienfuegos in general and the quarter of this casa were not so touristy and more authentic than other parts of Cuba.

The casa itself was a good standard and the roof-top terrace very nice to have your breakfast or dinner at. Compared to other casas the service was very professional but on the other side made you feel more like being in a restaurant and not in a family-run casa. The portions at dinner were quite big, the taste varied according to what you ordered. I definitely can recommend the lobster, not so much the fish.

The rooms seem to be refurbished and are very spacy and clean. Only the air condition is extremely loud.The casa owners are nice and helpful but seem also very keen that you book all tours etc. over them. We also recommend that you inform about the prices for drinks at dinner etc. in advance and keep track on what you had to prevent any discussions at the end. We were really surprised that we had to pay almost 40 CUC for drinks and we consumed really moderately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vreni80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed two nights at Amigo de Barcelo in April and had a great time. A good location, short walk to the bus station but also easy to reach the majority of the things to see and do. We had an excellent seafood dinner on the 2nd night's stay. They gave good recommendations of places to see and on departure helped us find a direct coach to Vinales with needing to change in Havana.

Room Tip: if it is available the one with two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We really enjoyed the night we stayed with Maile - she is incredibly warm and friendly, with a huge smile, a great bar, ginormous breakfasts, and the best shower in Cuba. Air conditioning unit was modern and efficient, rooms were beautiful, terrace was lovely at sunset.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a really sweet guesthouse, walking distance from where most of the buses drop you in Cienfuegos. The family who run it are very welcoming & you will feel immediately at home. Our room, which had two double beds & an attached bathroom were extremely clean. The terrace where they serve dinner is wonderfully relaxing and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotapplepear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

It's a great house, very clean and perfumed, Maile and Peter cater very well. The food is very tasty and plentiful. Very comfortable beds. I love that house. And my girlfriend and I are sure we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a beautiful,centrally located very clean house with a lovely staff and family. We stayed in the room towards the front of the house on the second floor with private stairs and sitting area
were they have a table were they served us breakfast. The house has a rooftop terrace with kitchen facilities and two exceptional ladies who prepare dinner. The ambience is divine. Maile and her husband Pedro are just wonderful and warm people, they open their home and hearts to visitors and make you feel like a special part of their family. Pedro offers his tour guide services and driver only to guests staying in his house, we explored Cienfuegos through his expertise. We give this house 5 stars and beyond, no better place to stay in Cienfuegos.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We could not add anything to the best of the previous reviews, just to say that this is the best Casa we stayed in in Cuba. The food was wonderful, and plentiful, to the extent that we had to ask for smaller breakfasts! The ambiance on the terrace has to be experienced to be believed. Maile claims to make "the best mojita in Cuba" (as do many others), and she could be right!.

Jim & Ann,
Belfast

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cienfuegos hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cubanacan Boutique La Union
1.7 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Faro Luna
Hotel Faro Luna
#3 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.8 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Islazul Yaguanabo
Villa Islazul Yaguanabo
#120 of 136 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo de Barcelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo de Barcelo

Property: Amigo de Barcelo
Address: Ave. 56A #4116 / 41 & 43, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amigo De Barcelo Cuba/Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing