We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Gem Away From Oceanfront Chaos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$200
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Description: Hawaii's first and only Relais & Chateaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation. From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden.
Kona hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Gem Away From Oceanfront Chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have stated, the wine list is decent, but it is terribly overpriced. Napa Sauv Blanc was 4x retail. I am accepting of 2x or 3x on occasion, but 4x? Hmm.

I found the setting amazingly relaxing and beautiful. Away from the crowds and noise, this restaurant sits atop a hill. The decor is also interesting and quite open without being pretentious.

The food was as expected. Very well done.

Service was exceptional.

I would recommend this to a foodie friend and I will return. Fix the wine list guys - it is obviously a problem.

Helpful?
Thank Leonardoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    123
    91
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ArizonaUSA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Start to finish, excellent. Creative chef, pleasant service, great wines. Fantastic food worth the $.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lifejournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Mahalo for your review and kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience here, including the food service and wine. We hope if you are ever back in Wailea, you'll stop in for another great dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't come here for the wine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

2nd year same story. Lots of wines by the glass but nothing even that has a wine spectator rating and expensive 4 x markup for wines not even rated, very disappointing and highway robbery for an $18 per bottle wine be sold at $21 per glass.

Wine Spectator banners hanging on the wall but not a lot worth trying under $200 and couldn't even find a 90 point red under $150 which is really disappointing.

Asked for a recommendation but no wine expert again and chef ended up recommending an 87 point Michael Mondavi wine for $80 which is sad.

Poured out own wine all night long, wow.

Food was good not great for price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkozlowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Mahalo nui loa for taking time to share impressions of your recent dining experience at Capische. Customer feedback - particularly constructive, thoughtful comments - help us improve the quality of our products and services. We are certainly disappointed that you did not find our wine offerings up to your standards. We have been recognized numerous times by Wine Spectator. The vision for our wine list is not to slavishly adhere to current popular trends or what pundits may consider ’90 point' wines. Our wine list is meant to be a dynamic, interesting offering of varietals from great producers that compliment our cuisine. Our focus is not on a rating system but on our own determination that a particular wine is ’simpatico’ with our culinary style and menu offerings. We price our wines fairly and competitively based on our cost. Your remarks indicate that this was not your first visit to Maui so surely you realize that it is generally more expensive than most places.
We hope you will visit us again on a future Maui trip. Bring your adventuresome spirit and give some of our unique wine offerings a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Take it or leave it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Didn't love it, didn't hate it. Setting is nice--on a nice lanai overlooking the ocean. Views were relaxing. Restaurant was very quiet. Not exactly lively. Didn't think the wine list was great. Menu was eclectic. While it had lots of choices, some of them were a bit out there. I will say the pumpkin soup appetizer was very good. For dinner we had hangar steak and mushroom risotto as our entrees. Both were acceptable, but not spectacular. Desserts were good--especially the ice cream cookies. All in all an enjoyable evening but there are certainly better restaurants in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We sincerely regret that your experience at Capische was not exceptional as that is what we strive to achieve for each of our guests. Please consider giving us another change to ‘Wow’ you and surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
317 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND SCENIC VIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Dinner menu has many fantastic fresh fish selections with wonderful service. This restaurant sets high on a hillside overlooking the ocean, with amazing sunsets. You can also see whales in the water.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing