We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have taken my family to the Grand Wailea so many times over the years and it has always been a hit. The easy access to pools, lazy river, water slides and the beach is unique among resorts anywhere. You pay a little more, but it is well worth it because there is so much to do and they have the scale to accommodate large numbers of guests for meals, activities and so forth even during the busy Christmas holidays. Rooms are getting a bit tired but we not use them to sleep so it didn't matter. Food is always great and there are a lot of on site restaurants as well as nearby off site dining options. Your kids will always remember a vacation here, no matter what!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach and pools. Views are nice, but location will make you happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,454
    1,451
    693
    389
    243
See reviews for
2,459
2,205
68
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

very crowded chair next to each other, almost no service by pool area to serve you for food and drink, very hard to find a chair even at 7:00 Am , since all the seat taken by putting towels,but nobody seatin on.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed here several times over the years, and while the grounds are still beautiful and well-maintained, the rooms are getting dated. Our first room had such a moldy smell even after opening the doors and using the ceiling fan that we had to change rooms. Also, the couch and carpet were not clean. The second room was a bit better but the furniture was in disrepair and the carpet was not clean. Wifi was not reliable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Very well maintained hotel. It's very expensive, but what is not expensive in Hawaii .. Food is good and the view is amazing.

They have a kid friendly pool and adult pool. Valet parking is $30 and there is no other option to park. Food is good and they have 4 to 5 restaurants within the compound. But of you like subway, it's just 2 miles away.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renju N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Was an OK hotel. Do not depend on hotel to make reservations to Luau, totally screwed ours up and nobody cared nor offered to make it right. Concierge level probably not worth the price but the bartender was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank 125kevint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a business meeting and expanded our stay for extra vacation. It is a beautiful location but the resort could use some improvements. If you stay here be prepared to be nicked and dimmed. For example, after paying approximately $400 per night, you have to pay extra to have shade by the pool-- up to $400 per cabana. We thought this was a bit much. Also breakfast closes at 10:00 am which also seemed weird for a resort. All that being said, the resort is lovely and the staff very nice. View from the room are unbelievably beautiful. The concierge was very helpful.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanstonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What an AWESOME hotel! Played 2 rounds of golf, and ate like a Queen! We did an in-room massage too, and it was probably one of the best I've ever had. Please go stay here, this Maui Hotel is the best in all the islands! Can't wait to return!!! See you soooooooon beautiful Maui!!!

Room Tip: In room Massage is always a plus!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing