We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The name says it all. Grand Wailea! The property was Awesome! The rooms were great! A real tropical experience. Great location close to shopping and restaurants. Lots of amenities and activities. The food was good but over priced! The service was slow but they are on Hawaiian time. So don't be in a hurry for anything. Me and the girls had a most excellent time! Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,149 - 3,155 of 6,499 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We decided to stay here a couple days at the end of multi-island vacation. I think that was the perfect thing to do as I can't imagine staying here longer than that. Come here with kids for the pool area. The beach is nice as well but the main unique feature is the pool. This hotel is busy and we encountered a number of bratty kids running amok so I think some parents feel they can just let their kids go at the hotel. This hotel doesn't give a real "Maui feel" for us. We've been to the island many times and much prefer other hotels and condos for a relaxing island escape that is less hectic and crowded. As other reviewers have said, be prepared to spend a lot if you eat/drink on property. Beds were comfortable. Pool area showing some age with missing tiles. Need some trash cans too as lazy guests leave cups and trash around in the plants and they aren't picked up until after the pool activities close. We weren't impressed but it was a fine couple days for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank AlexnJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I had a great time on our honeymoon. This is a fantastic hotel and offers a large range of activities from the hotel grounds. The fresh fruit at the buffet breakfast is amazing and is the perfect start to a days activity. The hotel is close to my favourite beaches in Maui. The room rate is quite expensive and the sun umbrellas do not give adequate sun protection.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The property here is beautiful. We got the club floor and I would suggest giving it a pass. The club floor offers the benefit of a continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cookies, and happy hour. The breakfast was okay and it was nice to go get coffee in the morning so close to the room, but a delicious breakfast was included with club and non-club rooms in the main dining room that put the club floor breakfast to shame. The tea and cookies were completely unremarkable and the happy hour was a cattle call and not worth it. Go to the grocery store and buy some cocktails for the room. Don't waste the $100 extra each night. I also have issue with the mandatory $30/day valet service that requires you to wait for your car and tip the valet. Add that to the resort fee and everything else and I felt nickeled and dimed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmeynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Wailea for six days as part of a company trip with over 90 people. The resort is definitely the best in Wailea and I believe one of the best in Maui.

Location - the location is ideal, because it is close to the main exit out of Wailea and right next door to the Shops at Wailea that has the ABC store and the General Store.

Facilities - Scale is not always bad especially if it comes with good service. The resort is truly a one stop shop with everything you would need to make things comfortable including on-site car rental, many shops, and lots of staff to help you with your needs.

The hotel has prime access to the Wailea beach and the swimming facilities is probably one of the largest in Hawaii. There are I believe 8 water slides, a meandering river where you can just float down, several large pools, and an adults-only section as well.

There are many restaurants there including Alan Wong's Amasia and Humuhumu. I found Humuhumu to be one of my favorite restaurants in Hawaii.

"Hawaii pricing" adjusted, the hotel is reasonable, and they don't overcharge for anything more than what would be available off the property. This includes clothing as well as food.

I was told they will go through a large renovation of the rooms starting in August 2014, and after that I think it will be even better.

If you are not going to go to a Boutique Hotel or a house rental, I strongly recommend that you choose this resort. Don't try to brand shop because I have stayed at other hotels in Wailea and for a smaller scale resort you end up getting the worst of all worlds - inadequate service and cramped facilities (think long breakfast line). The Grand Wailea compensates with its sheer scale and that is what you want especially if you are with an extended family or large group.

Lastly, we are tennis lovers and were able to easily get an introduction to the Wailea Tennis Club and play there virtually every day for a small fee. It's a short walk or a quick drive away (about half a mile away).

Room Tip: Many rooms offer an ocean view. But if you are there for the water activities, the garden level (gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillionsRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our 4th visit to the Grand Wailea! The grounds are like paradise! The Spa Grande is like none other! When my husband and I return we are relaxed and renewed!

My husband and I, 30 years married enjoyed ALL of the pools! We went in the world's only water elevator, sat at the bar in the grotto pool and watched the hockey game, went outrigger canoeing off the beach, used the FREE bike rentals to ride to Kihei and learned to surf!

I left my phone in the car and the valet quickly delivered it to my room! On another occasion, I misplaced my credit card! I was panicking! Yet again, another knock at the door and it had been found and returned!

We don't eat at the restaurants as they are pricey but do spend a lot at the pool bar! Nachos by the pool! yum!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We go to Maui every two years to our family condo, but decided to change it up a bit by staying at the Grand Wailea for a few nights. The pools and slides are very fun! The grounds are lovely. The fact that you are on vacation and have to be down at the towel/band hut by 7 am to be able to get a chair by the pool is a big bummer. I understand prices in Hawaii are ridiculous, but the price of food at the resort is ridiculous. Two breakfast burritos to go that I took down to the pool to save the seats at 7:00 were about $35. My 9 year old son, however LOVED the pools, the slides, the Tarzan rope, the lazy river and the water elevator so I do see a return visit in the future. We had an ocean view room which was very nice, but not sure I'd spring for that view again since we were at the pool by 7 (when the water slides don't even open till 10!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AlohaGirl022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £368 - £980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing