We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest all around, luxury family hotel destination in Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
“Greatest all around, luxury family hotel destination in Hawaii”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

This was our first "real" family vacation with our 3 year old son and the hotel made it wonderful. My wife and I are accustomed to staying at premier hotel properties, and this one was compairable in its amenities, cleanliness, and services offered. At the same time, it was completely family friendly. Our son (and his parents) enjoyed the pool complex. There is nothing in Hawaii that rivals the Grand Wailea's pools and beach.

After our wonderful stay, we've vowed to return to the Grand Wailea every year for a family vacation. It truly is an easy place to stay with kids and offers extacly what families need. This hotel is as good as it gets without being an "all inclusive" resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxFamTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,261
    1,398
    677
    375
    233
See reviews for
2,336
2,098
68
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our family of five stayed for one week in an Ocean View room in the Napua Tower. Nice sized room that accomadated a roll-away bed. The Napua tower rooms have access to the lounge that served a good complimentary breakfast in the morning, cookies in the afternoon and cocktails and hot and cold appetizers in the evening. It was well worth the added money to have access the amenities...and the service was very good.

The pools with water slides and a lazy river were great for the children and adults. Getting a seat ot the pool was difficult. Needed to arrive by 8am to get a seat. The ocean and beach were great as well. Beach chairs and umbrellas were complimentary.

Food at the restaurants on site was expensive for the quality.

We were surprised that the hotel did not make more of their fabulous views of the sunset over the ocean.

Overall, our family liked this hotel. As we visted the other nearby hotels, we felt this was the right choice for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camcf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We had stayed at the Grand Wailea ten years ago and had a wonderful time. In planning a trip back this year to celebrate our anniversary, we read reviews from Trip Advisor. We were concerned about some of the comments made in these reviews. We called the hotel and asked to speak to a manager. He was not available so we left a message. Our call was returned in under an hour. He listened to our concerns and assured us that we would have a wonderful experience at the Grand Wailea. Based on his assurances, we booked our hotel rooms for 5 nights. . When we arrived in Maui, we were warmly greeted by the bell staff and quickly brought to the front desk. We were told that our room had been upgraded and we were wished a very Happy Anniversary. We were absolutely amazed with our upgraded room. We had an incredible view of the Chapel, ocean,and mountains.. Everything in our room was luxurious. Housekeeping did an exceptional job each day. The bathrooms are very large and well-equipped. The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful. We had read some comments that people had difficulty finding chairs at the pool. During our entire stay, we never found that to be true. We had the choice to sit around the pool, on the lawn area behind the pool, or on the beach. The adult only pool was quiet and very relaxing. We celebrated our anniversary with an outstanding dinner at Humuhumu. Our table overlooked the beach area and we watched the breathtaking sunset. The conceirge gave us a coupon for a bottle of champagne. We felt very pampered! The spa experience was amazing. The staff is very well trained, attentive to every detail, and totally comitted to making your spa services exceptional. We used the fitness center every day and found it to be one of the very best equipped of any hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel for adults and families with children. We'll definitely return to this beautiful spot. .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenia06georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I was excited about staying here and imagine my surprise to discover how incredibly poor the hotel is in every respect. Customer service is laughable. The employees must hate their jobs here. They are rude and arrogant and unwilling to help. The smallest request is met with rudeness, arrogance and indifference. The hotel was probably great in its day, but now is old , dated and a run down. The rooms are stale, lifeless and musty. The hotel will nickel and dime you to death, their motto is soak the tourist. The wedding and catering department are mean and impossible to reach. Don't get married here!!!!! We did, and are very sorry we chose this hotle for our wedding. Avoid, avoid avoid. Go to a great hotel like the Four Seasons or Hale Kelani instead. Avoid getting robbed and having a disappointing vacation or wedding. This place needs to start providing a great experience again and quit resting on it's laurels and relying on the Waldorf-Astoria name.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thebazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandWailea96753, Director Public Relations & Marketing Communications at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
We, at Grand Wailea, often encourage our guests to provide us with feedback as it’s the best source for potential improvements to our property. While we don’t agree that things were as bad as the picture painted by thebazers1, we do apologize as we want all our guests to have wonderful experiences at Grand Wailea. And most do.

I would like to shed light on some unfounded comments by thebazers1. First, we have great employees who are proud to work at Grand Wailea. In fact, Grand Wailea is consistently named one of the “Best Places to Work” in the entire state. Second, our team members are one of the friendliest in the industry and are always working to make our guests’ stay memorable. Many of our employees have been recognized at the state-level within the hospitality industry for their outstanding guest services. Third, all our rooms are newly renovated. Despite the recession, the Grand Wailea continues to invest in its product. In the last two years, we’ve invested more than $50 million in renovations and upgrades throughout the hotel. Our wedding department coordinates more than 200 weddings a year, from intimate ceremonies to grand galas. They are experts in their field. We apologize for thebazers1 uncommon experience. Finally, Grand Wailea offers numerous activities complimentary including fitness classes such as yoga, resort and art tours, introductory scuba lessons, daily torch lighting ceremony, fish feedings for kids, live Hawaiian music at our Botero Bar, beach chairs and umbrellas, and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We were pleased to find that this large resort was, thankfully, uncrowded. It is probably not as pleasant in the height of the season, when it is full.

Hotel staff and service was very good, with the exception of Humuhumu restaurant, which I have reviewed separately, and won't launch into a diatribe about here.

Our deluxe, ocean view room was comfortable and airy, with a decent sized balcony and lovely view, and a better than average bathroom (room 8033). We had mentioned it was our honeymoon, and each time we returned to our room, there was a sweet little notecard and sentiment, orchids on the bed, towel sculptures and other thoughtful little niceties.

The grounds are beautifully manicured, and we really enjoyed the quieter, adult only, hibiscus pool. Although you have to try out the world's only water elevator in the children's pool area. By anyone's standards, $300 per day for a cabana is excessive. The $75 per day casabellas overlooking the beach, but near enough the pools, are a much better deal.

We'll stay here again, but we'll find other places to dine. Also valet parking is $20 per day. Otherwise, it's a bit of a trek to free, self-parking.

By the way, there is some amazing art work around the hotel. Check out the amazing Botero sculptures. In a world where we are not all a size 6 and anorexic, they are refreshingly honest and charming.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hd91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

My wife and I went to Maui and stayed at the Grand Wailea for our honeymoon. We loved the resort and all that it has to offer. The staff was extremely attentive and made this mega resort feel a little more intimate to us. We had a beautiful deluxe ocean view room and were very happy with it. The rooms are upgraded, quite large, comfortable and have large bathrooms. The view was incredible so I would recommend you request an upper floor room. The hotel has everything to offer and can be a bit overwelming. We had read that there were a lot of families with kids stayed at the hotel and being our honeymoon we were alittle worried but everything was just fine. The hotel has two pools - the main one is really large and nice but at the time we were there it was full of kids. The second pool is the adult pool and this is where we spent most of our time. It was pretty quite and full of couples. The waitservice around the pool was great as well so there was no shortage of food and drinks. (The pizza is awesome.) The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The shops at Wailea are within walking distance for some shopping. There are a few resorts next door for additional dinning but I would recommend renting a jeep (the hotel has free parking) so that you can try some of the great restaurants in Lahaina (although humum at the resort is good.). Also, a must at the hotel is the spa - it's great and an experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mck9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach Island NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon at the Grand Wailea, and I will list the very good, the bad ( not much) and everything in between. From the moment you walk in, the hotel itself will blow you away with how breathtaking it is. We visited the Four Seasons, and the white hotel next door to the Four Seasons ( cant think of the name ) , and trust me, although the Four Seasons is nothing to sneeze at, its not nearly as dramatic, and open and large as the Grand W. Remember the movie phrase, " You had me at hello"? That's kind of how you feel when you walk through the large lobby of the GW. Regarding our room , we had an ocean view room on the 8th floor, which was ready for us, with a warm bath, with flowers floating on top.. A nice honeymoon touch that we didn't expect - On a one to ten rating regarding the room being perfectly clean, I would give it an 8. A large hand print over the headboard that you could see in certain day light knocked down the rating. The bed was comfy, had a flat screen TV, and the bathroom was large with a tub and shower. The balcony was pretty big too which had a large table , two chairs and enough room where you can stow your suitcases. The pool situation at the GW is crazy -insane- nice. ( And probably 3 times larger than the FS hotel. They have an adult pool and a kiddie area with water slides. The overall grounds at the GW are very well maintained. Spend the time yourself and look online at the pictures so you make an informed decision. You'll see what I mean.
The gym at the GW is two levels overall and rates pretty highly among hotels. I generally stay at 4 star hotels and this is one of the best I have come across. They have very top notch new equipment with a decent amount of free weights too. Don't be surprised to run into a few celebrities. We did. They offer yoga classes on the beach, boot camp, spin you name it. The SPA itself is huge and my wife and I did a couples massage. Personally I'm not that big of a spa person but it's as nice as I've seen, and of course the price tag comes along with that. They have like 5 different types of bath tubs to soak in Japanese style, hot tubs, 2 steam rooms, and like most places every treatment you can possibly imagine. Heads up look for a pretty decent discount coupon on your inboard flight magazine. Unfortunately we found it on the way home. A few things that I thought could be better. The restaurants closed mostly at 9pm. The main bar closed at 11ish. Overall if this place had any downside, the dining experiences we enjoyed the most were located off property. The best the GW has to offer is the Humuhumunukunukuapua'a. I wouldn't say any of their restaurants are terrible but for the money certainly not stellar. The place to be dining wise, is outside under that stars at Ferrars( Four Seasons), Tommy Bahamas, two minutes away at the shops at GW and of course an old favorite Ruth Chris. All not cheap but all very very good. We didn't get to try Spago's but heard great things there too. For the area that the GW is situated, being young and wanting to party a bit, the downfall is pretty much the entire town closes early. Certainly the bars at the GW do. Mulligan's a bar around 3 miles away located at a golf course ( go figure ) is open the latest and seems to have a local theme. We also suggest hitting the local Kmart or Walmart, twenty minute drive and loading up on a cheap cooler and beer and some snacks. This will save some money because the drinks are $$$$$. Other misc. info. Room service food is consistent with what I said about the restaurants. Make sure to put the do not disturb sign on your door. They are very consistent on knocking on your door to clean your room. Wi-Fi is not available in your hotel room but it's free in the lobby and the Napua towers lobby. This could certainly be improved. It is 2009? The beach is large and nice, and chairs and umbrella's are free. Also they don't allow you to swim in the hot tub or pool very late. Security guards get notified by cameras if you try. We did several times. So like anything else in Maui, this place is very expensive, very romantic, and my opinion VERY worth it if you can afford it. OOPS I almost forget. The staff that we came across were great. Hope this helps someone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank in2flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing