We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The location, hotel, amenities, staff...everything was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky99Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,212
    1,380
    671
    370
    231
See reviews for
2,298
2,072
68
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the grand wailea for the first half of our honeymoon before taking off for kauai- we wish we had stayed there for the whole honeymoon. From the moment we walked in we were in paradise. The staff is so warm and welcoming. They greet you with a lei as soon as you arrive - rosi was so sweet when she met us at the door. They upgraded us without us even having to say we were on our honeymoon. We couldn't afford to book an oceanview room so we were so excited when we got one. Yes - its an expensive hotel - but the quality of service you receive is well worth it. The hotel has the most stunning grounds you have ever seen - you can spend a whole day walking around and exploring. Definitely get breakfast brought up to your room one day - you may not want to when you see the price of a waffle but its worth it. And enjoy the waterslides - they are definitely not just for kids - we have never had so much fun at a hotel, we wish we could afford to go back again soon.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter what type of room you have ocean/garden. every room has a beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjsansone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We went for our 10 year anniversary and we had an amazing trip. The hotel grounds are expansive and very well landscaped. Our room had a garden view and was very nice. The pools were great, but we only used the adult pool. The front desk agent waived our parking fee since we booked when there was still self parking so with the extra money we booked activities through the consierge desk which was a very easy experience. I loved that there was always cold water in our car when the valet brought it around. We had a great time and we cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim3883ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My Wife and I came to Maui on our honeymoon and had booked a room at the Grand Wailea. Upon arrival, we found out that due to a large conference we would be upgraded to a condo across the street at Ho'olei. Therefore this review focuses on all the amenities of the property, but not the rooms.

For starters, this property is quite impressive. The grounds are huge and extremely well maintained. I couldnt get over how clean everything was. When you walk in through the main entrance, the place is palatial and beautiful.

Check in was a breeze due to our late arrival, and we were happy to be given a voucher for a complementary bottle of champagne at one of the property's restaurants. We were given lei's upon our arrival, and everyone was extremely helpful, but not overbearing.

The majority of our time was spent at the pool and beach while we were on the property. The beach staff was great, and we didnt have to wait more than 5 minutes to be setup with our chairs and umbrella. This could very well be a result of us coming during the off season, and that the majority of the guests on site were part of a corporate conference. There were very few children on the property during our stay, so we really were able to enjoy some relaxation. The beach is pristine and the water is calm. I do wish there was drink service on the beach, however.

The pool area was also great. I had read so many horror stories about not getting chairs etc, but we never had a problem. Even if we showed up after 10am, finding a spot was a breeze. The number of pools is mind boggling. We let the kids inside of us have fun on the slides, tarzan swing and even took a ride on the very cool water elevator. We were lucky and never felt forced to go to the adult only pool, which honestly seemed boring compared to the main pool area.

As far as dining options, we wish there were more. The poolside cafe is extremely limited, so you're better off going to the Bistro Molikini, which has a better menu. Both places are pretty average. The best food (and of course the most expensive) is at the Humuhumu. It was so great we went there twice. The shops area offers another cafe, but we did not try it. The gift shop is well equipped and you can buy some basics there like chips/soda/beer etc. I'm sure many people can come here for a week and never feel the need to leave!

Wailea is probably the nicest area on Maui that we came across. No other city compared. You are a bit further away from some attractions in Maui, but its worth it for a true luxury experience. The staff is excellent, and i was impressed at how CLEAN everything was. At many hotels, i am scared to walk around barefoot in pool areas, but the staff here kept it spotless. I would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat (and that's without having ever stepped foot in one of the rooms).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdmgillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have to admit that my wife and I were a little skeptical when we arrived. The valet fee, the portage fee, the housekeeping fee... you get the idea. However, I have to say that the hotel actually offered quite a bit of value and we would return in the future.

We had a garden view room (likely one of the least expensive rooms on the property), but it was surprisingly large and well appointed. The room was quiet, it had plenty of light, and it was easily accessible from the (less busy) ballroom entrance on the side of the hotel.

Regarding all of those fees, I have to say that I felt like I did get something extra for them. The housekeeping at this hotel was--hands down--the best that I've ever had while traveling. The housekeepers showed up twice a day (normal + turndown service), and they would exchange towels/empty trash/etc on both visits. We were also appreciative of the fact that the staff would actually attempt to pick up the room a little, instead of just changing the sheets. In addition, the valet parking was quick and efficient, and the parkers would always bring the car around with cold bottles of water waiting inside, along with a clean windshield.

The pool area was great. I would never admit this in public, but water slides and lazy rivers never get old, even for adults. It was sometimes hard to find a shady spot, but the sheer size of the deck meant that we didn't feel like we were packed in like sardines.

In short, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Wailea.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theregularguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This resort is probably best I have ever been, beautiful, perfectly designed and managed. staff very friendly and helpful. great pool=aquapark, direct access to beach. I spent there a week during my honeymoon and I deffinitely will come there again. Only two restaurants one more like for lunch and the Hunuhununupunupuapua (yes it is the name of restaurant) has great seafood at reasonable price, very good service but you have to make reservation and even though waite for table

Room Tip: make sure you choose room with seaview they have great view to see, garden, pool and pond. During wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0l02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Amazing pools with waterslides that take you from one pool to the next - fun for the kid in all of us. Hotel is older and dated. Lots of brass and old carpets that need to be replaced. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. We used Hilton points to stay here and had a nice vacation. I would be say this hotel should be priced at $200 per night if I were paying to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
29.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing