We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Guide to the Resort. Definitely the place to book if you have kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A Quick Guide to the Resort. Definitely the place to book if you have kids!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I rely heavily on Tripadvisor to help select my choice of resort. I will admit that I was limited to this resort as I am a HH diamond member and there are no other Hilton properties on Maui. After reading the reviews, I was prepared for a clean but dated property with a great pool and amazing beach. This was consistent with the reviews but felt the property was really well maintained and not so dated as some of the reviews stated. Beds were really comfy and we had a beautiful balcony with very comfortable chaise loungers. We no problems with the rooms (and I am very picky). We compared the resort to the neighboring resorts and they don't come close if you are traveling with kids. We have a 11 and 14 yr old and was pleased with the amenities that the resort has to offer. If you are not traveling with kids and can afford to spend extra for the hotel, stay at the 4-Seasons next door and do not read further. Also, we appreciated the exclusivity of Wailea over Lahania resorts (Hyatt ..etc). The beach was never crowded as were the beaches in Lahania.
If you are traveling with kids, here are a few suggestions that worked out well for us.
1. Rent a car. You can get really good deals through priceline or Costco. We booked through Costco and received a really good rate at Alamo. You will need a car for several reasons which I will talk about below. It is unfortunate that you MUST valet your car and I would prefer to self park but it was not an option.
2. Stop at Costco when you get into Maui. It is very close to the airport and a quick stop on your way to the resort. They have good prices on Boogie Boards which is a must at this resort. The waves are so fun and for $50, you get two Boogied Boards for the week to keep your kids entertained! Also, we had a good sized refrigerator in the room where we kept fruit and beverages. These were great alternatives to the costly snacks and beverages at the pool. They also have inexpensive touristy gifts to bring back to your jealous coworkers. Also, grab a few bottles of wine and order a cheese plate from the bar in the lobby. It is the only well priced item at the hotel. For $15 and you get a good sampling of cheese with bread and crackers. We enjoyed the sunset one evening with our cheese and Costco purchased wine :o)
3. Go off the resort when dining. We ventured to the Shops at Wailea as well as the local town of Kihei for lunch and dinner. The price of the rental car certainly offset by eating off of the resort. But if you do choose to eat at the resort, the food is good. We received a $40 dining credit and ate at the resort one night and found the dining to be excellent quality. Several of the restaurants have a BOGO dining offer from 5 to 6pm but make reservations when you get to your resort as reservations are required to be seated during these times. We found the resort dining to be very expensive and preferred a few local restaurants mentioned below.
- Monkeypod. Sounds weird, but as other reviewers mentioned, it is good quality food for reasonable prices. We ate there several times. For those without a car, it is a short walk up the hill and worth the effort. They have an early and late night happy hour which we appreciated. Great glutten free pizza! There are a few other restaurants and counter service food places. All are good, reasonably priced and worth trying.
- Cheeseburger in Paradise. This is at the Shops at Waliea. Good prices but TGI Friday quality food. They serve a good breakfast and is really well priced at $6.99. We had gone to the Kihei Cafe in Kihei for breakfast and would strongly recommend skipping it. We wish we would have gone to Cheese burger in Paradise instead.
- Fat Boy Burger. This is located in Kihie, right next to Starbucks. They have counter service burgers that are made fresh to order and worth the wait. It can be easily missed, so just look for the Starbucks.
5. Check the location of your excursion departures. We intentionally booked dive and fishing charter operators that launched their boat from Kihei or Maalaea Bay rather than Lahaina. This saved on travel time in the water and on land. The Kihei boat ramp was less than 5 minutes via car from the hotel. This allows you to get extra sleep as most operators require you to check in around 6am!
6. Go to Lahania for a few hours and check it out. It is cute and very touristy. But make sure to park your car in a lot as those parked along the street seemed to ticketed frequently. Start on Prison Street (yes, I said Prison Street) and worked you way west.
7. Take the road to Hana and drive the complete loop. A good internet guide will give you all of the tips and tricks, so I won't bother. But I would have hated taking a tour bus for this day long adventure. We went at our own speed and avoided the waterfall stops where the buses congregated (with the exception of Three Bears Falls and Waimoku Falls). Also, continue past Hana and complete the loop tour as most of the road is newly paved and fun to drive. I will admit, I saw a few newlyweds fighting while traversing this road and had to laugh. While is is newly paved, it is still a very narrow road that requires skillful driving. We found it fun and were in awe of the vistas.
8. Checkout the coupon websites for deals at the neighboring Spas. The hotel spa was a bit overpriced and enjoyed the neighboring spa at 50% off. It was a 5 minute walk down the beach to get pampered at an amazing value!
9. The workout area is a huge plus and very well maintained. We would run the great trails along the beach and return to the weight room to complete our workout.
A few other quick items. If you travel to during peak season, make sure you claim your chair at the pool when it opens. There is no availability until after 5pm when the waterslides close for the day. And book your cabanas over a day in advance to get the prime location.
Finally, the hotel doesn't do a good job letting you know the amenities it has to offer and when they are available. We came during the peak of the tourist season and found the staff to be overwhelmed but always polite and helpful when available. Take time to stop by the concierge and find out this information. We would have missed several items has we not taken the time to stop by the desk.
All in all, a great stay. It was the perfect atmosphere for our kids and would return again without hesitation. Enjoy your stay, we miss it already!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank coloradotrigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,470
    1,455
    698
    389
    244
See reviews for
2,472
2,215
68
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Wife and I took a trip here without the kids for the first time in 11 years. We were a little worried because of how family friendly this hotel is.

Wow was I mistaken (don't worry families they are extremely family friendly) but they also cater very well to couples.

The beach is amazing and relaxing. Get there early 7 am or so to get the best spot.

Pools are separated by families and adults which is really nice. Pool was tough to get and umbrella since they only have two at the adult side. More umbrellas would have been nice. Get to the adult pool early if you want one.

All the food was amazing here. Pricy but good. I don't mind paying a higher price for Resort food if it is good food.

There are a couple general stores in the mall next door which is walking distance so make sure you go stock up on what you need there. It will really help your budget.

Overall review would be more than 5 stars but TA only allows us 5.

THANK YOU WALDORF FOR AN AMAZING GET AWAY.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went here on our honeymoon 10 years ago and brought our 8 year old daughter with us this time. Still stunning. Absolutely Beautiful hotel. Wonderful SPA - even have things for kids. My daughter had her first massage - chocolate / coconut and she loved it. Great beach. GREAT pool. The pools are just amazing for kids - but the chairs get very crowded and we ended up renting cabanas and casabellas for outrageous prices - BUT they came with lunch and drink service. WAAAAY Over priced food though - even for Maui - and it wasn't that great at all. We enjoyed venturing out to local and even touristy restaurants instead - ask your waiter or waitress where to go ;) In hindsight, i would have preferred staying somewhere more central on the island instead of always driving back the same way to see the sights. There were a lot of "corporate" people there - conventions / meetings - always looking for free and cheap things. Some people next to us at the beach casabella had gotten their things stolen the day before and the hotel staff somehow found half of their stuff. ? weird. It was an odd, expensive trip. All the staff was wonderful and everything was clean and beautiful. It was a bit out of the way, crowded, and overpriced. My daughter had the time of her life in the pools and spa - she can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberley_joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Utah, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We usually stay at the Fairmont down the street and love it. We assumed the Waldorf would be similar in quality, but we choose it specifically for the seven pools and slides for our kids. The pools were fun for the kids, but that was the extent of anything positive...

Parking (Valet Only):
No mention before we arrive that we'd have to pay $30 a day for parking and it's valet only, so we had to tip multiple times per day as well.

The Beds:
Our bed was worn beyond its years and sagged like a banana both length-wise and width-wise. We would end up on top of each other in the middle.

The Pillows:
The largest and most awkward pillows I have slept on. After two nights we all felt better sleeping without a pillow.

Loud Construction Near the Pool:
Hotels.com did not mention that there was construction taking place at the hotel and it was not very relaxing to listen to heavy machinery all week at the pool.

Service at the Pool:
We had one really great server at the pool, but that was the exception. Most of the time you wouldn't see a server for an hour or more and when you did they were terse and almost annoyed (too many people at the pool and not enough help).

Dilapidated:
When you think 4.5 - 5 star hotel, you think clean, refurbished, and you pay a lot!!! This hotel is way past due for a refresh: the color scheme is all peach (late 80's style), the calk in the bathrooms and showers needs to be scraped and redone, the tiles are falling off in the pool, the towels they provide when you leave the hotel look like old scraps, and the crown molding is cracking and showing damage from the humidity.

Ridiculous Fees:
These always frustrate me. I want to pay the full price up front, with resort fees of $25 per day, and parking included.

Ridiculous Cost of Extras:
To rent a cabana for 4 for a day costs $450. The big cabana costs $1,800 (What?). Renting a boogie board, stand up paddle board, ocean kayak, etc. was over $100 for the first hour (Insane!). The Fairmont included these items as part of the stay.

Ridiculous Cost of Food:
Brunch was $50 per adult and $25 per child (we skipped that one). There are much better restaurants in Wailea that cost much less.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank TravisCable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been to the Grand Wailea several times, the resort is one of the best I have ever been to. If you want to relax and enjoy Hawaii. You can do as much as you want or as little. Be with family's or stay on the Adult side of the poo. Area. They have a kids day care that I took our kids to,when we went to pick them. Up they did not want to leave. Shopping for the ladies and golf for the guys. But the most alsome thing is the massages. You can get one in the hotel or by the pool, I suggest by the pool so you here the ocean, very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The one thing I would have criticism about regarding our recent stay was the quality/ taste of the food with in room dining and at the restaurants within the resort. The very first night we arrived we were extremely tired and hungry and were anticipating a very nice meal based on our initial impression of the quality of the hotel lobby/ rooms and staff. We ordered room service and had a fried chicken dinner with baked potato, spaghetti and meatballs, and a strawberry smoothie. Aside from the smoothie, the rest of the meal was hopeless. The skin off the chicken was dry and undercooked and the thick doughy crust slid off the chicken. The chicken itself was dry and tasteless. The spaghetti and meatballs was horrific. We were extremely disappointed that night but reserved judgement feeling it would be unfair until we sampled more items from the menu and/ or try other restaurants. The next day we had lunch at the bistro and I ordered the fish tacos which the waiter told us was a "specialty". Unfortunately, the fish was overcooked and dry and had literally no taste to it with a texture similar to rubber. After this experience, we as a family decided to start dining outside the resort and were happy to find many great options not too far from the hotel. Duo at the Four Seasons was excellent. Ruths Chris' steaks are arguably the best around. And we found a great little Indian restaurant with superb tasty food in Kehai. Aside from the culinary flaws our overall trip was a success and we loved the hotel. We do not hold it against you and we certainly will be staying there when we visit Maui again hopefully very soon. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Dewey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Hawaii and we are inlove with this Resort. Is beautiful... Super clean, staff is professional and friendly. My son love it! The kids pool is super cool with slides, Tarzan liana, lazy river, a little beach.... Now, our room... Oh God was perfect... The view is breathtaking... We were planing to go to a famous Luau but it was sold out till end of August.... So we reserved a Thursday night Luau at the resort.... It was absolutely amazing!!! The food... The dancers.... The show... What a nice surprise. They help you with the activities inside and outside the Resort, just make sure you ask at soon you get there... We are looking forward to comeback. Thanks to the perfect staff and of course the beautiful Maui for this amazing experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWExecutiveOffice, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha NattyMaxCecy,

Mahalo for your review and staying at Grand Wailea during your trip to Maui! We're glad you were able to experience the Luau and waterslides during your vacation and that your son enjoyed his time. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Rachel @ Grand Wailea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing