We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know who you are: You want a genuine old-time hotel experience from early in the 1900s”
Review of Hotel Nipton

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nipton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nipton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nipton
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This remote, quirky old-time hotel in the middle of the Mojave Desert is not for everyone. In the 1920s when the place opened, it was practically the Waldorf-Astoria of lodgings in this part of The West. By the 1980s it was an established B & B with a small but enthusiastic following for those wanting to recapture the romance of the old ranching and railroad days. Today, with the environment and renewable energy all the rage, its been Nipton's good fortune to be right next door to these activities.

The Nipton is right off the main highway in beautiful "Downtown Nipton" and next to the store. From Interstate 15, take Exit #266 onto an unnumbered county road towards Searchlight, NV. The freeway exit is about 15 mi from the casinos of Primm. Inquire about rooms at the Trading Post nearby. You can park nearly anywhere. Freight trains roll through about every two hours and will wake you from your sleep but you'll get used to it and it'll make you snuggle closer to your honey.

The rooms are true to the 1920s Cowboy Style and the furnishings are all in rustic "pioneer" decor but comfortable. Room #3 was a favorite of old silent film hottie Clara Bow who worked a cattle ranch near Nipton. There are no telephones or TVs in the rooms but wireless internet is available. For the squeamish, watch out: The central bathroom, toilets and so on down the hall are boarding house style, shared by everyone and the use of house slippers is advised. There is an old time wood burning stove you might want to start up at dawn during the chilly Nipton winters.

Bottom line: If this is the remoteness and genuineness you crave, join the growing corps of diehard Nipton Hotel fans and cuddle up with your partner and time travel to a taste of yesteryear. Remember, its not for everyone. Check out their website for more details. I think you will never forget your stay in Nipton.

Room Tip: The farthest rooms down the hall and away from the front door are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I parked and stayed in my RV for a couple of days and it was expensive there was no power I had to run my generator the water pressure was terrible it was there was no pressure at all.!! I would not recomend nipton RV spots they are terrible they really need to work on the power issue and the water pressure.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank z2jez87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne L, Owner at Hotel Nipton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We do not have a record of anyone staying in our travel trailer park for a couple of nights in October 2012. At that time we were full and had only monthly guests. We did not have any just 'over-nighters." This bogus review has nothing to do with Hotel Nipton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at the Nipton hotel over the weekend. It is very simple but does have wifi if you want it. I enjoyed it but only gave it four stars because the room smelled like grandma's closet....lots of moth balls. It did air out but was a bit of a surprise. Yes, there was train noise at night, they do give you ear plugs. Yes, the beds are small and you have to share the bathrooms....but the location is wonderful....dark skies, electrical storms (if you are there during monsoon season), friendly people...and a great cafe next door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I'm posting here because Trip Advisor doesn't have a separate listing for the Eco-Cabins, though as the owner recently noted, they should. No one was staying at the hotel when we were there. We stayed in one of the ecocabins/tents in midsummer (106 degrees in late afternoon), so the air conditioning was appealing. This is a tough location to rate because it's very quirky. It's a historic old whistle stop that was once a bustling town, then a ghost town, and is now revived. Pretty remote--you are in the desert--which is one of the things that makes it interesting. The train comes by maybe a hundred yards away in the middle of the night several times and blows its whistle because of the crossing. My husband and I had a terrible night's sleep, but the kids did better, and some reviewers weren't bothered by it at all. I'm sure if you stay a few days, you learn to sleep through it. My reasons for only three dots: it's important to know about the train in advance, and I saw no mention of it on the website/marketing. In addition, the back of the hotel, where the cabins are located, isn't very attractive. You do feel as if you're camped out behind someone's back fence.
If you are campers, as we are, you will be comfortable in the cabins, which are really more like platform tents with air conditioning units (and wood-burning stoves for winter). Our cabin was clean. There was a picnic table outside, so we treated it like camping and cooked for ourselves. The bathrooms are also campground-style in a separate building, very basic. We sat out after dark and did some stargazing. Best for travelers looking for a funky, unusual, historic experience who are good sleepers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Its an experience. This hotel is very simple, but Iliked it a lot. I didn't mind the trains. Ist was romantic and kind of wild western style. If you like to spend the night in an unusual enviroment and feel like on vacation in the past, this might be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apiaWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed in a "tent cabin", behind the convenience/gift/lottery/beer store that's the only place open in this true ghost town. Don't believe the hype on their web page: there is not a soul around; the cafe is closed; and there were cockroaches in my cabin (I ended up erecting my tent inside the cabin and going to sleep protected). All that for $65 — a real rip-off. I was a sucker to believe their website.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SE106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne L, Owner at Hotel Nipton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

This person DID NOT stay in Hotel Nipton. This review has nothing to do with HOTEL NIPTON. This person through his own admission stayed in the campground which is a totally different than Hotel Nipton. Trip Advisor should not be posting this review because the reviewer did not stay in Hotel Nipton. Sir, we are sorry you had a difficult experience in the tent cabin with bugs. We so wish you would have let us know at the time so we could have rectified the problem. We have made efforts to eliminate the bugs in the tent. We were unaware there was a problem. It is true, however, we are a very quiet place. Most guests are looking for this type of experience and environment. When guests make a reservation, we routinely give them the cafe's number so they can secure a reservation at the cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We've stayed at the Nipton "Hotel" (really a rooming house with a common area and shared washroom/shower rooms) on 5 separate occasions. First of all, you should be a train buff. The Union Pacific will come through at least 4 or 5 times during your one night stay. If you can't appreciate the romance of the rails passing right by your door then please stay in Searchlight! Nipton is a very rare accomodation out in the middle of nowwhere, and yet not really, as you can see the very distant lights of traffic on the I-15., as well as a multitude of stars in the sky above. Bats fly around after dark. There's a cat walking around on the roof. Yes, the restaurant has gone through some changes during the past few years, after Bill passed away after battling cancer for many years. By the way, his pork chops were to die for...comparable to the best you'll find anywhere on the planet. Originally from New York, he as one of a kind, and you just had to kind of appreciate his gruff manner and get past it. The new operators seemed to be fine the last time we visited. Nipton is a unique experience. Paying $85 for a room in this unique setting is not really a big deal to any of us that spend time traveling round the country. There, now I got that off my chest. We're currently on our way to spend another special night at the Nipton Hotel.

Stayed: March 2013
6  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne L, Owner at Hotel Nipton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you so much for giving Bill a shout out. We miss him. We also want to thank you for your continued patronage. Hotel Nipton (it's original name) has been in Nipton since 1904 and yes, as you stated, it isn't for everyone. People that appreciate the remoteness and the beauty of the Mojave - the quietness and solitude - keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipton
11.8 mi away
Primm Valley Resort & Casino
21.7 mi away
Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
12 mi away
Buffalo Bill's Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nipton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nipton

Address: 107335 Nipton Road, HC1 Box 357, Nipton, CA 92364
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Nipton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nipton
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing