We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glimpse of Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I could imagine what this hotel would have been in its day. I see the quality in the build. I have nothing bad to say, the room was clean, the entire hotel I thought was clean. The pools are very nice, the grounds are beautiful and the beach is fantastic. The beach is on the smaller side, so no long walks but quite and very well kept. There were too many kids for me, but I think that's what you get with a Hilton property. There are some great rooms with views. We were on the 5th floor and thought it was great, a couple floors higher would be perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank restless2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,874 - 3,880 of 6,686 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We visited the Grand Wailea for our 43rd anniversary and were fortunate to get an upgrade to the Napua Tower. Many thanks to Liz, the customer relations manager, and Paige for helping make our time at the hotel very special. The grounds are spectacular with blossoming flowers everywhere. The palm trees wave in the breeze and the view from our room on the 6th floor were outstanding. Although most rooms in the towers only have a partial view of the ocean, they are still magnificent since the views of the gardens are great. The beach is easy to access and they have multiple pools for sunning and cooling off.
We enjoyed the breakfast package which is normally $31+/pp and has eggs to order and an abundance of fruit, granola, several freshly made smoothies, meats, Japanese specialties and many breakfast sweets. The view from the main dining room looks to the ocean and is open air - many times with a nice breeze. The wait staff is very attentive and we had an especially nice waiter - Nelson. He was congenial, attentive and easy to strike up a conversation. I would highly recommend Nelson to make your breakfast time even more enjoyable.
The room in the Napua Tower was spacious with excellent bathroom facilities and a nice balcony which easily held two comfortable cushioned lounge chairs and a 4 foot round table with room to spare. Get the highest floor for best views and rooms closest to the ocean.
The Napua tower also allows access to a "continental" breakfast if you don't want to eat in the main dining room. It offers eggs, fruit, sweets and coffee. A nice alternative to the main dining room or to get early morning coffee before eating downstairs. In addition, the Tower also offers a 5-7pm "happy hour" with complimentary drinks and hors d'oeuvres. A great way to begin the evening.
The restaurants are very pricey but offer outstanding food, views and service. Tell them you are celebrating something special for complimentary wine, food and/or special tables. They are very good at making your special day a little more special.
We had a very enjoyable time at the resort and compliment the staff for their attentiveness, always happy attitude, willingness to engage in conversation and great attention to the resort's maintenance. In addition, the concierge and restaurant reservations staff were always helpful with good suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor closest to the ocean in the Napua Tower. If not in the Tower, still ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Grand Wailea and it was every bit as good as our first trip. We were greeted with Plumeria leis in the lobby. The drive up is a huge series of waterfalls with every flowering plant imagineable. The service was great and extremely responsive to our every need. At night they would bring a few Plumerias with a beautiful card to the room and place it near our pillows. Our room was huge and well appointed. It was an ocean view overlooking the lagoon pools. I would have preferred to park the car myself because they charged $30 per day for valet parking but the other alternative was not available. However, the valet parking was extremely good and quick. Each time the car was brought around there were 2 bottles of chilled water in the console. We ate at 2 restaurant here on the grounds during our stay (Molokini Bistro and Humuhumunukunukuapua'a). Both were exceptionally good but priced a little on the high side. We used the Concierge services a few time and were very pleased with their recommendations. Sue and I also took advantage of the beach and pools...doing a little body surfing on the beach and using the waterslides. It was very relaxing.
It is all what you make of it. There are always many people taking advantage of the beautiful beach and wonderful pools but for good reason....because they are so incredible! You don't see alot of people at the bad places to stay. Make sure you take the time to take in the wonderful art collection that adorns the entire resort. We probably took 40 pictures of just the sculptures! The Grand Wailea is a great hotel and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Chapel wing are quieter. Rooms in the lagoon wing are a little more livelier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Only reason to visit here is for your kids .. water slides and a excellent pool experience ... other than that welcome to a Hilton.... This hotel use to be a luxury experience now its a Hilton..... like Hyatt and Sheraton you will be vacationing with the masses .... lines for the food, bar pool, towels, elevators, valet, ...... personally I vacation to get away from people. Nice hotel clean and friendly but even in the off season place was packed ... Lovely beach but not a fan of HUGE hotels like this one

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank DJBSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the Grand Wailea for 5 nights during our honeymoon. We were disappointed. The adult pool was closed which we were never notified about. The other pools are over croweded and loud and just too busy. The service was lacking - they were never very friendly or accomodating and seemed to be doing the bare minimum just to get through their shift. We planned a lot of activities while in Maui so we wouldn't have to be at the resort too much due to the adult pool being closed and the ridiculously overpriced food. There are so many hidden costs that you might as well stay at the Four Seasons next door. We had an amazing lunch there that was WORTH the price. The Four Seasons gorgeous and the price is comparable to the Wailea and must more luxurious.

The room had a gorgeous view but that's really the only outstanding experience we had at the Grand Wailea.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cmanning2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Killer view, Cozy bed, Yummy food, Beautiful sunsets! Paradise! This was our first time to the island and it could not have been any better! The spa was wonderful and the pools were cleverly designed. The food was so good! We are total foodies and we really enjoyed the dinning opportunities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Unbelievably rude! If you want Four Season prices at Hotel 8 quality, then you found your place! Oh, if you have an issue, don't bother to bring it up with management, they will just kiss their teeth at you - my wife and I were very polite about our complaints, pool being under construction without anyone letting us know ahead of time (we booked over 6 months in advance) and my son found an empty can of Monster Energy Drink under the bed skirt after he lay down after a long day. We had been there 3 days! On the positive, the lobby was beautiful, the restaurants are excellent and Luau was one of the best I have seen. But for about the same price, stay next door at the four seasons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
4  Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £400 - £758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing