We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was very nice but hotel was expensive for what you get. Great pool and beach. Crowded and hard to get pool seating or beach seating at times. Rooms were nice and bed comfortable. Most of the staff did a great job. The pool and beach are great for kids. If you don't have kids there are probably better values in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Aloha Brian O!

Mahalo for choosing Grand Wailea for your Maui vacation. We appreciate your stay and feedback. Grand Wailea is certainly a fan favorite for families and children, young and young at heart, with the pools as the deciding factor when choosing where to stay. The beach and pool can be quite busy during the summer and holidays, but there are also a number of quiet times during the year when you can have the beach and pool to yourself. We hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Grand Wailea and Maui again in the near future.

Mahalo,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,423)
There are newer reviews for Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,177 - 3,183 of 6,424 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wow! Talk about perfection! We wanted a place where our son, daughter, son-in-law, and 5 month old granddaughter would all have a wonderful time, and this resort more than fits the bill. We arrived on Saturday night to a great welcome, and helpful staff. Our rooms were better than we had ever imagined, and we had the relatively modestly-priced Garden View rooms. They're roomy, with the best bathroom ever (huge, with a tub and a glassed-in shower), perfect, roomy lanais with chairs, ottoman and table, and even a bathing suit drying rack. Even the coffee machine coffee is great! We started with the Sunday Champagne Brunch, which was splendid, and from then on ate at all levels of restaurant on the property, never once being disappointed. Every day we got our wrist bands identifying us as resort guests, picked up as many towels as we wanted, and staked out lounge chairs and umbrellas on the crystal clear, turquiose-water beach right in front of the resort. We used all the pools too - slides, waterfalls, a swim up bar, lazy river, rapids, 'baby beach', hot tubs, and even a water elevator for kids and kidults like me, and an adults only pool and hot tub in a quieter part of the grounds. And the grounds! Kept meticulously, with water features, sculptures,flowers, and exotic foliage everywhere! As if all that weren't enough, there is the spectacular open air lobby, full of so much art that they even have tours. Plus the best spa in the islands, and all the water equipment you can imagine available for rent on the beach. Grandma and Grandpa, bring your kids and grandkids here. They will be forever grateful, and you'll get to enjoy seeing them have the time of their lives...and you will, too!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank ocanada1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha Ocanada1973,

Mahalo for spending your vacation with your family at Grand Wailea! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the pools and restaurants, including our Sunday Champagne Brunch! We hope you have great memories of your vacation with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Rachel @ Grand Wailea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here at least five times over just as many years but are sad it's gone downhill. The moldings on the walkways to the rooms are badly in need of re painting and being re stuccoed; staff seems to have shrunk and the workout machines are rusted and squeak. Other than those issues it's a nice old Hawaiian themed hotel with lots for kids. It is very expensive though-even the so-called coffee shop is expensive but with little to offer. The staff seems to try hard-but they need more help. Think of Las Vegas when you check in on the weekend-long lines and little staff. Too bad.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pennez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha Pennez1,

Mahalo for staying at Grand Wailea during your vacation. We appreciate your review and apologize that the hotel didn't meet your expectations on this visit. We appreciate your feedback and will keep your observations in mind as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again in the future and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Mahalo,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about the grand wailea. Gorgeous with tons beach activities. Napua tower is the way to go if you are traveling with kids. Wonderful breakfast and happy hour with libations, Shirley temples and delicious appetizers. All included if you stay in the napua tower portion of their property. Great for kids and parents alike. Pools are amazing and kids love water elevator and slides. Hope we can go again some day.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha Leslie F.,

Mahalo for staying at Grand Wailea on your vacation! We appreciate your feedback and review. NaPua Tower is an excellent choice for anyone that doesn't want to worry about food and downtime during their stay. The NaPua Tower rooms and suites are our concierge level rooms and provide light breakfast, lunch, and dinner; we're glad you found those rooms convenient for you and your family! We hope to welcome you and your family back to Maui and Grand Wailea soon!

Mahalo,
Rachel @ Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First, it is still a nice property with all the swimming fun you could want, but the costs are too high for us to give a better rating. Overall the service was good, the food was good, the pools where great, the swimming in the ocean was incredible and it remains a really pretty place. We did have to ask 4 separate times for a roll away bed...that's pretty poor. Alas we had fun and the kids as always loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallywood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The lazy Susan style pool is fantastic as well as the kiddie beach area. The price you pay is really for the grounds and the location. The rooms are nothing to write home about. We spent the majority of our time outdoors. The restrooms near the pools are a disaster.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeklie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pros: This hotel is gorgeous! The lobby is a gorgeous garden, over looking the ocean. The pools are amazing. Water slides, water elevator, lazy rivers, swim up bar. "Baby Pool" is a beautiful sand bottom pool they call "baby beach". Staff was wonderful. Very friendly.

Cons: The prices are outrageous! There is no self parking-only valet at $30/day. $30 for a sandwich or hamburger. $8 for orange juice. If you stay here and have a car, much better to drive about 7min. to the town of Kihei for restaurants. Another con is that this resort is far away from any Maui activities.

We went with 3 kids. They had a blast on the water slides but at their prices, it's really not the best choice for a family resort. However, I'm not sure i'd choose it as an adult luxury getaway either because of all the kids and water park. We spent the other half of our trip at the Westin in Kanapali and enjoyed it much more. It's hard to enjoy the vacation when you are spending $200/meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaughL0veLiveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £325 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing