We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,396)
Filter reviews
7,396 results
Traveller rating
4,217
1,640
794
465
280
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,217
1,640
794
465
280
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water elevator napua tower lazy river grand wailea rope swing bistro molokini hibiscus pool chapel wing volcano bar the grand dining room cafe kula spa grande four seasons pool area adult pool per day valet parking
Filter
Updating list...
5,944 - 5,949 of 7,396 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have stayed at the Grand Wailea four times and have never been disappointed. As our children have grown, they are still entertained by the pools and the beach. As parents, we can lounge by the pool or ocean as the kids play non-stop. We join them on the waterslides and Tarzan rope swing and then go back to our books as they continue playing. The resort is extremely beautiful and a joy to walk around soaking in all of the sights, sounds, and smells. It is not for those looking for a great deal, however. Plan on everything being expensive. You will pay for the luxury and beauty. However, if you know this going in, it's not such a shocker.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors Gold member, book a Terrace room and you will likely be upgraded to a deluxe garden view room. The garden views are amazing just as the ocean views are. However, they cost considerably less.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

"Maui no ka oi" and so is the Grand Wailea! Fantastic amenities, accomodations, location, everything you dream of, in the lap of luxury. An absolute delight! The grounds are beautiful. There are works of art to enjoy. The pools are amazing and so is the location on the beach. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivianBedoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

When you arrive at the resort you can see why it was once Grand. Some TLC, some paint, refurbishing of the pools, restaurants and rooms then maybe you could justify paying the rates they charge.
It is sad to see that the resort is being allowed to to get that rundown tired look. I hope they plan to do something about it before it is to late.

P.S. As of 10/9 the elevator is still not working.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelalot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. I especially liked how luxurious and timeless the rooms & bathrooms were. We thoroughly enjoyed the maze of swimming pools and the large, well maintained gardens and space around the hotels! The staff was always very helpful and welcoming! It is definitely a splurge though and wished there weren't extra resort charges and valet only parking but we expected that given it's status as a luxury resort and a Waldorf Astoria resort at that.

It is very well designed and has a lot of beautiful photo spots. For photographers, you'd love the HDR opportunities made available all around this hotel! We shared our photos here in case you're interested --> http://www.idelish.com/2011/10/07/usa-luxurious-grand-wailea-in-maui/

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors as they have a better view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passport802826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Grand Wailea is a beautiful hotel, situated on the best side of the island. Lush and they experience the best weather on Maui. The hotel is well maintained and the gardens are gorgeously attended to. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are very nice, kind of that timeless classic - not too modern or too outdated. The spa is fantastic! The best I've ever been to. They make you feel right at home and offer a very nice bath variety and pool sitch for you to lounge before your treatments. Your treatments are kicked off by a total body loofah scrub. The spa was worth every penny! The room service was just ok, but what do you expect from room service? It was prompt and had all the amenities and more to make a nice evening in. Yes, there is only valet…but it’s fast, super convenient and friendly. And each time you get in, there are cold bottles of water for your drive.

Resort fee includes unlimited wi-fi with no limit to number of devices.

The pool….so fantastic! So many water slides, tarzan rope swing, water elevator (I know, right!?) and swim up bar complete the twisty pool path through the amazing gardens. Truly a well done pool environment, not at all boring. Something for everyone.

The Huma Huma (hut) restaurant was very good. They open at 5:30pm, but to get in perfect view for a sunset you need to get there at 5?? There were people already in the best tables when we arrived at 5:30 (again, when they officially opened…), but the food was still good and the sunset was still awesome, even if we weren’t in the front row to enjoy it.

There is happy hour in the lobby bar from 5-6, which helps kick start your evening in an otherwise pricey drink environment.

You simply must use the shoreline path to get next door to the Four Seasons for Duo…a most terrific steakhouse which does a fantastic breakfast buffet as well. Seriously, the rooms are 3x the price, so stay at Grand Wailea and crash Four Seasons for the great restaurant.

I totally loved this place and would go back in a mnute...no need "try" a different place next time in Maui.

Room Tip: ocean vew, of course.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews