We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Grand Wailea is a beautiful and fancy resort. The location in Wailea is perfect. Great beach and weather. The kids really enjoyed the water slide and swimming pools. It is a rather pricey resort with inflated prices on rooms and dining. It can keep those prices high because people love it there. It is a fun place to go a splurge and enjoy the beauty of Maui. For the price and room size, I would rather get a condo.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraBr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,517
    1,468
    705
    394
    247
See reviews for
2,521
2,237
69
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our firm held a retreat at this hotel recently and I was very impressed with the service and attitude of most all the staff. The rooms were very nice and the food at the hotel was good. I did find that the conceirge manager was less than accommodating and did not go the extra mile to ensure that our group could get activities coordinated. However, when she was not on duty - the concerige staff that was working was EXCELLENT. The tapas restaraunt on site was excellent.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room! All rooms have some ocean view - but it is so beautiful you should definatl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked the GW for the last few days of our trip on Maui in January and we couldn't have had a better family experience at any of the other hotels in Wailea. Although there were not any ocean view rooms available our room did actually have a great ocean view from our lanai (where most hotels claim 'ocean view' and you have to lean over your balcony to see it). The property is very large so if you have small children I would recommend asking for a room closer to the pools/waterslides. Our room was very close to the elevator and kids pools so we felt like we had easy access to it. I liked that you could get whatever towels you needed, we have stayed at other hotels in Wailea where you are given towel cards and this gets stressful! We did have to get wristbands for the pool area but I like this as I've heard people come in from other properties and this will crowd the pool quickly. Our girls (8 and 9) had a BALL in the lazy river and water slides. The property itself was very beautiful. Given the mediocre reviews I was expecting the property to be a bit worn out (and we have stayed at many 4/5 star properties that have seen better days) but I was very impressed with the landscaping and the cleanliness of the property. The lobby is gorgeous and the shops had what we needed during our stay.

I have had better poolside food (Andaz is amazing), and the Humuhumunukunukyapua'a restaurant is dated but we DID love our food and the view.

We will DEFINITELY return while our kids still enjoy the pools!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkythedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I booked this hotel for our anniversary thinking we would get an awesome luxurious experience. For more than $500 a night, it was a big letdown. While the place sure looked grand and sprawling, attention to detail was sorely lacking. The facilities have aged and they do show. There was gaudy holiday decor and just too many people. Avoid this hotel if you want a romantic place. We booked our anniversary dinner at Humuhumu with visions of a romantic sunset while sipping champagne, however we were not expecting to be seated beside families with noisy kids and crying babies. That was a total turn-off. The Humuhumu hut was also shabby and badly needing renovation. The rooms were huge with a luxurious bathroom and a big balcony that looked out to the ocean, but that was about it. My sister and her husband in an adjoining room suffered extreme allergies from the dusty carpet.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade. The rooms facing the gardens are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We strive to offer every guest a genuine Waldorf Astoria luxury experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that our processes are in place to achieve that. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and ask that you call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. I hope to impress upon you our sincerest care for your comfort. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Hotel is very Grand, although a little on the older side, the experienced staff makes you feel right at home as soon as you arrive! Vance takes your car & remembers ur name, Shane & the ladies at the front desk get u ur rooms in a blink. ur luggage arrives promptly. Alan is eager to get U a drink at the Botero Bar & let ur vacayion begin!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A lovely property with dynamic vistas and a world class spa. No doubt one of the nicest properties on the island. Service was impeccable from top to bottom. Pricey for sure. A little disappointed in the carpets in the rooms (we reserved 2 rooms, ocean view). For the price we were paying, I would have expected something other than worn carpet with stains. Room amenities were great. Views were great. Pools are great....gotta get new carpet in those rooms!

Room Tip: No reason to go if you don't wake up looking at the ocean !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

There wasn't a lot to do at night there. the entertainment wasn't very good. The main bar and grill food wasn't very good. One night we ate at the Japanese restaurant. The food was excellent there but a little pricey.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our valued guests. With 9 food and beverage operations in our resort, we hope to meet the needs and expectations of all of our guests throughout their stay. I do hope that on your next visit to Maui, you’ll stay with us and try another of our restaurants to allow us an opportunity to impress you. Warmest aloha, Kevin Peterson, Director of Food and Beverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing