We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Manager Kissed His Teeth at us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Unbelievably rude! If you want Four Season prices at Hotel 8 quality, then you found your place! Oh, if you have an issue, don't bother to bring it up with management, they will just kiss their teeth at you - my wife and I were very polite about our complaints, pool being under construction without anyone letting us know ahead of time (we booked over 6 months in advance) and my son found an empty can of Monster Energy Drink under the bed skirt after he lay down after a long day. We had been there 3 days! On the positive, the lobby was beautiful, the restaurants are excellent and Luau was one of the best I have seen. But for about the same price, stay next door at the four seasons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
4  Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,699 - 3,705 of 6,498 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of October and had great service, probably because the hotel wasn't very busy as it is off-season. They definitely have the best beach on Maui, sand is amazing. I agree with other people that the hotel is a little dated. Rooms could use a makeover. They were re-doing the main adult pool when we were there. Overall their pools are great with the slides. A little pricey to eat on property, so either bring your own food for breakfast and lunch or go off property. A little annoying that you cannot park your own car and have to pay to valet. Still a great hotel in a great location. I would return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We chose this property because of the amazing slides and pools and they did not disappoint. The kids loved them. That said, the "river" has some parts where the water speed is pretty fast, and it's deep enough that our 8 & 9 year olds could not stand up....they got swept around corners in fast current where they couldn't stand and we could not see them. Scary. The area around the pools feels crowded and hectic, rather than relaxing. They work hard to keep only guests at the pool (so hard that you feel a bit like a criminal when you ask for your wristbands), but it still feels crowded and busy. The chairs are arranged so they are RIGHT up against one another..so you have to crawl up from the bottom of the lounge chair and you get to be REALLY close to the person next to you. The grounds are stunning, and we were unexpectedly upgraded to an ocean view room, which was lovely. Still....I have to say that we'd try somewhere else for our next visit to Maui. Someplace a bit less crowded and more relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank deborellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at Grand Wailea Ho'oli. Went across the street to the hotel and Paid $17 for drink Worst service I have ever received. Placed order, drink arrived by someone else. No one came for over an hour. Waitress took my order and never came back. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GiannaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great overall stay and wonderful hotel and amenities. Excellent family destination. Only thing that you need to be weary of is the communication. Get everything in writing as the staff is still forming its team synergy. They will take care of you in the end though. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

thats what you get here. Slides for your kids. The rooms are worn down, dirty and need a major facelift. Due to the size of the property you hardly get "personal" attention. Fitness room is dark, and dingy almost depressing. Always large groups at the property as well, so it's usually a circus. More attention next door at the Four Seasons, it's smaller too. And, has better food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank paris200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel was AWESOME and met all of my needs. The front end staff was over the top with their attention to detail. During my stay I felt very safe as the security at the hotel was ever present and made me feel safe sort of like at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £370 - £983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing