We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ovepriced not good for lunch !”
Review of El Tranvia - CLOSED

El Tranvia
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Rex, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ovepriced not good for lunch !”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went there for lunch on June, it was empty , the restaurant looks old,I did not like it neither my friends.
Maybe is better in the evenings when the sun is going down and you can contemplate the sunset. I don't recommend this restaurant. I prefer (El cocinero Paladar) en Rancho Luna.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    62
    8
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I am ready to go back.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fun place to eat delicious food with great service and good live music.
The manager made my party of sixteen feel extra special.
Hope we can return soon. Ask for Leslie, she is the best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun night”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friend and I found this restaurant by accident while searching for another. It is in an excellent location We were greeted at the door by an enthusiastic young lady named Leslie who spoke English better than me. She explained that everyone was dressed in clothing worn by transit workers of 50 years ago because they were celebrating the 50th anniversary of trams in the city. We sat outdoors on the 2nd floor and were entertained by a group playing Cuban music and moving from table to table. The fish and the chicken were tasty; the presentation was excellent; the service was friendly and efficient; and the atmosphere was festive. Above all, the level of cleanliness was quite notable. Even the bathrooms were clean and had soap and toilet paper. The price was a little higher than my previous dining experience but well worth the extra 2 CUC. There were several other tourists dining at the same time but I did not feel that it was a 'tourist trap'. I will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loimir, Owner at El Tranvia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
thank you for visiting our restaurant and for leaving a comment, we love when people like you appreciate a good place and then congratulate us. thank you also for recomending us and i´m sure that you will visit us next time you come to Cienfuegos. we´ll be waiting...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friendly large restaurant on the main street. We ate on the roof - good food, service and live music

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loimir, Owner at El Tranvia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
thank you for visiting our Restaurant and for leaving a comment, we do our best to make our costumers feel like home. i´m very glad to read comments from people like you that knows how to appreciate good food, professional service and the fun of the Cuban music. thank you very much for choosing us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stopped here for lunch on a very hot day in April while passing through Cienfuegos. We wanted seafood and we decided to go in to this restaurant, and it didn't disappoint.
The service was great, there was a beautiful breeze that blew through the restaurant to cool us down and the food was really delicious. We had shrimp and fish and finished with the caramel flan.
The owner came over and introduced himself and made us feel very welcome.
This was among the best meals we had in Cuba.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3-Bags-Full-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loimir, Owner at El Tranvia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
thank you for visiting our restaurant and for your wonderful comment, it feels good to know that there are people like you who knows how to notice a good place and knows how to appreciate the Cuban weather at the same time.... i would like you to know that we do our best to make costumers feel like home... thank you also for recommending us and we hope to have you again at "El Tranvia" some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tranvia also viewed

Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing