We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,878)
Filter reviews
6,878 results
Traveller rating
3,889
1,551
748
425
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,889
1,551
748
425
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater elevatornapua towerlazy rivergrand wailearope swingchapel winghibiscus poolbistro molokinithe grand dining roomcafe kulaspa grandefour seasonspool areaadult poolvalet parkingper dayocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,304 - 6,309 of 6,878 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Huge hotel with lots of amenities. We stayed here for our honeymoon in January 2006, and it was great. Warning: it is a family resort, and there are a LOT of kids around. If that bothers you, try somewhere else. For us, it was okay. The kids mainly congregate at the pools with slides, and so we just chose other pools to hang at.

The rooms were nice, the beds were great and the bathrooms were big and well appointed. The beach was accessible and nice...not too busy like Waikiki. The restaurants were okay, but we found some great spots at the Fairmont and Four Seasons nearby.

There is also a great shopping area next door to the hotel.

All in all...it was great. Nice rooms, good service, decent food and excellent facilities.

Stayed: January 2006
2  Thank biztraveler201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We stayed at the Grand Wailea for the weekend. Other than the pool - which was a ton of fun - the only word to describe this hotel is MOLD. The room smelled of mold. The shower door and tile grout was covered in mold. Even the pictures on the walls had mold inside the glass. We asked to be moved after the first night. Although the staff was polite, it took until after noon to move us and the new room was moldy too. It was slightly less moldy than the first.

We enjoyed the pool but if we ever stay there again, I plan to bring some Lysol and Clorox cleaning products. I expect cleanliness at a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Our family of five stayed at the GW for 5 nights. We arrived on mothers day weekend and found the resort to be very busy and somewhat dirty. After the weekend, the property was cleaned up and our initial impression was changed. It is a beautiful and huge property. Be prepared to walk a good distance to the beach, pool, restaurants, etc. The pool was awesome for our kids. They couldn't wait to get back so they could swim. Be aware that the slides and water park part closes at 5 p.m. so if you take a day trip and then plan to come back to swim, it closes early. We found our selves rushing to return each day. There are lots of activities available, just be prepared to fork out some money. The accommodations (rooms)definately need some updating. The bathroom was spacious but our shower had black mold spots. The carpet was stained and the room generally worn. We checked 3 other rooms before keeping our original one. They are all about the same condition. We had a deluxe ocean view room and the view was pretty. I don't think it's worth the price. The beds are very comfortable with cozy linens. The cleaning staff did an excellent job-clean each morning and refreshed the room at night. It's worth it to book a room in the Napua Tower section simply because it includes a continental breakfast and cocktails/snacks in the afternoon. We ate at the cafe frequently which was the spot for the kids to get their own food. The Grand dining room had the best pancakes we've ever had so don't miss those. We also ate at the Bistro which was mediocre. The food is expensive no matter where you eat. There is a Safeway in Kihea so stop and get water and snacks to save yourself a bundle. All in all, it's a great place to take your family. Everything is extra so plan to spend for everything. We didn't find complementary coffee, papers etc. that are offered daily at the Four Seasons. We toured the 4S and
found it to be a definate notch above the GW but it depends on what you're looking for. The kids would prefer the pool at the GW and we would prefer the spendor of the 4S.

Places to eat: Best meal-Mama's Fish house in Paia. Stella's in Kihea. SanSee's for sushi in Kihea. Tommy Bahama Cafe in Wailea.

Best Day Trip: snokeling on the Trilogy. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HappytravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

We stayed at the Grand Wailea with our 10 yr old son May 5-10. We all loved it. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool is great fun. The only somewhat negative factor is that the hotel is located somewhat far from the main cities/areas of Maui. There are no waves on Wailea beach so we had to go to Lahaina for surfing and that was about 45 minutes away. We stayed in the Napua tower and enjoyed the morning breakfast and afternoon appetizers and cocktails. I also went to the spa and it was amazing. I have been to many spas but none quite as pampering as the Grand. My husband said he enjoyed the gym and that is was large for a hotel gym. We did not have any problems getting chairs on the beach or by the pool as others have mentioned. I guess we went not on a peak time for Hawaii.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JJPCheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

What a beautiful hotel! Our room was spacious and beautiful! It was an 8th floor "partial ocean view" but we had a GREAT view of the ocean and Lanai. The beds were very comfortable and the room had recently been renovated. The bathroom was very spacious, but was a bit dated ... The remainder of the resort was in various stages of renovation, but overall gorgeous! The downside, the food at the hotel. Because it wasn't in high season, two of the five restaurants were closed for the season, leaving only 3 choices for dining (not including the grill at the pool). The food was OK... nothing exciting, and nothing to validate the astronomical prices, especially at the Humu Humu Restaurant. Extremely expensive and very bland.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrvlGalTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews