We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views, Decent Service”

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Description: Hawaii's first and only Relais & Chateaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation. From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Decent Service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here one evening during our honeymoon. I asked the concierge at our hotel what would be a nice place to enjoy the sunset and have a romantic dinner, and this was the suggestion. The menu has a three course pre-fixe menu (and other entrees) that you can also add a wine pairing with every course. Be warned - if you want to do this, both people in your party have to order the course meals, eliminating the possibility of saving at least part of your arm and leg for the meal. We ended up just ordering three courses outside of the fixed menu (plus one more entree) and it came out to less than the two course meals (just FYI). The beef carpaccio as a starter - awesome! Really well flavored. Next was the carbonara - this is the best thing on the menu! A house specialty, and they do it right! Our entrees were some steak dish and a mixed seafood dish. We thought these were just fair. After the carbonara, wasn't much left to get excited about :)

The view at sunset is SO beautiful. It definitely makes the dinner (and maybe helps to justify how much you have to pay them). The restaurant is part of a hotel which sits up a bit from the beach, so you are able to have a greater viewpoint of the water, islands, and landscape. Get there at 6pm for dinner so you can see the final moments of sunset by the time you're finishing up your meal.

As a twenty-something, the restaurant is definitely pricey, but the service is a multiple-waiter type deal with one person bringing bread and another in charge of the table. We got pretty forgotten in our corner booth, hence the 3-star rating. Two tables that were sat after us left before us due to the difference in service. When you make an investment in a dinner like we had ($200 for two people), you kind of don't like that to happen. Regardless, the food was good, the setting even better, and the overall ambience was a nice setting for a honeymoon dinner!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lebammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Mahalo for your review, Lebammel. We're happy to see you enjoyed your overall experience here at Capische?. Also, we're glad you enjoyed the beef carpaccio and carbonara! We apologize you had a long wait for your food. We hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    128
    91
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Difficult to navigate for the $$$”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We heard good things about this restaurant from our friends, but we were very disappointed by our visit. We were a party of seven and had to get "permission" from the chef for some in our party to order a la carte vs. the 3 course menu. The food was OK but not worth the inflated prices. The wait staff was very rigid (had to request additional bread and salt and pepper for the table). Every decision had to go through the chef (possible control freak?). My husband's fish was over cooked and I had a struggle trying to cut my bone - in filet. So many other great choices in Wailea for the price. Why would you force your guests to order a three course meal if they only want a starter and entree?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Par3inSpring_77379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We value your feedback and regret that you did not enjoy your visit to Capische. We strive to give our customers the best quality food and service and we are sorry that they were not up to your expectations. Please consider trying us again if your travels bring you back to Maui in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantabulous!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at all the best restaurants in Waleia and Capische was the best! We were seated in the romantic garden with a gorgeous view. We couldn't see any other tables. Our service was great and our food was amazing! We highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Rockymagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Mehalo for your recommendation, and we're thrilled you had such a great experience with us. We hope you'll come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service with stunning views.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was exceptional. Outdoor seating on the main level balcony offers a gorgeous sunset view. You may want to bring a pashmina/light sweater on cooler nights in the winter/spring months. It is a small restaurant and reservations are highly recommended. I loved it so much that I went back again. I hope you will too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Junkie75CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Aloha Travel_Junkie75CB, Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendations! We're so happy you loved your time here and even came back for more! We hope to see you here if you visit the island again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was by far the best romantic dinner We've ever had. I made reservations and requested a nice spot since it was our wedding night for just the two of us. They gave us the best spot in the garden. We were told celebrities ate there. The Grilled Caesar salad is amazing and we each had the hanging beef. It couldn't have been done better. When we go back to Maui this is our number one restaurant that we will go back too. The service was outstanding. It is very expensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylu0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Aloha Mylu0311, We are thrilled to see you had the best romantic dinner ever here at Capische?! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your Caesar salad and hanging tender of beef! We can't wait to have you back when you visit Maui again - don't stay away too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing