We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,883)
Filter reviews
6,883 results
Traveller rating
3,891
1,552
750
425
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,891
1,552
750
425
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater elevatornapua towerlazy rivergrand wailearope swingchapel winghibiscus poolbistro molokinithe grand dining roomcafe kulaspa grandefour seasonspool areaadult poolvalet parkingper dayocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,464 - 3,469 of 6,883 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Overall the property is beautiful, the beach is nice, rooms are a little dated. Hotel food does not live up to the 5 star rating nor the 5 star pricing. Nothing in the hotel is included so be prepared to pay for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is our third visit to this property over the last 10 years ... Unfortunately it will be our last until the owners do something about the service level. I should say that almost every employee we came across was more than pleasant and very friendly - doing whatever they could for you. (There were a few unfriendlys at the pool towel stations.) That being said - it was hard to find people to help on multiple occasions.

The facility is getting a little dated. Our room was perfectly fine but you can tell that it needs updated Twice a day maid service is very nice and the amenities (shampoo, etc) were high quality from the Spa Grande.

As others have noted, they are now very much an "a la carte" pricing hotel - which is a bit ridiculous for a Waldorf Astoria property. In order to meet WA brand standards, they can no longer offer self parking. Now its valet only (at $30 / day plus tips). That would be one thing if it didn't take 30 minutes or more to get your car. (Again, valet staff were very pleasant - just not enough of them.)

The Spa Grande continues to be our favorite spa in the islands. The Terme baths are worth it. Spend your full hour before a massage, etc enjoying the baths and exfoliating scrub. Well worth it.

The main area of disappointment (besides lack of staff) was the adult pool. Even though there is a one hour policy to leave items to hold chairs, we watched numerous chairs blocked for hours at a time with nobody claiming them. I even complained twice to the pool desk as these chairs were in premium areas. They said it was up to security. Sorry they couldn't help. Uh huh. They also seem to have put more cabanas in than were there before - taking away from premium space for pool chairs. These cabanas rented for $350 / day (told us up to $450 / day in high season). A day. Ridiculous! They had covered couch like chairs for two that were a bargain (yeah right) at $195 / day. All that being said, there were plenty of chairs on the lawn - so you never had to go far to find a chair. (There are no umbrellas on the lawn so all 100% sun.)

The resort fee includes "free" internet. But of course they offered premium internet at a price. The basic (5MB) was slow as ever. Useless really. For $15 / day you could get the premium (10MB). A bit ridiculous after paying for the resort fee.

We were planning to spend four nights here and three at the Ritz in Kapalua. After 2 days, we decided to leave a day early and spend an extra night at the Ritz. (They waived the early check out fee. Again, very, very nice person at the front desk. She asked about our stay. I told her. She asked me to write the Director as they were hearing similar complaints from many of their guests.)

I'm writing this review from the Ritz where the complimentary internet is quite fast. Especially in the upgraded room that my platinum status got us! (Thank you Marriott Rewards!) Look for a separate review on the Ritz once we check out - but suffice it to say that we are very happy already that we moved a day early!

Room Tip: Check out the Andaz next door ...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FlyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Incredible resort. Unbelievably beautiful. On the beach and not far from shopping. We stayed in October, not crazy crowded but busy. Very expensive, but worth it! The only irritating thing was you had to get to the beach by 7am to get chairs and umbrellas close to the water. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

when paying top dollar, you expect top quality. The pool has no shade unless you pay $450 for a cabana. All chairs are layers in 3 rows, so pools are overcrowded. Restaurants were ok. Specialty allergen related meals were supposedly going to be easy, but My gluten free dining experience at Humuhumu was awful. Rooms need updating. Bartenders made tediously measured drinks. ONLY upside was the fabulous spa. THAT they did right.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patelshru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We had the occasion to visit the Grand Wailea as part of an incentive trip with the whole family (mom, dad and 2 yr old).

The first thing that hits you here is the friendly staff and comfy beds... Well, actually the resort prices are what hit you first, but in reality you are visiting paradise, so you best expect to lay down some hard earned dough. Also, we have stayed in the Kaanapali resort area and much prefer Wailea with the smooth sands and smaller waves.

We spent our 5 days in Hawaii playing on the beach, in the pools, Dad played golf on the beautiful gold course, while Mom hit the spa twice for a massage and mani/pedi. What resort can you go to that has 5 levels of water slides, a rope swing and a pool with actual sand in it to simulate a beach? For those of you who are into the kid free zone, don't worry, there is an 18+ pool with poolside massages, but I have no experience with that. When you are ready to hit the hay, the beds are like sleeping on a cloud and the room just makes you feel like you are enjoying a stay at the Waldorf Astoria (oh wait, you are...). Totally opulent and comfy, a well deserved splurge for any who come to visit. If I had one complaint with the room it is that there were not enough towels for a family of 3 with the number of baths and showers we had to take. Also, not sure why not, but room service typically never came by during the night to pick up empty food plates, so in the morning we'd be leaving for the beach and the food tray was still there with little birds having picked at the tray. Maybe I was supposed to call them to get them to take it away, not sure.

For those of you bringing Toddlers: this place will go out of their way to make you and your child happy. Here's a case in point: we went to dinner at one of the on premise restaurants (Humuhumu's) and our daughter was still on a 6 hr time difference in sleep schedule. All the same, she started to melt down and wanted to get up, walk, throw herself on the ground and we wanted to eat our food that just arrived. Out of the blue, our waiter arrived with two drink refills for Mom and Dad and a stuffed animal for baby. Immediately our 2 year old was enthralled by this new development. Kept her busy for the rest of the night.

Finally for advice:
1) go to Walmart or Safeway to get granola bars, water, chips and other snacks for the room and pool, everything else on the property is ~3x as expensive than normal.

2) go to Makena to take a catamaran snorkel sail. So worth it to go to Molokini and Turtle Town.

3) go for a run on the path along the resorts, but you have to go early in the morning before it gets too hot

4) treat yourself to a massage or another spa amenity (the Ritz beachside hut massages next door are also great)

5) you'll see many people with fake plastic pineapples or tikis, these allow you to pay a bit extra up front to get larger drinks every time you order. Really only great if you are going to do a lot of drinking on property. We left ours in the trash upon departure and felt badly for wasting.

We'll definitely be back when we can make it back to Maui.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank AlphaBravoCentauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews