We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Cuban Hotels outside Havana / Varadero”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, while visiting Cienfuegos and Trinidad. It is one of the better state run hotels. It is located in the center, they have a guarded car park and you can visit the center of the town on foot. Several restaurants and bars are close by.
The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is clean and everything is functioning. The elevator is not functioning. The pool is clean (to Cuban standards), although there is loud music and it can be crowded. The rooms are situated round 2 courtyards. The bar is in one of the courtyards and the cocktails are great. Our travel book (Michelin) advised us not to go anywhere near the restaurant, but we did have breakfast and is was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tineke_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Only stayed here for 1 night..

This is the best hotel in Cienfuegos. It is right in the center of town. Everything is a few minutes walking distance. Rooms and breakfast were good quality.

The swimming pool is one of the main tourist sites in Cienfuegos for some reason, not to sure why.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful and better maintained than many hotels in Cuba. There was also a nice poolarea which was a perfect place to relax during the hot hours of the day when it is to warm to explore. There were large groups of chartertourists visiting which took away some of the expected exclusive atmosphere, but the hotel was well maintained and had a good breakfast. We were really positively surpriced by the other restaurants and the atmosphere in this city. The hotel is very close to a square full of galleries with some of the most interesting art we saw on Cuba and bars where there are concerts in the nights, and there were some really charming reastaurants along the Prado and in the Punta area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sista2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Classical tour of Cuba continues into this pleasant hotel in the center of Cienfuegas. The hotel is just around the corner from the main drag
A Daiquiri was served as the welcome drink and boy was it welcome!! Lovely reception area and friendly staff. Lift not working but used the service lift around the corner. Rooms clean with all facilities and a comfortable bed. However we had a thunderstorm that evening and rain poured in through the windows which did not fit very well
Dinner was probably the best on tour as was the breakfast. Just a pity we were only there one night as it looked an interesting town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hearthammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to visit the roof top bar for the views. We had timed it just right for a spectacular sunset over the square and on looking at the menu decided to have dinner there too. We both had good steak, wine and ice cream for desert, plus cocktails, at a reasonable price in a very relaxed setting. I assume the food was prepared in the al a carte restaurant downstairs but for us the bar was a preferable venue. Only disappointments wre that the lifts don't work and the toilets could be better maintained (but then agin, this is Cuba!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Let's start by saying the building is beautiful! I think that made it even harder to see it so poorly run. The hotel's elevator did not work and there was no effort to get it working. My room was on the third floor and there was no one to even help with the bags. That would not have been a big ordeal except that it was very hot and very humid and no air conditioning. The rooms required you leave a card in a slot for the electricity to work so when you leave your room the air conditioning turns off. After much effort I got the front desk to give me a second card so the a.c. would run but then the maid or someone went into the room and the turn the a.c. off. It was actually cooler outside that in my room. I spoke with the front desk endless times but it wasn't until I contact Havanatur and ask them to move me to another hotel that they were the least bit concern. It is such a shame because it has so much potential to be a grand hotel. It is a wonderful location if you want to be in the center of town and it has so much going for it. aybe with a new staff it would be better..

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We travelled with friends in Cuba and spent two nights at La Union. We had rooms on the cobblestone street on the side with the front enterance of this hotel. Our rooms were quite spacious and air conditioned. The doors to the small balcony open so you can take in the street scene, which we enjoyed but for many the noise would be a problem. The bar/disco further up the street closes down between 1.a.m. and 2 a.m. and following the closing everyone hits the streets and lingers to continue partying. There were car alarms, people honking car horns, shouting and singing in the street below. So consider if this will ruin your sleep or if you can handle being awoken in the middle of the night. An inside room might be a better choice for some.

The pool area is lovely and well maintained. It's a great place to relax and have a drink, even if you don't use the pool. The roof top terrace is the only place open later in the evening if you want to have a drink. On the night we went we were the only people there and it was clear we were disturbing the staff who were watching a soceer game.

The front desk staff were excellent. One of our party could not use the stairs and they arranged for her to use the service elevator which was greatly appreciated. They also gave us restaurant suggestions and directions to some of the local attractions.

The breakfast is passable but not as good as other hotels we stayed in. We had a car and appreciated the free secure parking offered by the hotel.

Both the interior of the hotel and our room needed some attention to minor repairs and cleaning, especially the stairwell, which everyone uses and which gives guests a first impression. But overall, especially for Cuba we felt it was good value and a lovely historic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you are sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
926 reviews
38.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
211.7 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
827 reviews
139.8 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
143.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Boutique La Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Boutique La Union

Address: Calle 31 esq. A 54, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range: £118 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cubanacan Boutique La Union 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotelopia so you can book your Cubanacan Boutique La Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Hotel Cienfuegos
Holiday Inn Cienfuegos
Cienfuegos Holiday Inn
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Cuba/Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing