We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gardens, beautiful views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here while attending a conference. I have never been to Maui and I think if I had been paying for the room, I would have had sticker shock! That aside, the gardens are fantastic, and the seven pools seem that they would make the resort very family friendly - one even has a walk-in "beach". There was a bit of room noise from neighbors through the adjoining door, which surprised me. I didn't use the spa facilities, but I did take one fitness class and while the instructor was very good, I found the aerobics room to be small, sweaty and poorly ventilated. Beach rentals (snorkels, paddleboards, etc) were convenient and you are right on the beach - great views of the adjacent islands. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the restaurants are good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,062 - 5,068 of 6,498 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have stayed at the Grand Wailea four times and have never been disappointed. As our children have grown, they are still entertained by the pools and the beach. As parents, we can lounge by the pool or ocean as the kids play non-stop. We join them on the waterslides and Tarzan rope swing and then go back to our books as they continue playing. The resort is extremely beautiful and a joy to walk around soaking in all of the sights, sounds, and smells. It is not for those looking for a great deal, however. Plan on everything being expensive. You will pay for the luxury and beauty. However, if you know this going in, it's not such a shocker.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors Gold member, book a Terrace room and you will likely be upgraded to a del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

"Maui no ka oi" and so is the Grand Wailea! Fantastic amenities, accomodations, location, everything you dream of, in the lap of luxury. An absolute delight! The grounds are beautiful. There are works of art to enjoy. The pools are amazing and so is the location on the beach. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivianBedoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

When you arrive at the resort you can see why it was once Grand. Some TLC, some paint, refurbishing of the pools, restaurants and rooms then maybe you could justify paying the rates they charge.
It is sad to see that the resort is being allowed to to get that rundown tired look. I hope they plan to do something about it before it is to late.

P.S. As of 10/9 the elevator is still not working.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelalot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. I especially liked how luxurious and timeless the rooms & bathrooms were. We thoroughly enjoyed the maze of swimming pools and the large, well maintained gardens and space around the hotels! The staff was always very helpful and welcoming! It is definitely a splurge though and wished there weren't extra resort charges and valet only parking but we expected that given it's status as a luxury resort and a Waldorf Astoria resort at that.

It is very well designed and has a lot of beautiful photo spots. For photographers, you'd love the HDR opportunities made available all around this hotel! We shared our photos here in case you're interested --> http://www.idelish.com/2011/10/07/usa-luxurious-grand-wailea-in-maui/

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors as they have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RealiLuv2Travel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Grand Wailea is a beautiful hotel, situated on the best side of the island. Lush and they experience the best weather on Maui. The hotel is well maintained and the gardens are gorgeously attended to. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are very nice, kind of that timeless classic - not too modern or too outdated. The spa is fantastic! The best I've ever been to. They make you feel right at home and offer a very nice bath variety and pool sitch for you to lounge before your treatments. Your treatments are kicked off by a total body loofah scrub. The spa was worth every penny! The room service was just ok, but what do you expect from room service? It was prompt and had all the amenities and more to make a nice evening in. Yes, there is only valet…but it’s fast, super convenient and friendly. And each time you get in, there are cold bottles of water for your drive.

Resort fee includes unlimited wi-fi with no limit to number of devices.

The pool….so fantastic! So many water slides, tarzan rope swing, water elevator (I know, right!?) and swim up bar complete the twisty pool path through the amazing gardens. Truly a well done pool environment, not at all boring. Something for everyone.

The Huma Huma (hut) restaurant was very good. They open at 5:30pm, but to get in perfect view for a sunset you need to get there at 5?? There were people already in the best tables when we arrived at 5:30 (again, when they officially opened…), but the food was still good and the sunset was still awesome, even if we weren’t in the front row to enjoy it.

There is happy hour in the lobby bar from 5-6, which helps kick start your evening in an otherwise pricey drink environment.

You simply must use the shoreline path to get next door to the Four Seasons for Duo…a most terrific steakhouse which does a fantastic breakfast buffet as well. Seriously, the rooms are 3x the price, so stay at Grand Wailea and crash Four Seasons for the great restaurant.

I totally loved this place and would go back in a mnute...no need "try" a different place next time in Maui.

Room Tip: ocean vew, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Grand Wailea is a beautiful resort however you can only valet park your car and they charge you $25 a day to do so plus tipping......there are no other options even if you're willing to walk a mile! Our rental car was damaged by the valet during our stay there and the valet denied doing it. After months of trying to get this rectified with Hertz and the Grand Wailea, we were not successful and had to pay Hertz for the damage we did not cause. What was most upsetting was that in an attempt to contact the General Manager of the Grand Wailea, (Matthew Baily) after 3+ attempts he never offered us the courtesy of a return phone call. How unprofessional for what should be such a quality establishment. As a guest that spent 7 nights there and plenty of money a simple phone call should not have been a problem.

Room Tip: Work them at the desk when you check in, in an effort to get a good room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dianepinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £371 - £981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing