We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, Relaxing and Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxurious, Relaxing and Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. I especially liked how luxurious and timeless the rooms & bathrooms were. We thoroughly enjoyed the maze of swimming pools and the large, well maintained gardens and space around the hotels! The staff was always very helpful and welcoming! It is definitely a splurge though and wished there weren't extra resort charges and valet only parking but we expected that given it's status as a luxury resort and a Waldorf Astoria resort at that.

It is very well designed and has a lot of beautiful photo spots. For photographers, you'd love the HDR opportunities made available all around this hotel! We shared our photos here in case you're interested --> http://www.idelish.com/2011/10/07/usa-luxurious-grand-wailea-in-maui/

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors as they have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealiLuv2Travel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,458
    1,451
    694
    389
    244
See reviews for
2,462
2,208
68
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Grand Wailea is a beautiful hotel, situated on the best side of the island. Lush and they experience the best weather on Maui. The hotel is well maintained and the gardens are gorgeously attended to. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are very nice, kind of that timeless classic - not too modern or too outdated. The spa is fantastic! The best I've ever been to. They make you feel right at home and offer a very nice bath variety and pool sitch for you to lounge before your treatments. Your treatments are kicked off by a total body loofah scrub. The spa was worth every penny! The room service was just ok, but what do you expect from room service? It was prompt and had all the amenities and more to make a nice evening in. Yes, there is only valet…but it’s fast, super convenient and friendly. And each time you get in, there are cold bottles of water for your drive.

Resort fee includes unlimited wi-fi with no limit to number of devices.

The pool….so fantastic! So many water slides, tarzan rope swing, water elevator (I know, right!?) and swim up bar complete the twisty pool path through the amazing gardens. Truly a well done pool environment, not at all boring. Something for everyone.

The Huma Huma (hut) restaurant was very good. They open at 5:30pm, but to get in perfect view for a sunset you need to get there at 5?? There were people already in the best tables when we arrived at 5:30 (again, when they officially opened…), but the food was still good and the sunset was still awesome, even if we weren’t in the front row to enjoy it.

There is happy hour in the lobby bar from 5-6, which helps kick start your evening in an otherwise pricey drink environment.

You simply must use the shoreline path to get next door to the Four Seasons for Duo…a most terrific steakhouse which does a fantastic breakfast buffet as well. Seriously, the rooms are 3x the price, so stay at Grand Wailea and crash Four Seasons for the great restaurant.

I totally loved this place and would go back in a mnute...no need "try" a different place next time in Maui.

Room Tip: ocean vew, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Grand Wailea is a beautiful resort however you can only valet park your car and they charge you $25 a day to do so plus tipping......there are no other options even if you're willing to walk a mile! Our rental car was damaged by the valet during our stay there and the valet denied doing it. After months of trying to get this rectified with Hertz and the Grand Wailea, we were not successful and had to pay Hertz for the damage we did not cause. What was most upsetting was that in an attempt to contact the General Manager of the Grand Wailea, (Matthew Baily) after 3+ attempts he never offered us the courtesy of a return phone call. How unprofessional for what should be such a quality establishment. As a guest that spent 7 nights there and plenty of money a simple phone call should not have been a problem.

Room Tip: Work them at the desk when you check in, in an effort to get a good room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dianepinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked our room from 9/17-9/24 at this hotel. This hotel is a great place to stay in Wailea for family w/childrens. There were plenty of lounge chairs by the pool & also along the beach for us to sit. The property was well maintain while we were there. Their breakfast buffet that some were complaining about was actually nice. I've read reviews about how expensive & lack of variety their buffet had. Let me tell you, if you can afford the room here, QUIT compaining about the price. They had plenty of breakfast options for us to choose from (omelet, plain eggs anyway you want it, cereal, pancakes, salmon, yogurt w/granola, bagels, etc...) We also had dinner at Humu one night & it was OK. Order the scallops & you won't be disappointed.
:)


My only complaint is the room they initially had us in. There were tiny little ants everywhere in the bathroom. The front desk manager was able to move us to a different room & all was fine. Oh yeah, one more complaint :) , they were constantly working on one of the elevator going down to the ground floor while we were there. Not sure why it would take that long, but then again, I'm not an elevator maintenance person, so what do I know... :-D

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Great hotel. A bit expensive but an amazing experience

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

There is no other place on Maui like the Grand Wailea. To start, the location is probably the best, most exclusive, and pristine beach in all of Maui. The resort's beach front location is the best of all the resorts along the Wailea coast; with ease of accessibility to the sandy beach, convenient shower and poolside service location and helpful staff, this place is the best.

From the moment we arrived to the day we left, the staff and amenities were FIRST CLASS all the way. I've read other reviews that complained about the cost of everything from a coke to dinner to the resort fees..... Folks... This is The Grand Wailea!! with rooms from $369 to the thousands per night, if you complain about a $5.00 coke...THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, Ocean front or view is definitely nice, however, this is a resort....Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalaniPhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moriches, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We just got back from our 4 night vacation at the Grand Wailea. It was better than we could have ever imagined. Great service, amenities, and location. The ocean is in the resorts backyard and is the ideal beach spot. They offer free umbrellas on the beach for hotel guests, offered on a first come first served basis, but there were plenty available. The pools were unlike any I've ever seen before... Adult only pool, lazy river pool, rope swing area, multiple water slides, swim up bar area, water falls, secluded hot tubs, and more!
The rooms are amazing as well. We stayed in the Napua Tower in room 9055 overlooking the pools, ocean, and mountains. We had a great two room suite with a great living area and bedroom. The best part though was the lanai with a table, four chairs, and a lounge chair perfect for relaxing in the morning and enjoying breakfast and a cup of coffee or guava juice.
The Napua Tower offers it's own complimentary continental breakfast in the morning as well as cocktails in the evening. Zenith at the cocktail reception is warm and welcoming and very friendly!
The luau was great! My husband loved the world champion fire dancer!
We decided to get a spa treatment on our last day right before we left and it was unbelievable. I wish we had gone earlier in our trip so I could have done two treatments! The baths are something I have never seen before and worth every minute spent there. They even have a bath to sooth sun burns! :)
We are already talking about when we are going back, when we do it will without a doubt be at the Grand Wailea!!!

Room Tip: Napua Tower is where it's at! Anything with a ocean view is great though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovehenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing