We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$453
US$365
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$800
US$771
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$685
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$721
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$936
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$687
US$466
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$548
US$493
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,881)
Filter reviews
6,881 results
Traveller rating
3,890
1,552
749
425
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,890
1,552
749
425
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater elevatornapua towerlazy rivergrand wailearope swingchapel winghibiscus poolbistro molokinithe grand dining roomcafe kulaspa grandefour seasonspool areaadult poolvalet parkingper dayocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,608 - 3,613 of 6,881 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Staff and resort are first-class all the way. But with 800+ guest rooms, there are simply too many people fighting for space at the pool and restaurants. Who wants to fight over a pool lounge on their vacation?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

stayed at Grand Wailea for 3 nights, I have to say that this is a very nice resort, beautifully designed and very friendly services. Sandy beach is very nice and lots of activities. We did stand-up paddle and snorkel right off the beach, Sun set viewed from the beach and from our balcony is magnificent. The resort also lend us free bikes to ride around to Kihei to check out local shops and parks. We had a great time staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsjctpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

For those of you whom follow me you will know most of my reviews are fairly positive and I give it to you straight...well this one is not all great but hear me out...so we recently spent a few weeks in Maui and decided to spend a night with the kids at the Grand for a change of pace and the pools etc...we usually go to the Grand a few times a year....over the past 2 years we have noticed several things becoming more evident, well it is still one of the coolest places to take kids since they have the most to do, pools, slides, etc...the original owner who's story is interesting thought it all out that is for sure. So what's the deal, well...it used to be the most expensive hotel and is # 2 or 3 now, the rooms have always been small for what you pay for, the suites are great and we have stayed in most of them but they price tag is insane..the last one we stayed in had ants on the window ledges and needed some help that is for sure....the pool ( as of this current trip) has several spots where it is missing tiles, there is a definite decline in the amount of servers, security around the pool, people checking on ALL THOSE towels left on chars and the people have already left or at the beach or other...we noticed there was no where to sit yet the pool was busy but not nearly at its peak. They used to have people come around and flip the chair tops down and if they did not appear to be used within 30 min or so they would clean them off so someone who needed a place to sit could!
Food and drinks have been and still are way too expensive although we did notice the food quality ( not quantity) is better, but still food and drink prices compared to neighboring hotels is not in line and has always been a little crazy.
the staff at the front desk is always great , never an issue there some of them we have go to know over the years , and they have great memories to know us after all the people they see daily.
They are renovating some parts of the pool area, but still they need more work, everything looks a little dated and given the prices they charge I am sure they have the budget to update things.
another small thing, we asked 3 staff members where the shaved ice and/or the check in area since the normal area was being renovated and they had no idea..maybe the management needs to update all staff across the board on what's happening. the waitress even said they are moving things around and not telling them anything.
so all in all still love the place and will go back...but maybe dropping on our list of to do's every few months when were here....Aloha.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SANJOSESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Wailea Resort as Kamaaina for 3 days. The first day we arrived mid-day and were unable to find a chair by the pool. The next day and every day after I had to get up at 7 AM and rush to find 3 chairs. People were already reserving their spots for the day. There are cabanas by the pools that are extremely expensive ($500.00) and take up most of the reserved seating by the pools. Leaving few spots for everyone else.
The chairs with an umbrella were NEVER available, even when I went first thing.
The staff really catered to the people who paid for a cabana, everyone else seemed to be ignored.

Beware that if your child is not tall enough they will get a white armband and not be allowed to ride the two "big" water slides. Our 5 year old, who is fully able to swim, was not tall enough and they would not give her a regular armband. The kids are the ones who think the slides are so fun and he didn't even get to go. They say they have five slides for all kids. This is the slides between the pools. They are slow and short. This is ridiculous.

The resort charge is a total joke. We never got a lei greeting or Mai Tai. The included internet service was terribly slow.
The valet charge and resort charge added more than $50 a day to the already high room charge. The room wasn't even that nice. Crappy furnishing and dusty ceiling fans.
The maintenance guy wanted to come in and spray for bugs. My husband refused because he didn't want poison all over our stuff.

Not worth the money. Just go to a water park instead.

Room Tip: Kamaaina get the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Used hilton honor points. Stayed in elite locked area, room approx. $700 per night per room. I do not understand the value. Free continental breakfast and a few free drinks at 4:00, not worth the private area. Room $379 was pretty much the same as the upgraded area. Save your money and go offsite for a quality meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NORCALMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews