We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!!!”
Review of Hotel Icefiord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Icefiord
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilulissat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Placed in town, but outside of city centre that is less than five minutes' walk away. Nice rooms. Great beer (micro brewey on site). The view of the Diskobay, the icebergs and the icefiord is nothing less than stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

A charming, cozy well-run hotel. Windows in the ground floor rooms provide a close-up view of the ice in the bay only a few yards away. Just looking out the window every few hours, you will see and entirely different pattern of icebergs.
The striking turquoise hotel building sits among a neighborhood of simple frame dwellings painted in an amazing array of bright colors. The interior is decorated in classic local Ice-blue color themes.Of the three major hotels, the Icefiord is most integrated into the town. By contrast the often higher rated Hotel Arctic (owned by SAS, Air Greenland among others) had the red coloring of a standard luxury hotel and felt more camp-like.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor allow you to experience the bay close-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely location overlooking the bay choked with icebergs. We were staying in one of the deluxe rooms on the first floor which was advertised to have a balcony, but the balcony turned out to be a "french balcony" which meant that while you could not sit outdoors with a cup of hot team to enjoy the view, you could always open the door and gaze towards the surreal world outside. The location of Hotel Icefiord is much better than Hotel Arctic, smack in the middle of town. There is a Spar super market within 10 minutes walking from the hotel and the hotel is also very conveniently located for the hike to watch the stranded icebergs that starts at the power station.

The food served in the restaurant was pricey but the reindeer and muskox that we ate were delicious. They had high-chairs in the restaurant which made it convenient for us to feed our baby daughter. Try to come in early for your meals to snag the window side tables looking over the bay. The speed of the wi-fi internet (paid) was miserably slow and it made much more sense to surf the internet from the terminal located close to the stairs next to the entrance of the restaurant.

Greenland is pricey but we loved the city of Ilulissat and Hotel Icefiord and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucozade_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Warm staff welcome, incredible view of Disko Bay from the restaurant, good food, recommendations for trips to make a Greenland excursion unforgettable. My room was very comfortable. The taxi pickup was prompt and helpful, making things much easier when i definitely did not know the greenlandic language.

Room Tip: as far as i understand, all the rooms have a view.ask helpful staff to make sure. staff also explain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiudittaGerusalemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We loved this hotel from the moment we saw it. It was simple and fitted into the surroundings of Ilulissat. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the view of Disko Bay and its icebergs was fabulous. All the staff were friendly, helpful and informative, especially Melanie. The food was very good both at breakfast and dinner and we especially enjoyed the Greenlandic buffet night, where we were able to try all the local delicacies. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I arrive at the hotel and the front desk clerk was awful. She was so rude. Once she checked me in and sent me down the wrong hallway, I came back and asked about internet. She told me she was too busy to sell me internet. I later got it and asked about ordering food. She said she was too busy to bring it to my room. Later she brings it to my room anyway and says I will have to come to the front desk to pay later. I say, ok, and eat...planning on paying after my meal. She will not have that...I hear a knock at my door (midmeal) and start to stand. Before I even get to the door she has opened it (it was not locked). She poked her head in and said, she was waiting...Wow...Stay at hotel arctic! I have had a much better experience there!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Simple hotel, but perfect for the location. We started our expedition from here. Hotel has a great view on Icefjord with icebergs. Restaurant is very good (there is a also Thai cuisine by a thai cook that is really good). Rooms are simple but sufficient. Staf is very kind and helpfull

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilulissat
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arctic Ilulissat
Hotel Arctic Ilulissat
#1 of 3 in Ilulissat
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Avannaa
Hotel Avannaa
#2 of 5 in Ilulissat
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Geisler
B&B Geisler
#4 of 5 in Ilulissat
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nordlys
Hotel Nordlys
#1 of 1 in Oqaatsut
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icefiord Apartments
Icefiord Apartments
#3 of 10 in Ilulissat
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
IceCap Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ilulissat
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icefiord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icefiord

Address: J.Sverdrupip Aqqutaa 10, Ilulissat 3952, Greenland
Region: Greenland > Qaasuitsup Municipality > Ilulissat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilulissat
Price Range: £157 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icefiord 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Icefiord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Icefiord Greenland/Ilulissat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing