We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep - the lift still isn't working!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cubanacan Boutique La Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
San Francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yep - the lift still isn't working!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

But that's the only thing not wonderful about the hotel. They carried our bags up for us; it's wasn't a hard wallk anyway. The pool was beautifully clean and well-cared for and a perfect place to unwind at the end of a hot day of touring. We enjoyed Cienfuegos immensely - we found the art community welcoming (there are lots of galleries and workshops to browse through) and the restored buidlings were a visual pleasure. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and it has a great central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the main street, if you are sensitive to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMFSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    305
    138
    35
    16
See reviews for
101
362
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

It's Cuba so standards here are not the same as home. But this is a great colonial hotel in the heart of the city. Only worth visiting for a night or two. Pool area is very nice. great little bar over the road.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

On reading the other reviews I notice that the lift has been out of working order for quite some time, also Febuary 2014 when we stayed there. But this is my only negative comment about the hotel. Of all the hotels we stayed in Cuba, this was our favourite.
The plusses include: excellent location, tastefully restored hotel, good breakfast buffet, lovely swimming pool, lovely shaded patios, yes, there are several to choose from. Our room was nice, with good beds and one of my favourite highlights is that they served excellent cappuccino!. Our car was parked in a secure parking accross the street at no extra charge. A real bonus!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Looked lovely from the outside and we were surprised to see we had this suite but the rooms were dark and very tired. The lift was still out of action and no sign of being repaired, The sheets were very old and thin and the air-con struggled to keep the room cool as the windows and shutters were of such a random fit the hot air,noise and dust just blew in. I didn't eat in this hotel as I was ill with D & V so cant comment,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel looks good and thats all. When we arrived the lift wasn't working. We were moved to another room because the security safe wasn't working. In the new room there was water coming up through the floor of the bathroom. Although this was mentioned to the receptionist, nothing was done, The Staff were not interested.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogclarke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We didn't stay here but a useful tip is to pay 10cuc to use the pool and get 7cuc back in bar credit. A great idea after a day's sightseeing in the heat if you are staying in a Casa Particular, as we were. Also, a good place to exchange money. The rate isn't as good as the Casas de Cambio but you avoid the queues and don't need to show a passport.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent two nights here in Feb. 2014. It is quite a decent hotel with large rooms and a pleasant pool area which is a quiet retreat from the busy city centre. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Beware, at about 3.00 a.m. anyone with a room overlooking the street will be wakened by the very noisy crowd leaving the nightclub around the corner. This happens Thursdays to Sundays. Lots of yelling, taxis, horns honking and police keeping an eye on the crowd. Elevator was not working but the bell boy handled the stress of that.

Room Tip: One not overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 250WKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
38.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
143.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
32.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
141.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Boutique La Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Boutique La Union

Property: Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Address: Calle 31 esq. A 54, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cubanacan Boutique La Union 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cubanacan Boutique La Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Hotel Cienfuegos
Holiday Inn Cienfuegos
Cienfuegos Holiday Inn
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Cuba/Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing