We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, great pools, outrageous prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, great pools, outrageous prices”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pros: This hotel is gorgeous! The lobby is a gorgeous garden, over looking the ocean. The pools are amazing. Water slides, water elevator, lazy rivers, swim up bar. "Baby Pool" is a beautiful sand bottom pool they call "baby beach". Staff was wonderful. Very friendly.

Cons: The prices are outrageous! There is no self parking-only valet at $30/day. $30 for a sandwich or hamburger. $8 for orange juice. If you stay here and have a car, much better to drive about 7min. to the town of Kihei for restaurants. Another con is that this resort is far away from any Maui activities.

We went with 3 kids. They had a blast on the water slides but at their prices, it's really not the best choice for a family resort. However, I'm not sure i'd choose it as an adult luxury getaway either because of all the kids and water park. We spent the other half of our trip at the Westin in Kanapali and enjoyed it much more. It's hard to enjoy the vacation when you are spending $200/meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughL0veLiveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,454
    1,451
    693
    389
    243
See reviews for
2,459
2,205
68
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed in a Napua Tower Suite in June 2014 for 5 nights, with 3 children between 9 and 13. This was our first visit to any of the islands.

Our concierge Linda was priceless. Starting 6 weeks before our stay, she anticipated our needs and made sure we didn’t have to sweat the details. She took care of everything under the sun: rental cars, dinner reservations, cabanas, towels, and I am sure things I am forgetting. When things went wrong, like when the Alii Nui canceled our snorkel trip, she took care of finding us something different. I can’t overstate how valuable Linda was in making our stay there memorable.

I also want to call out Daniel, the driver who picked us up from the airport. We had issues with our luggage arriving late, which was pretty stressful. He took it upon himself to deliver some much needed contact lens solution to our room, and then retrieved our luggage for us later that night when it arrived at the airport. Again, like Linda, he made a difficult situation much better.

The club level amenities in the Napua Tower are nice. The breakfast and happy hour were good ways to start and end the day. Again, the service was awesome. The breakfast wasn't out-of-this-world good, but enough for everyone in our group to find something they liked. We also appreciated the extras that Linda and the hotel sent to our suite.

The resort did not seem overly crowded. We choose the Grand over other Wailea hotels largely because of the water park. The kids loved going between it and the beach during the day. The beach in Wailea is perfect – the sand is flawless, there is not a rock or piece of driftwood anywhere. The waves are nice but not too big, great for kids.

Our only regret with this hotel was more about the Wailea area in general. This hotel, as well as the others we saw, feel a little too “engineered”, much like Las Vegas. They are set pretty far back from beach, with huge pools and big fountains between you and the beach. The fountains make a lot of noise that prevent you from hearing the ocean. We wanted a little more of a natural setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here again this year. Same check-in date as last year, but more days. We didn't get the free Napua Tower upgrade like we did last year. It was offered for $100/night, and we declined. As much as we ended up spending on food and drinks, we probably should have upgraded. We were in the Lagoon building. I think that's what they called it, anyway.
It turns out this was Mother's Day weekend, and the place was crawling with little children. Screeching, crying children. Ugh.
We tried the breakfast buffet one day, and it was quite good. Not the best, but still very good.
We didn't get an ocean view this time, but the garden view was nice, and you could kind of see the ocean, off in the distance.
We had lunch at the Molokini Bistro one day, despite having a subpar experience last year. It wasn't much better this time, and my wife filled out the comment card that came with the check, letting them know what she thought of her meal. The next day, we were treated to a free meal - anything we wanted, and they even gave us onion rings we hadn't ordered. The food and service this time were 5-Star.
We had dinner at Humu one night, and it was okay. Not worth what it cost. The waiter was very hyper, but friendly. We had a nice sunset view, and a decent meal.
I didn't get to go on the water elevator last time, and wanted to this time. When I went to do that, it was out of service. :(
Anyway, the grounds are expansive and beautiful, the beach is great, the food is hit-and-miss, and the service is usually excellent.
My biggest complaint, travelling as a couple, would be that the place is too family-friendly.
But, hey, they can't please everyone.
We did enjoy our stay, and I would consider returning, on a future visit to Maui. I don't love it enough to join their Elite club.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonomamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our recent 10 day trip was split between the Honua Kai (condo in Kaanapali) and the Grand Wailea. We are a family of four with two kids (ages 10 and 6) and have reasonable experience with what I consider high end accommodations. That said, I knew going into the stay that the Grand Wailea would not be the be all of luxury stays nor would we be pampered, but a good blend of mega resort experience, family-friendly environment with a touch of luxury. If I wanted to be pampered, I would have booked at the Four Seasons or Fairmont. I really scratch my head when people compare the Grand Wailea to those properties as they clearly cater to different clientele.

We stayed right at the beginning of the busy season (June 2014), and felt the resort was not too crowded. I assume this factored into our experience as service was good to excellent across the resort. The valet was attentive at both check in and when every time I called ahead to have my car ready for departure. I gave a 10-15 min buffer and the car was always at the front entrance with fresh bottles of water in the cup holders and beach towels available if needed. The front desk staff were very accommodating and helped with a last minute upgrade.

The Napua Tower rooms are the best value for families. You get a slightly larger room and access to the continental breakfast and hors d'oeuvres/cocktails in the afternoon. The food won't blow you away but compared to the overpriced options in and around the hotels, you'll get your moneys worth and then some. Our kids filled up so much that they skipped dinner a couple of times. Convenient and a money saver for mom and dad! BTW, hats off to the bartender who manned the happy hours ever night. She had a non-stop cattle call of eager drinkers and always had a smile on her face. She promised to look up how to make a gin fizz for me and delivered a great drink the next day.

In order to snag a decent poolside chair, get down to the the pool by 9am. The choice seats under the few umbrellas are filled by 8am. Ridiculous and really puts a damper on what should be a relaxing time but it's part of the game. It's not uncommon for a seat next to you to be reserved but never seeing the actual person. People tend to dump there stuff and I guess go off and enjoy the rest of the property just knowing they have a seat if and when they make it back.

Yeah, stuff by the pool is expensive but buy stuff off property! The ABC store in the shopping center next door, for instance, has all the pool floaties and toys for half of what the hotel charges. I'm sure it's the same for souvenirs, jewelry, etc, and there was a mini-fridge in our room that could easily hold snacks, fruit, and beverages.

Room Tip: Families should stay in the Napua Tower. It's worth the upgrade to get breakfast and afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a night. We had 3 rooms. The front desk clerk was very friendly. She blocked all 3 rooms on the top floor with amazing ocean views. Rooms are big, nice bathroom but a bit dated. Amazing swimming pools, slides and amenities. Can't wait to go back with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosecel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Grand Wailea is a luxurious way to visit maui. The grounds are extensive and nicely landscaped for walking and relaxing. There are upscale eateries and a casual little cafe with good and reasonable food...outdoor seating and wifi. The gallery is top notch and hosts many pieces by Dale Chihouley. While you are there take advantage of the photo lab and workshops held on the premisses. The grounds and shops are worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogzzarecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is our 1st big family trip in Hawaii...I have to say the Grand Wailea is the best place to go with family. We can enjoy the nature sound (birds , beach....) and the grand , beautiful Maui sunset on balcony...Walk in the Grand Wailea is also a happiness thing! Every Morning waked up, the fantasy view is right under your side. Only when one visits the place yourself will you get an idea of the inexhaustible delight it may offer. Of course don't forget to the nearby beach and the crazy and awesome pools! Kids will have much fun in there too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing